1990 Ford Festiva Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1990 Ford Festiva LX 1.3L efi from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3L efi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monza

Summary:

On a scale from 1-10, it's a 7 in every category

Faults:

Valve cover gasket leak developed at around 160,000.

The brakes glazed easily, and in my opinion they were designed too small for the car.

General Comments:

The most reliable car I have ever owned, and it's the most fun per dollar as well.

I've owned over 200 cars in my lifetime, and the festiva isn't the best at anything, but it's good to great at almost everything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2006

1990 Ford Festiva from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired185020 miles
Most recent distance185103 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Absolutely Reliable and easy to care for

General Comments:

Over all since I have had this vehicle, it has been reliable to get me back and forth to work and school. The only thing I really dislike about this vehicle is that it is to small and the windows cranks are broken.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2005

3rd Nov 2005, 21:02

The Ford Festiva is too small for you? These cars have more leg and head room than any other midsize vehicle. Not to mention that they can carry a lot of cargo in the back. I am almost six foot tall and I find the Festiva very spacious.

6th Nov 2005, 08:59

I have had 2 and they are a real find. Average 45 / 49 MPG.

13th Nov 2007, 20:49

I might be getting a Ford Festiva. What are the things I should watch out for?

1990 Ford Festiva LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carSubaru GL

Summary:

Queen of the common automobile

Faults:

Everything that went out on the car was due to regular use and was easily replaceable from the usual car parts stores in our community. This car is fantastic although it looks as if twenty clowns could spill out of it when you park under a streetlight. We call it the clown car to describe it's appearance. You can pay more for a pretty body, but for reliability, this car will get you there. My husband and I were caught up in a fit of insanity and rashly packed the car with our camping equipment and went for a three thousand mile, one week trip through Montana. We even four wheeled as the tires were small enough to navigate some of the most brutal ruts by steering between them! We had a blast and by the time we got home we needed another vacation from each other. The car is not roomy, but what a heart. It handled the switchbacks and 6% grades. We never worried about finding a gas station at over 30 miles per gallon. I recommend this car for many reasons, the best of which is it is fast and I am very certain it flies below radar.

General Comments:

I love my Festiva. This car is a little honey. It has a little trouble in the snow so be careful. All parts are easy to come by and require a basic knowledge of automotive repair to install. They seem to be blessed, but of course, we all know that blessing is due to the driver, or is it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2004

1990 Ford Festiva L 1.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

This car is a good school car!

Faults:

When I first got my car iu needed to get a CV joint because you could hear it really bad when you were going about 25- 30 M.P.H.

My seats have started ripping, but that hasn't stopped me from driving that car to school and back every day.

General Comments:

This little car handles really good in the snow when you get some studded snow tires on it. I haven't gotten it stuck yet and the snow has been pretty deep!

I make my car fast because of the way I drive it, but all in all it is a pretty peppy little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

1990 Ford Festiva L 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

Who needs a Honda?

Faults:

I have had to replace the transmission seal.

The rack and pinion needs replaced soon.

There is two panals that need replaced on the outside.

General Comments:

The performance is great for how small the engine is. But not everything on it is stock, including the exhaust and intake. But you have to get the manual if you want it to keep up with the other compacts out there. I have been able to stay next to mustang six cylinder up to the point I topped out at ninety five miles a hour. Also the thing I love is how easy it is to modify and swap larger engines into it.

I do wish the inside was offered in a different color than gray or tan. I am changing mine to black and blue. Also I wish the seats had more lumbar support like the Honda seats.

The outside could be more sportier like the ones offered in japan. With they had leather seats, sunroofs and a larger engine. The styling of the bumpers were better because they had integrated fog lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

17th Dec 2003, 18:17

So...you don't like the inside, or the outside, and you apparently plan to install a larger engine? Who needs a Honda?...sounds like you do... though if you keep driving a 130K mile Festiva at 95 mph, you probably won't be around long enough to ever get one!

17th Dec 2003, 19:45

Quote

"Who needs a Honda?"

Obviously you do. IT sounds as if you'd wish you'd bought a Honda.. There are many references in the review that are making comparisons to japanese or Honda's.

The Festiva is a cheap and fuel efficient car and it is not built for speed on the highway.. Also I find that the seats are comfortable, but as they age, they crack and deteriorate fast.. I still find them comfortable.. My friend owns a Festiva and he loves the car..

Also did you know the Festiva is a KIA? rebadged by Ford?

9th Oct 2005, 07:36

Dude, It seems to me that you bought a reliable, durable.economy vehicle, When you should have bought a more sporty higher maintenance type of car. Though if you keep driving like you claim, maintenance will be the least of your concerns. A festiva is a festiva nothing more and nothing less.

14th Dec 2006, 12:38

Hey, I have a 1993 Festiva L and I have exhaust and sound system, what kind of intake did you put on? I can't find one

hotrod007_47@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 21 reviews