2004 Ford Falcon BA XT from Australia and New Zealand


Problems with car are shaky brakes, stereo asking for code; went to Ford dealership, and was told it does not need a code?

The fuel gauge does not work.

Apart from that, it's a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2010

2004 Ford Falcon XT 4.0 straight six from Australia and New Zealand


Smooth, chunky, pleasant beast


An exhaust retainer clamp broke, causing vibration.

General Comments:

Love the looks of it. Beautiful body and presence, could be a Volvo or Jaguar.

Interior a little behind the times, but sturdy by comparison with some others.

Front seats are not wide enough for an XL-person. This is a car for slim people, I guess.

If you have big feet (size 13 is what I have), your accelerator foot will tend to catch on some piece of plastic trim I have yet to track down. Very mysterious, but annoying.

Wonderful driving experience - car is poised, powerful, quiet, and handles great.

Big straight-six engine and rear-drive setup is romantic for petrolheads.

This car's big, redeeming feature is its character.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2010

2004 Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo 4.0 I6 turbo from Australia and New Zealand


No Compromise


Nothing ever went wrong. Found the original tyres to wear unevenly.

General Comments:

A fantastic car for defying physics. When driving it you are very aware of its bulk, but it goes like a cut cat.

Great for road trips, had the perforated leather seating in charcoal, highly recommended over the cheap looking cloth.

Paid $40000 8 months old in as new condition, sold for $25000 after 2 years. Glad we didn't have to stomach the loss from the new car price of $60000.

Now have a Jag with the 6 speed ZF transmission, would recommend that over the 4 speed slushbox featured in BA. The ZF unit is the same in the BF- falcons as the Jag and is fantastic.

Only other gripe is the original 17" mags looked too small for the wheel arches - though I don't usually "bling" my cars I put 19" jobs on this one and it looked amazing and ultimately improved the resale value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2008

2004 Ford Falcon XR6 4.0 Straight 6 from Australia and New Zealand


Great all-rounder, powerful and economical, Brilliant!


Fog lamp blew, handbrake doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car is brilliant. Super comfortable, I get 8 litres per 100km on the highway, SERIOUSLY!

Handles brilliantly, plenty of room, looks great, no problems, I'm completely sold.

Note - Fit a sports exhaust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2008

2004 Ford Falcon XR6 VCT 4.0 turbo from Australia and New Zealand


Faulty brakes; do not buy!!!


15,000 kms fuel lines blocked (corrosion)

15,000 kms engine noise

30,000 kms brake shudder

60,000 kms brake shudder

100,000 kms brake shudder

General Comments:

The XR6 Turbo is a super responsive car, yet there is one fundamental issue with it. The BA Series 1 has a serious brake rotor issue. I know a few drivers who have the series 1, and all have reported the brake shudder issue. The rotors have been machined twice, and the issue has returned each time.

The car is now out of warranty, and Ford want nothing more to do with it. The rotors have been machined so far down previously, that they are close to being undersized. The brake shudder is an issue that was there under warranty yet not resolved satisfactorily. The car has full Ford service history, yet they will not contemplate fixing the fault.

Service costs are astronomical They charge me almost $500 per service.

I do not recommend the BA to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th December, 2007

12th Dec 2007, 21:32

Ever thought of getting different rotors??? And all BA's are VCT.

7th Jul 2008, 11:02

Ford brakes have always been a bit dodgy, e.g.very little feel and not high performing.

The shudder is common in almost every turbo falcon and even the normally aspirated models. Don't forget, these cars weigh in at around 1700kgs, add passengers, and you need a lot of stopping power to pull the beast up.

Quite simply Ford needs much bigger brake setups, all that owners can do now is spend a small fortune and upgrade to much better aftermarket setups. Goodluck with it.

4th Dec 2010, 17:20

BA brakes are the worst, they cause no end of trouble.

30th Dec 2012, 21:13

Buy a pair of DBA slotted rotors for around $200 off eBay (nearly $300 in store) and a set of new pads, very easy to fit yourself; this should fix the shudder woes.