1989 Ford Fiesta Reviews

1989 Ford Fiesta L 1.3 carbed from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.3 carbed Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 miles
Most recent distance287000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

I want a new one

Faults:

Clutch.

Half shafts.

Front and rear brakes.

Rear wheel bearings.

Tires.

Timing belt.

Water pump.

Alternator.

General Comments:

Bought the Fester in 2005 for $200, at 182,000 miles. Now at 287,000 miles. Still getting good mileage. Total investment less than $1500 plus routine maintenance. Not shabby for a vehicle Ford considered a five year throwaway model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2010

15th Jul 2010, 18:30

Fiesta 1300 engines don't have timing belts.

1989 Ford Fiesta popular 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Very smart to drive

Faults:

Smashed window, cut fuel pipe.

General Comments:

The car is brilliant now I have finished it it goes really well I'm impressed!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2005

1989 Ford Fiesta Bonus 999cc from UK and Ireland

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 999cc Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42022 miles
Most recent distance67430 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A great cheap to run, quick, comfortable little motor

Faults:

Wheel arch rust, that is all.

General Comments:

This car is quick and nippy for a 1 litre, If you want a cheap, quick, reliable runaround, this is the car for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2004

3rd Feb 2005, 20:26

This car is reliable and parts are cheap. Rusting around the petrol cap and wheel arches is a problem on this mk3 model.

14th Jul 2005, 03:25

Problem of rust is on mk2 big, but mechanical things is finest on years.

1989 Ford Fiesta LX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Goes on for years, if looked after.

Faults:

Rear wheel bearings needed replacing.

Dash creaks all the time.

Eats oil - 115,000 miles.

Bit of rust around the arches and valances.

General wear and tear.

General Comments:

I have had my Fiesta for 4 years, and still think its one of the best cars I have ever bought.

Its very reliable, never broken down and always starts first time, even after 115,000 miles.

The simple mechanics and robust engine means it goes on for ever, despite becoming noisy and getting through a fair bit of oil.

The 1.1 Fiesta was never a performance machine. I have been beaten by mopeds, lorries and the odd tractor, but who cares when you get 55 miles per gallon?

Motorway driving is not ideal. The car happily revs to 3k at 60mph, and will stick at 65 all day long. Just watch that oil drop at anything over 70, and don't even think about accelerating up hills, it just won't do it.

I have been all over the country with it, it's a proper little workhorse, and its never missed a beat.

I have driven it hard, getting to 5k rpm in the first 4 gears (5 never gets past 4k at 95mph - on private roads of course), the car only really feels like its pulling when the revs get over 4k, but that's not really practical for everyday driving.

The cornering and handling ability are great fun, provided you want to see your lunch again. It really wallows around corners and doesn't inspire confidence. But, that's not really a problem as you'll never be able to approach a corner at great speed anyway!

I like the handling because despite bouncy suspension and soft damping, I have never made it lose grip, even with 13" wheels and chunky tyres. I did once get it to under-steer round a corner...

To get any sort of performance, you need to work the 55 bhp engine very hard!

To sum up, its very reliable, economical, entertaining and makes an ideal first car or everyday drive. But, it does like its oil, the creaks from the dash drive you insane, its woefully slow and sounds like a blender full of pebbles when revved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2004

1989 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

A cheap car with loads of power!!!

Faults:

Not much, all I have done is replaced the fan belt. I drive it very hard round the farm so this is surprising.

General Comments:

The car is very nippy for a 1.4.

It handles OK, but I tend to find that the front end likes to wonder and under steer.

It is fully electric inside- inc windows and I have also added bonnet scoop.

It is quick off the line and doesn't lack power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2004

1989 Ford Fiesta LX 1.4 CFi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 CFi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

A quick 1.4 CFi

Faults:

Rust around bodywork.

Sills needed welding a couple of times.

General Comments:

Good fun and relatively quick, for a first car at the age of 17.

Unfortunately it handles like a jelly.

The 1.4 CFi of this year has an impressive 0-60 time of 10.4 seconds, however I do not feel that my car achieves 60mph from standing in this time, mainly due to its age.

Relitively well equipped for a car that I paid £150 for. Central locking, electric windows and electric boot opening.

At motorway speeds this car performs relatively well, cruising at 90mph with no problems what so ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews