1993 Ford Fiesta LX 1.3i HCS from UK and Ireland


Avoid at all cost and don't be fooled by its sweet looks and it's small size


49,200 My piston shattered taking the whole engine with it. I had to replace the whole engine which cost £750 plus 20 for an oil change after 3000 miles.

52,000 All 4 tyres needed replacing and because they are the 182/60 R13 they cost £180 for the set instead of £120.

53,000 All brake pads, and brake discs needed replacing. Total cost £320.

70,000 rear wing needed boring out and filling.

78,000 A whole set of suspension shocks, arms and a couple of bearing needed replacing, total cost £340.

80,500 Steering column worn out so needed £70 for a new linkage.

Oil changes every 3000 miles as advised by engine builder costing £20 a go.

General Comments:

This car handles well, if anything it has more grip than anything I've driven mainly due to the large wheels that are standard for this year.

The drive is slightly hard, but good on a motorway although the cabin noise is quite loud.

Not cheap to insure, there are many cars that are faster, cheaper to run, more reliable and better to look at.

Overall I would say probably the biggest waste of money I've ever spent and I'd advise anyone to avoid these cars. Particularly the 1.3 HCS as it is a terrible engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2002

1993 Ford Fiesta XR2i 16v 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland


A sleeper


Crank timing sensor replaced after much trouble starting!

New front shocks.

Discs and pads replaced at 40k.

General Comments:

In standard form the 16v XR2i is a frustrating car, it starts to run out of puff at 5600rpm! Not good for a 16v.

However I have replaced the cams for Kent 1801's, fitted a larger throttle body (55mm compared to 42mm), a K&N kit and a de-cat pipe. My last mod was a Unichip (not cheap). With all this a rolling road test gave 143BHP! (Flywheel) compared with 105bhp standard, it now pulls to 6800rpm!

Above all it's sleeper, it looks standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2001

1st Feb 2001, 15:24

I also own an XR2i 16v 1993 model.

Can you tell me what are the biggest wheels, and lowest tyres I can use without having any body work done (also not having to replace my teeth after driving it!).


17th Feb 2001, 16:26

To be honest I'm not sure because I have left my car standard looking which includes the wheels. Being understated is the best fun.

10th Aug 2001, 05:37

The biggest wheels are 195 45 15 's.

2nd Nov 2001, 06:08

The biggest wheels are actually 16" fitted with 195/45/16 tyres, they look huge, don't require any mods and you still get a comfy drive.

15th Jan 2002, 17:55

My mate that's just bought a Hyundai coupe, had owned a Fes Si 1600cc. He had 195/45/17. dropped on 45mm, but slight arch rolling! He'd fitted a boost valve upping the torque. He had a 2.0 Zetec Focus ;-> (and he sold it)

1993 Ford Fiesta RS 1800 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland


Best Fiesta ever made!


HT leads caused a misfire.

General Comments:

Good performance. When I lowered it, the handling was much improved. Scorpion exhaust and Pipercross air filter make it sound sweet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

1993 Ford Fiesta DL 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland


A poor man's disaster


Lower arms (both sides).

Steering universal joint.

Front discs (originals warped).

Cam belt snapped destroying valves and camshaft (belt was only changed 10k previous).

Severe rusting everywhere.

General Comments:

Although this car returns 55MPG the ride quality is very poor indeed.

It shakes and vibrates itself into one of the worst cars that I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th September, 2000

1st Jan 2001, 17:36

Diesels need their cam belts replaced more frequently due to the extra stiffness of the valves for the high compression ratio. You can never predict when a belt will go, they can go after a few miles or last the lifetime of the car.

8th Feb 2001, 16:16

I have a Fiesta diesel, have had it for four years.

Have had to change the bushes a lot.

Timing belt at service intervals is a must.

Track control balljoints, all wear parts.

Have done 60,000 miles in 4 years, only has one problem, just happened, will not start when cold or it struggles - suspect the fuel heater or glow plugs.

Flattened the battery today - total miles 75,000.

22nd Feb 2001, 07:36

I have a K reg Fiesta DL and although quite basic this is the the best car I have had.

The mpg is fantastic and because of the 1800cc engine the car is very nippy indead!!

Fair enough, the engine oil needs changing regularly and the wheel arches are getting a tad rusty, but what can you expect from a 10 year old car!!

I'll never buy another petrol car again.