2002 Ford Falcon Futura 4.0 litre factory LPG from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great value

Faults:

Nothing at all!!

General Comments:

Comfortable, reliable car.

Large car power and space, small car economy.

I had a 2000 SR AU for work, did 80000 kms no problems in a year, then purchased this one at 80,000 km and have done about 90000 kms in it, again no problems, and it feels like it could easily go another 200000 km.

Tows easily, however only let down by brakes on downhills when towing, not up to my previous Mercedes in braking (but much cheaper to service).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2011

19th Mar 2012, 05:45

Has there been any recalls on BF 2006 pen blue paint flaking chipping?

2002 Ford Falcon XT 4.0 6 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Cheap to buy, and luckily cheap to fix

Faults:

Brake shudder 3 times.

Rear diff bush. (suspension cradle out, repair 4-5 hours).

Handbrake didn't hold and dragged. Adjusted twice.

Power steering high pressure hose leaked. Common fault.

Coating started peeling off steering wheel.

Drivers seat base rocked (I'm 85kg in case you were wondering).

Air con / heater vents clunked on hot days due to the sealing foam sticking, and when the flap motor finally peeled it away, it would make a slap noise.

Heater jammed on due to a broken air mixer shaft.

Seals around windscreen and doors began to shrink.

The car was kept in a garage, but did spend some time outside.

Paint on the bonnet and front bar easily chipped. Most of my klm's were freeway driving.

Rear seal on the rear doors always fell off when the passengers got out. Poor design.

Rear door lock actuators stopped working within a month of each other, and had to be replaced.

Engine rattled when cold due to timing chain guides worn out at 95000klm. Replaced with REVISED guides.

General Comments:

Drove nicely on the freeway.

Smooth motor with plenty of grunt.

Trans shifts nicely.

Good cruise control. Holds gears for hills.

Heaps of room.

I liked the look of the car.

Bad on fuel around town, but good on fuel on the freeway.

Cheap to service and parts are cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2009

2002 Ford Falcon BA Futura 4.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Excellent with some flaws

Faults:

Strong fuel smell in car, fuel tank was removed and fixed.

Front Right Suspension has gone. Car now leans to the right.

Power steering needs fixing, it rumbles when turning.

Air Conditioning needs re-gassing.

Also at only 2 years old has rattles and has needed a new headlight.

General Comments:

Dealer has been very good, fixes the car promptly and orders in parts when you need them right away.

Excellent Performance with precise steering.

Huge inside and excellent brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

14th Jan 2005, 03:47

I wrote the above story, I forgot to mention that it seems to float all over the road, probably the tyres though, the handbrake has had to be adjusted 2 or 3 times, although it is a wagon it is very noisy and has vibrations coming from the rear. Has just been booked in for its new suspension and steering (all this and more at 2 and a bit years old).

2002 Ford Falcon BA from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Needs manufacturer to address the brake problem on the BA model

Faults:

Brakes needed machining

Shuddering on starting car when motor turned off and restarted still did not stop shuddering, started again normal after 5 minutes.

General Comments:

Car is comfortable to drive and has the power that I wanted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

2002 Ford Falcon XT 5.4L Triton from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

An affordable and luxurious car

Faults:

No, I've only had it for about 5 months.

General Comments:

This car is very thirsty; the reason is because of the weight, 1745kg.

For a base model, its very good value and luxurious.

It has got lots of leg room, especially the two front seats. The boot is also very large.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2003

27th Sep 2011, 01:01

I think it would be thirsty due to it 5.4L V8, not its average saloon car weight.

2002 Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo turbo Intercooled 4.0L from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Fun and a let down,

Faults:

1) Front disk brakes warped.

2) Engine shutting down and also a few times it backfired and smoke came from the engine bay.

3) Air bag light came on.

4) ECU had to be reflashed to stop out the stalling.

5) Replaced head seals and new head.

6) Bonnet release broke

7) Clunky diff (not really a fault, but annoying)

8) Oil leaks

9) Throttle sensors went on early retirement.

10) Vibration through gearbox (5 speed manual)

11) VCT issues causing the car to run like a pig.

12) loose feeling in accelerator pedal

13) Paint job not up to scratch (pardon the pun).

14) Fuel gauge failed

15) Flat battery due to alternator fault.

16) Liked to drink oil for the first few thousand k's.

17) A/C went on the blink too.

General Comments:

This car is a great handler, but the faults I have had it has really made me rethink of buying it.

When its running its smooth and very powerful and a little on the thirsty side also a fun car to drive.

But wait for the next series of the BA Falcon because for a $50,000 fully optioned car it has way too many problems.

It is a very comfortable car to drive and the steering is great. The gearbox is horrible.

Nice car, but mine is a bad apple.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd April, 2003

6th Apr 2003, 00:56

Looks like the re-introduction to the EA Falcon. The BA XR has to be the best looking Falcon next to the XY GT and XE Fairmont Ghia ESP edition. Pity yours is plagued with faults. I have been itching to get a BA XR6 turbo sedan, but I am going to wait for the series 2 range and hopefully there will be less problems. Hopefully Ford will get rid most of the gremlins ASAP.