2002 Ford Falcon BA Futura 4.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Excellent with some flaws


Strong fuel smell in car, fuel tank was removed and fixed.

Front Right Suspension has gone. Car now leans to the right.

Power steering needs fixing, it rumbles when turning.

Air Conditioning needs re-gassing.

Also at only 2 years old has rattles and has needed a new headlight.

General Comments:

Dealer has been very good, fixes the car promptly and orders in parts when you need them right away.

Excellent Performance with precise steering.

Huge inside and excellent brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

14th Jan 2005, 03:47

I wrote the above story, I forgot to mention that it seems to float all over the road, probably the tyres though, the handbrake has had to be adjusted 2 or 3 times, although it is a wagon it is very noisy and has vibrations coming from the rear. Has just been booked in for its new suspension and steering (all this and more at 2 and a bit years old).

2002 Ford Falcon BA from Australia and New Zealand


Needs manufacturer to address the brake problem on the BA model


Brakes needed machining

Shuddering on starting car when motor turned off and restarted still did not stop shuddering, started again normal after 5 minutes.

General Comments:

Car is comfortable to drive and has the power that I wanted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

2002 Ford Falcon XT 5.4L Triton from Australia and New Zealand


An affordable and luxurious car


No, I've only had it for about 5 months.

General Comments:

This car is very thirsty; the reason is because of the weight, 1745kg.

For a base model, its very good value and luxurious.

It has got lots of leg room, especially the two front seats. The boot is also very large.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2003

27th Sep 2011, 01:01

I think it would be thirsty due to it 5.4L V8, not its average saloon car weight.

2002 Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo turbo Intercooled 4.0L from Australia and New Zealand


Fun and a let down,


1) Front disk brakes warped.

2) Engine shutting down and also a few times it backfired and smoke came from the engine bay.

3) Air bag light came on.

4) ECU had to be reflashed to stop out the stalling.

5) Replaced head seals and new head.

6) Bonnet release broke

7) Clunky diff (not really a fault, but annoying)

8) Oil leaks

9) Throttle sensors went on early retirement.

10) Vibration through gearbox (5 speed manual)

11) VCT issues causing the car to run like a pig.

12) loose feeling in accelerator pedal

13) Paint job not up to scratch (pardon the pun).

14) Fuel gauge failed

15) Flat battery due to alternator fault.

16) Liked to drink oil for the first few thousand k's.

17) A/C went on the blink too.

General Comments:

This car is a great handler, but the faults I have had it has really made me rethink of buying it.

When its running its smooth and very powerful and a little on the thirsty side also a fun car to drive.

But wait for the next series of the BA Falcon because for a $50,000 fully optioned car it has way too many problems.

It is a very comfortable car to drive and the steering is great. The gearbox is horrible.

Nice car, but mine is a bad apple.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd April, 2003

6th Apr 2003, 00:56

Looks like the re-introduction to the EA Falcon. The BA XR has to be the best looking Falcon next to the XY GT and XE Fairmont Ghia ESP edition. Pity yours is plagued with faults. I have been itching to get a BA XR6 turbo sedan, but I am going to wait for the series 2 range and hopefully there will be less problems. Hopefully Ford will get rid most of the gremlins ASAP.

2002 Ford Falcon XR6 4.0 ltr from Australia and New Zealand


Run-out rubbish


On delivery, the steering rack need to be replaced, along with ball joints.

There were problems with the differential requiring a fix.

The exhaust system banged and the back suspension was also making noise.

The steering wheel was not aligned properly, and remained incorrect even after a steering rack replacement and alignment.

General Comments:

The build quality on the car was appalling. It was in twice in the first 60 days for repair. The diff was very noisy (it was a LSD)

This car was a replacement for a falcon "S" which Ford eventually bought back from me due to major rust problems (from new)

Given the that I had had a three year battle with Ford to sort out my previous new falcon, I sold the vehicle in frustration within 2000k from new.

The value of the vehicle fell 30% in 60 days, as the model was a run-out (seriers three)

I had major problems selling the car, the dealership giving me a price for which I eventually sold it. New price NZD 48,000, sold at NZD 34,500.

It has nice low down power, and its very easy to exceed 50k round-town. This wasn't helped by the high idle setting, which was to specification.

The suspension setup was inferior to the "S" and just about adequate.

The tires on the vehicle were poor. Wheel-spin was very easy in the wet. This can be cured by getting some decent rubber on the car. The tires were way under speceified for a vehicle this large, and in fact it would step out in the wet with no warning on fast corners.

I will not be buying any more new Ford's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2002