2003 Ford Falcon BA 4.0 dedicated gas from Australia and New Zealand


Purpose built!


Diff at 98000 replaced under warranty.

Catalytic converter blocked at 110000.

Constantly replacing rear tail light globes, including indicator globes and reverse globes, due to the vibration of the alloy tray.

Seat belts were constant problem not contracting.

Brakes have been the biggest problem with vibrations at front discs.

Have split three hoses; two drivers side front hoses and one passenger front brake hose - all split at the crimp.

General Comments:

This car is a work horse. We've put it through hell and back.

Recently we purchased an RTV 2006 Falcon UTE; also straight gas and have had nothing but headaches with it, especially with the suspension.

I also find the BA to have more power and better road handling, not much difference in the interior either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2007

2003 Ford Falcon XT 4.0 from Australia and New Zealand


Greatest Falcon Ever


Nothing, except the right hand side washer jet stopped working.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic, extremely quick & powerful, ride & handling are just great.

I love the BA & BF series. I have had this car for just 3 months, and I have loved every minute - though it can be thirsty when driven hard.

Tyres and brakes continue to hold problems for owners, as the brake pads wear quickly and the tyres seem the same.

But that aside, very good build quality and parts are available anywhere, and are cheap as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2007

2003 Ford Falcon BA XT 4.0L Straight six from Australia and New Zealand


Can't get enough of this!!


Nothing... yet.

General Comments:

I work for a courier company and drive a toyota van all day, then I drive my Landcruiser home so when I get into the falcon, it's like a lounge chair!!

Standard features of the BA are really impressive - especially when compared to the AU. Front power windows, ABS, Cruise ect. Driving the car is wonderful, and there is always plenty of power from the 4.0L Barra.

Fuel consumption is OK, but can get high if it is driven harder.

There is no road noise to speak of, and the engine is really quiet.

Handles great, about 10 times better than the Dunnydore, and looks great even in standard form.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2006

2003 Ford Falcon ba xr6 turbo from Australia and New Zealand


Looks smart goes great years ahead of its rivals


This car has only a slight noise in the diff, other than that nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this car 6months ago with 100000kms on the clock and absolutely like it, its fast handles well for a large car, looks extremely great, best decision I made selling my vy commodore s supercharged to buy this BA, its light years ahead of VY.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2006

2003 Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo 4L DOHC 24v turbo from Australia and New Zealand


Sweet looks, but sour build quality


Front brake shudder

Broken bonnet release

Leaking radiator

Loose heat shield

Inaccurate fuel gauge

Interior squeaks and rattles

Hand brake adjustment

ECU reflash for poor idle quality

Transmission solenoid replaced

Power steering hose leak

Power steering groan on lock to lock.

Oil leaks and water pump leaks

Noisy diff.

Stalling after heavy acceleration.

General Comments:

What have I done sold my beautiful 86 Toyota Crown for this over priced junk heap. Only thing I love about my XR6T is the looks and the comfort it's a shame as well because it really has potential.

Ford pick up your act NOW or you will lose a lot of customers for shoddy built cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

5th Sep 2005, 21:13

Dude I feel for you you're not the only one with a problematic BA. I was going to upgrade my EL Fairmont wagon for a new BA XR6 turbo with the luxury pack, but I know a few of my friends owning BA's and they are having quality problems with theirs. As nice as they look there is no way I would put my hard earned on one.

2003 Ford Falcon BA XT 4.0L from Australia and New Zealand


The best Falcon ever


Very few complaints. The only warranty item so far is machining of the front disc rotors.

General Comments:

Absolutely love it. Performance is exceptional, handles fantasticlly and economy is not too bad considering weights, power etc.

We tow an 18' caravan (weight approx 1.7 tonne) and the engine has never strained. It climbs hills like they weren't there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2004

11th Mar 2006, 01:28

My experience with my BA XR8 has been disastrous:

- warping rotors every 5,000km

- failing handbrake every 3,00km

- engine cut out in hot conditions when you slow down at an intersection or turning a corner

- air conditioning fan runs on when you switch the engine off

- incompetent mechanical staff at accredited Ford dealerships

I have only owned Fords since 1979. I will never buy another Ford.

21st May 2006, 08:18

How on earth can you call machining the discs a minor problem? It's like saying "my house is great except for the rising damp in the walls" - it's a dead giveaway that something just isn't right. Cars shouldn't need machined discs that quickly.

We live in 2006, not 1906.

3rd Nov 2006, 21:38

Don't machine the brakes throw them away and by a set of dba gold disc, s.