1989 Ford Festiva Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1989 Ford Festiva L 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance168238 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Cheap, Speedy little car... Fun to drive

Faults:

I bought the car for $100 from a local dealer and it smoked a little bit on the test drive, but I didn't realize that it had a vicious oil leak until after the papers were signed. I have to put a new valve cover gasket on it and I just had to rebuild the alternator.

General Comments:

Comfortable riding. Great gas mileage. Lots of space if you put the back seat up. Good car to put a nice stereo system in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2004

23rd Aug 2004, 18:03

A Festy with the 5 speed and a properly running engine is quite peppy. they only weigh something like 1800 LBS, so the 65 horsepower 1.3 is enough to hustle around in traffic quite nicely. These won't beat a Honda, or anything else really, but they're great for someone who wants a reliable, fuel efficent runabout.

18th Sep 2004, 17:18

As a basic car, the Festiva is very slow, but it's possible to swap a different engine into it for some serious performance boosts... This year, a Festiva with a B6T engine swapped into it (Yes, a Festiva with a turbo) beat a Subaru WRX at the NOPI Nationals. Festiva ran a 14.05, WRX ran 14.15, a tenth of a second slower then the little Festiva. As for the transmission, apparently he's still using the stock Festiva transmission.

With cars like the Festiva getting older, they're becoming a good platform to start off with, and build up into something more than the manufacturer intended them to be. A car is only as slow/fast as you want it to be, if you're willing to put some effort into it. I'm going to be picking up a nice blue one for $500 as something to train myself on sticks with, and maybe even as something to build up.

1989 Ford Festiva Basic 1.3L 2bbl. carb from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3L 2bbl. carb Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

The best $500 I've ever spent

Faults:

The tie rods on the front drivers side slipped out of joint in December 2003. This is the only problem I have had with this car so far.

General Comments:

I love my little "Easter Egg." Our kids make fun of it, but it is the best.

I get 43mpg and drive her 300 miles a week. It is the commuter car for me to take back and forth to college.

I only paid $500 for it, and only put $9.00 a week in gasoline. A good thing since gas is so high right now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2004

25th Mar 2005, 09:51

There will never be another car made as well as the Festiva. I had to sell mine due to my growing kids and the small size of the Festiva and that was about three years ago... I still mourn the loss. My Pontiac Sunbird has been a major disappointment after owning such a reliable and durable car as the Festiva. Why on Earth did Ford quit making them?!?

1989 Ford Festiva LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles

Summary:

A nice surprise of an automobile

Faults:

Mostly just basic car repair. Tires have been changed, along with oil and brakes. Ball bearings have been replaced. This is due to the car sitting in a field unused for 10 years.

General Comments:

I feel my Festiva is incredibly reliable. It has never broken down on me. The car handles amazing for its cost and age. There is basically nothing wrong with the car. I still can't believe how well it runs. I love my Festiva, and will cry when I must replace it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

1989 Ford Festiva L 1.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Easy on gas, but hard on parts

Faults:

The motor went shortly after replacing the head gasket.

The transmission is now slipping out of fourth gear.

The exhaust is impossible to keep sealed.

The bearings went about 4 times each tire. They must be pressed out.

Both rotors had to be replaced.

Both calipers had to be replaced, but keep sticking.

Tie-rod end's had to be replaced.

The ball-joint wore out and you must purchase the entire control-arm which the ball-joint is attached to for $129!!

Fuel pump gave out leaving me stranded in a snow storm.

The 4 rims warped??!!

The wiper arm rotted off, $189 for a new wiper assembly.

The wire running to the starter corroded and needs to be jiggled to start the car every now and then.

The wire's behind the battery need to be jiggled for the headlights to work sometimes.

Both rear stub axles need to be replaced due to bearing failures.

Gas tank has a hole in the bottom of it and you can't even order a new one from the manufacturer.

Windshield has a major crack in it.

The back hatch key hole has seized up and cannot be fixed. To replace it you need to buy a kit including every lock for the car costing $399.

The vent only blows out cold air. But the heater is good (maybe the only thing that's good).

The rear de-fog only works on some lines.

The car eats tires... (munch, munch)

General Comments:

This car is a 1999-2000 Festiva except for the body.

At least I got the chance to learn about every part that is on a car.

This is no joke. I believe that I have the worst luck out of all Festiva owners and I treated this car good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2001

15th Dec 2001, 07:33

I agree with the bearing problem. We were stationed in Germany and they had to be replaced 3 times in 4 years! But for the most part my little Festiva has been a champ and is still running after 12 years. But I am so ready for a new car.

8th Aug 2006, 14:16

You can't be going and buying everything new for the little guys. Go to any junk yard and they are full of them. A wiper would have cost you 20 dollars from there. Same with a gas tank. Take it easy on the Festiva. Looks like you just got a dud.

17th May 2009, 21:53

You must have bought a lemon.

I have personally owned 10 Festivas, and none of them have given me even a fraction of the trouble you've had.

1989 Ford Festiva LX 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.3
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Burns oil but it has 301,000 miles on it!! With no major problems so far.

General Comments:

This car has lasted me for years of constant travel, all I've ever done is the regular maintenance to it - I love it.

It's just now starting to burn oil - pretty good for a car I only paid 6000 brand new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 1999

1989 Ford Festiva L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Needed new carburettor at 20,000 km.

Irregular idling, sticky throttle, occasional stalling. Valve seals shot at 145,000 km. Engine needs to be rebuilt.

General Comments:

Parts for this car are above average cost. Otherwise a pleasure to own over all but its last two years, and fun and economical to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 1999

1989 Ford Festiva L+ 1.3 liter inline 4 cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.3 liter inline 4 cyl
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10

Faults:

No problems yet, so far just tune ups, new tires, and oil changes.

General Comments:

This car is very zippy, the tiny engine suits the car perfectly, since the car is so light. It can really get up and go. Always reliable, very cute, perfect car for anybody. I would recommend one to anyone based on the way my Festiva has proven itself. I swear by it. Viva Festiva!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

4th Jan 2006, 11:37

The old owner of mine had no problems out of it. The only problem with it the fan moter quit it just sat for 5 years till I bought it for 100 bucks.

28th Apr 2006, 14:28

I just bought my third (3rd) Ford Festiva. They are so much fun to drive. My newest is a 1989 with 57,323 original miles on it. I'll buy them as long as I can find them! Lee W.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews