1989 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1989 Ford Fiesta LX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34004 miles
Most recent distance45608 miles

Summary:

A fun,but probably more trouble than it's worth, kind of car

Faults:

First to go after 2 weeks of owning the car was the exhaust, quickly followed by the tyres, and since buying the car there has always been a strange noise coming from the engine and whenever I brake.

I put the car in for its service after 6,000 miles only to be told that the car would need a lot of new parts, the steering coupling was completely knackered, along with the suspension bushes which were completely split, leaking exhaust gasket, dodgy wheel cylinders and brake pipes... etc etc.

There is still a noisy alternator to deal with but since there is nothing wrong with it apart from the noise, I will probably fit a new one before the M.O.T is due.

Rust on this car is a major problem too with rust creeping up from all wheel arches and especially the fuel cap.

General Comments:

The handling leaves a lot to be desired, as does the performance. Although the shape of the car is appealing to many. Hence the reason why so many people are driving about in them even now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

9th Jan 2002, 16:16

Rust around the fuel cap is common on this generation of Fiesta. It's caused by fuel drips from the nozzles of petrol pumps. Try wiping the area around the cap after you fill up. It obviously won't sort out what is already there, but it should slow down the continuation of the process.

1989 Ford Fiesta LX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

A pile of Ford junk

Faults:

Lots and lots of welding needed doing.

Valve followers.

Leaky radiator.

Pulling brakes.

Main and big bearings went.

Electrics.

It filled up with water every time it rained.

General Comments:

Biggest pile of crap I have ever owned (next to the 1.6 Ghia Orion I had last year). Handles like all the tyres are flat, can be easily out accelerated by a milk float (an electric one).

What were Ford thinking of when they decided where to put the speakers?

I will never buy another Ford again. Long live Vauxhall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

3rd Feb 2001, 21:21

I got my Fiesta when it was three years old (just a baby) I don't think! More like an old man with arthritis - it leaks, it creaks and I am pretty sure Noddy overtook me on the motorway the other day.

Problems include rusting wheel arches, around the petrol cap, actually the only place that's not rusting YET is the roof. Damp interior, poor suspension, front tyre wear, noisy engine, the list goes on and on and on.

Will never by another Fiesta again.

1989 Ford Fiesta S 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carRenault 5 GTL

Summary:

Golf GTi killer!

Faults:

Both bottom ball joints.

Rear silencer.

Cam follower exploded.

Snapped an alternator belt.

Split steering gaitor.

N/S inner CV boot.

O/S outer CV boot.

Broken into!

Stone through the radiator.

Fuel pump gasket leaking.

Crank front oil seal leaking.

Rear wiper inoperable.

General Comments:

Cheap to run, and stick a performance cam in and it will go really quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2000

1989 Ford Fiesta XR2i 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A great looking performance hatch

Faults:

Be very wary of buying 1989/1990 XR2i's. They can be identified by a small valve fitted to the air filter housing.

I have had nothing but problems with my XR2i since I bought it. The car idles eratically, sometimes as high as 3000rpm. Quoted £400 by Ford to upgrade to the later spec (1990 - on) where the valve is fitted to the block.

Apart from that, it had a new exhaust when I bought it. After 8 months the clutch went and it also needed a new steering rack for an MOT. I think I bought a neglected car??

General Comments:

The power is there when you need it and it can cruise when you don't.

The exterior looks great with the row of four fogs under the bumper and it just oozes attitude.

Comes loaded with central locking, electric windows and some with a heated front screen.

My advice is definitely buy a later model, H onwards.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2000

25th Jan 2001, 04:43

I have an XR2i G-reg and I had the same problem with the valve. I did upgrade it for £350 through Gowrings of Newbury for the 1990 model.

Otherwise they are a pretty nice car.

25th Mar 2003, 10:51

I have just bought a 1990 xr2i and have been let down by the very poor idle situation.

I have already changed the radiator fan and the temperature sensor. I've been looking around and to buy a new control valve from fords it's £75.

13th May 2003, 14:58

I have a H reg XR2I, and again had nothing but problems with it from day 1, first of all the electrics went on the boot release, then the electric window motor went, then problem after problem it's cost me more to repair the car than what I originally paid for it, and until this day, I have to keep changing the o.s.f wheel bearing, each time I replace it, the hub nut comes loose causing the bearing to crack.

30th Sep 2004, 10:04

I have a ford xr2i 1990 h reg with 82,000 on the clock am I likely to experience the same problem?

3rd Mar 2005, 07:23

I have an H-reg xr2i and all I've had is problem. The tappets, crank shaft sensor and now I think I've got a nasty hole on the passenger side some where. Iv noticed the carpet is soaking!is this a common fault with xr2i's?

27th Jul 2005, 07:04

I have a later J reg Xr2i and its never let me down. The speed also surprises a few people in much larger cars. The bonus of owning an XR over a normal fiesta is the body kit which protects the arches from rust where the normal fiesta go.

Overall an excellent, good priced car that can be used for almost all purposes.

1989 Ford Fiesta Popular 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

Very cheap and cheerful

Faults:

Alternator packed up.

General Comments:

OK for a beginner. Nippy on back streets - poor performance on motorways (it wobbles over 70mph). Because of the small engine, you really have to floor it to make it move. This loosens the tappets in next to no time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2000

1989 Ford Fiesta XR2i 1.6 petrol from Denmark

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired166000 kilometres
Most recent distance177000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A very good buy. Good value for the money and keeps it's value

Faults:

Exhaust was changed when acquired (166000 km). Otherwise only maintenance costs.

General Comments:

A very fun and extremely fast car if driven correctly. You have to get used to the fast acceleration, but once you get the hang of it, you can get away from other cars at traffic lights easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2000

1989 Ford Fiesta Bonus 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

Rust, tracking.

General Comments:

Good little motor once you've got her out of bed in a morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 1999

22nd Jun 2001, 15:06

Performance 7/10? I have a fiesta bonus II and put your foot down, and nothing happens for about two seconds, then it *slowly* takes you faster!!

1989 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10

Faults:

Rusty rear arches, holes in inner sills and various rust patches.

General Comments:

Goes really well in a straight line, great performance for a 1.4 (quicker than a 1.4 Nova SR) but let down completely by atrocious handling and braking. Go for the Ghia as the 1.4 sport is really basic and the Ghia still has those extra XR2 bits.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 1999

1989 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

Accelerator is hesitant and engine does not respond. Reconditioned carburetor fitted two years after sale. Engine is very jerky, looses revs. Needing to increase these in order to pull out of junctions etc. I have recently been told that I may need yet another new carburettor.

General Comments:

Not very reliable. Spent vast amount of money in four years in order to be able to actually get from destination to destination.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 1999

1989 Ford Fiesta S 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.4
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10

Faults:

Other than normal wear and tear items, no major component has failed. The car is ten years old now so some parts of the interior trim are showing signs of age.

General Comments:

Very cheap, reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews