1993 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good looking, reliable bargain

Faults:

Front pads and disc's needed replacing a few weeks after I bought it.

New exhaust at approximately 88000.

Slight rust below petrol cap, but every where else is immaculate.

Slightly noisy when pushed hard, but I've heard worse.

New electric window motor at 90000.

General Comments:

Comfort levels are high, love the inclusion of electric windows and central locking in the higher models.

Looks ace for a non-sports car, alloys, metallic paint, color coded bumpers, sunroof.

Lively 1.3 engine, nippy as anything and can be pushed well up-to the redline with no problems, although let down by engine noise.

Reliable, only ever broke down once, due to a wire coming undone which cost nothing to replace.

Engines are sound to work on, I get everything I need from a scrap yard for little cost.

Brakes are mint, never locks up when pushed hard.

Steering is easy enough except when stationary.

Fuel economy is good when driven sensibly, but then it rarely is so can tend to drink petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2003

1993 Ford Fiesta RS1800i 1.8i Zetec from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fun, cheap, fast and reliable

Faults:

Nothing yet, the previous owner was a friend and he never had any major problems with it. Obviously little things sometimes went wrong such as brake lights., but costs near to nothing to get fixed if you go about it the right way.

General Comments:

A excellent performance car for little money and lots of thrills. Cheap to run, comfortable seats, handling could be better. Good for around town, easy to park and reliable as long as its been looked after. Don't get it in red!

Silver & black are the best colors to go for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

2nd Aug 2006, 11:05

How does this car compare to the other 1.8 fiesta, the RS 1800?

3rd Aug 2006, 10:24

Sorry, I meant how does it compare to the 1.8 XR2i 16v?

1993 Ford Fiesta car derived van 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good little workhorse

Faults:

The cam belt snapped a week after getting the van, costing more to repair than the I paid for it.

Various electrical faults.

Perished fuel line.

New battery.

General Comments:

Since getting the car I have spent near 2k getting it fixed, but since has not let me down for almost 2 years.

The diesel engine is not going to rival anything faster than a disability cart, but is amazing on fuel. The car will do 400 miles on one tank. The interior is not bad, but does leave a lot to be desired and the interior electrics have been a nightmare, with almost everything inside needing attention at some point.

The only other issue I have with the car is rust, with all the arches and most of the bottom of the car rotting quite badly now, but then it has had a lot of hammer in its time.

If you are looking for a good workhorse in a small van, then this is for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

1993 Ford Fiesta Duet 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

40mpg after 69k but a real sluggard

Faults:

Wishbone Rubbers

Sump Rotted

Exhaust Rot

Radiator Leak

Radio Light

Dashboard lights on heating controls

Battery Replaced.

General Comments:

Seats hard-ish and could be better.

Wishbone rubbers not replaceable - you have to replace the whole wishbone.

1.1 is sluggish.

Engine rattly since new.

Duet model has no intermittent windscreen wiper.

Duet model has no cover on glove compartment i.e. it's just an open shelf.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

10th Mar 2003, 17:04

I've got a 93 Duet, and I have a glove compartment cover, sure its not just yours?

3rd Apr 2004, 14:54

I have one as well, and it is missing the cover.

1993 Ford Fiesta LX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A slow, characterless, but faithful machine!

Faults:

The rear brake pads have worn out quickly, and I believe the front disks are doing the same. Perhaps I am too hard on them, but I never had this problem in my Renault 5.

The handbrake cable recently perished to one wheel, still holding the other, MUST get this sorted soon! Didn't notice until I had the car up on the jack looking at the brakes and I tried to put the handbrake on when it was already on!

I consider it a problem that the fiesta uses a lot of oil. I have to put a couple of liters in every month or so, I'm sure its not burning oil, and I can find no leaks - where's it all going?

Idle problem. I've read about this on some other reviews. It only started quite recently, the revs will sometimes rise to 2-3000 rpm, and then fluctuate all over the place! This is quite embarrassing whilst sitting alongside traffic. It will accelerate itself, which I consider dangerous. However, some days it will be fine, and some days the opposite will be true, I will have to rev the engine to keep it going! The weather doesn't seem to affect it.

General Comments:

Despite the fairly lengthy complaints above, the fiesta isn't bad. Its quiet (inside!), comfortable and generally reliable. However, I am still young (19), and to me, this car has no character, it goes and stops (most of the time), but it completely dull to drive. It's also very, very slow. I know it's only a 1.1 but I have driven other cars with similar outputs and they seem much quicker. My old Renault 5 1.2 definitely had more pull, and at the time I thought that was bad! When you eventually get up to speed, you have to hang on round corners, the steering is vague, and the ride harsh. I hate having to rev the engine as it sounds like its in pain at anything above 2500rpm. Typical push-rod rattles I suppose. It just likes to go in a straight line. Slowly. I really have to accelerate hard when joining a fast road, for fear of the lorries behind crushing me! And overtaking is almost impossible. Saying that, it goes quite fast downhill, and I have reached 104mph, which must be some kind of record, surely!

I am getting an average 46MPG from a mixture of town, motorway driving. It doesn't change much though, on a recent steady run into Scotland it only rose to 49MPG, which I think is poor, considering I was being very gentle with it for once. Again, the Renault was better in this respect.

I have mentioned its drinking problem - it has a huge thirst for oil! This could just be a trait of the engine, I'm not sure.

The idle control problem is annoying. Does anyone have any ideas for a quick fix? Also, does anyone know how much it might be to fix it?

Overall, this car is OK. I bought it quite cheaply from a friend, and it is is good condition for the age. However, it's just too slow and ordinary for me. I really need a car that goes and looks better than this. I like the look of 106 Quicksilvers! For looks, performance, and costs (insurance/fuel), they seem to have a lot going for them.

I'll have this car for a few months yet, and I'll update these comments if anything important happens!

Hello to all slow Fiesta owners out there!

Matt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

23rd Sep 2002, 06:48

Hi, its Matt, original writer. I must say, I take it all back about the Fiesta being slow and boring to drive! Why? Well the other day at work I took a Lexus IS200 Sport out for a spin, and did, quite literally, go for a spin - 180 degrees back wards into a hedge! I promise I wasn't going that fast, it was a bit wet, I was accelerating and the rear broke traction big time around a bend and oh dear, there it went. I am now in big trouble at work. In the meantime, I have fixed the brakes and the handbrake on the fiesta and you know what? It ain't half bad! Until I get used to rear drive properly I will never say a bad word about the fiesta again!

You think you're fairly invincible until an accident happens, then you think again. I was very lucky, no pedestrians, no other cars in the vicinity. It could have been a real disaster. Drive carefully, please.

Matt.