1990 Ford Festiva Reviews

1990 Ford Festiva LX 1.3 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carCadillac Brougham

Summary:

If you can find a nice one, buy it!

Faults:

Tires, brakes, struts, etc. All normal wear and tear items.

The car so easy to work on, I have repaired all problems myself.

General Comments:

These cars are built TOUGH! I highly recommend this car to anyone who can find a good one out there. Finding them is the hard part!

True 40 + MPG averaged over one full year. Cheap parts when you need to repair it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2010

23rd Jun 2010, 16:31

I have been looking for years and I can't find one. I love this car, there is nothing really to break down.

1990 Ford Festiva from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles

Summary:

I don't know how I will ever find a car to replace this one!

Faults:

Replaced timing belt in 2004.

Replaced master cylinder in 2007.

Replaced clutch in late 2007.

Seats are falling apart.

Hatch broke a couple years ago and wouldn't open.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car.

It gets fantastic gas mileage, upwards of 40 mpg in-town.

The size is more of a benefit for me than anything - it is small enough to park nearly anywhere but large enough to fit a ton of stuff.

It's reliable and easy to maintain.

Parts are cheap so I've never had a single repair that cost more than $200.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2008

1990 Ford Festiva from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired204000 kilometres
Most recent distance214000 kilometres

Summary:

Wonderful, fun, cheap

Faults:

When I bought the car it needed a few things to bring it up to snuff.

I had to replace one of the headlights as there was a bunch of condensation fogging up the lights.

The seats were in pretty rough shape, so I bought new seat covers.

The muffler also badly needed to be replaced. When I took the car into my mechanic I learned that the exhaust pipe also had a bad crack in it, so I replaced the exhaust as well.

There was also a leak in the washer fluid tank which we had to fix.

I bought the car for $1500 and ended up putting about $400-500 into it right after I bought it.

General Comments:

After initial repairs, this car has been awesome.

It has given me no trouble whatsoever.

It is very fun to drive and the fuel economy is awesome.

I've driven it through winter and summer and it has been a great all round car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2007

1990 Ford Festiva L Plus 1.3L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles

Summary:

Best Car I have every own

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong with this car since I have own it. I put a timing belt on every 75000 miles just for pre-caution. I changed the spark plug at 181000 miles because it would not run right on rainy days, it ran find other days. The rear wheel bearings and the Front CV axles, and the water pump at 262000 miles. The car still is mostly original from factory even down to the a/c and alternator belts. I have done very little to this car in 300000 miles and it still gets about 40 mpg.

General Comments:

This car handles and drives good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2007

27th Feb 2007, 00:52

Wow! What a reliable little car. Sometimes simple is best. Less to go wrong.

1990 Ford Festiva L 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

The best kept secret

Faults:

Minor rust around the rear wheels.

I had to replace the brake rotors and pads with an upgraded brand.

General Comments:

I have owned a large amount of cars; this Festiva is the most reliable /dependable, most fuel efficient car I have ever owned.

I have done several modifications to this car.

Upgraded to the tach dash, map light, door map pockets, 13" alloys, cargo cover, tail lights, upper hatch wing.

I would not trade this car for anything, this is my baby.

If you want more of this stuff, come and see us here at www.fordfestiva.com for all your needs, wants, help. 1,900 members worldwide :)

Thanks, I really loved reading this site.

Doug/packrat427.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2006

6th May 2007, 16:27

I love my Festiva, I wish they would start production on them again.

I would buy one in a heart beat!

The Ford Festiva /KIA,Mazda is the best kept secret.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 21 reviews