2003 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2003 Ford Fiesta LX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Gearbox is real "Junk"

Faults:

Gearbox made noise when changing gear in Automatic mode

Gear change very slow in Auto mode

On hills car rolls back (Auto mode!)

Not always start in the morning.

General Comments:

My mistake was to buy "Durashift" (Manual Auto), very slow gear change sometimes dangerous.

Not a good started.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2006

2003 Ford Fiesta LX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Good Value for Money!

Faults:

No problems as yet.

General Comments:

Really glad I paid the extra to have air con, wouldn't be without it now.

Bad choice to pick the paler seats, should have gone for the darker colour, as they mark quite easily, and I've ended up using covers on the front seats.

My punto was only a 1.2, but it perhaps had a bit more 'go' than my 1.4 fiesta, but that's probably not a bad thing!

I haven't really noticed the cost of the extra fuel, with it being a slightly bigger engine, or the use of the air con.

Bought from Reg Vardy Wolverhampton - very good service, would recommend, they didn't hound or pressure for a sale, very different to other garages I visited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

2nd Jan 2006, 17:26

I just bought a 54 plate 1.2 LX on Xmas Eve there. I agree with you when you mentioned that you found the dealer had a no-pressure approach which was not the case at all the other garages I visited.

I'm very satisfied with the car, it's a black 3-door and looks really sporty.

I also find it has quite a lot of punch too even though it is only a 1.2.

2003 Ford Fiesta Finesse 1.25 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.25 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12800 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A good car for the money

Faults:

Nothing as yet only had the car two weeks.

General Comments:

As this is the basic Fiesta the refinements are also basic.

The ride is stiff and the seats are not comfortable on long journeys.

Interior is 'very' plastic, but the dials and switches seem robust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2004

2003 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.4 i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A very nice little package

Faults:

Switch for leveling the headlights was broken on delivery.

Water pump replaced at 7,000 miles.

General Comments:

I am quite happy with the car as it's my first new car.

I like the look, shape, and think it's complimented with the Panther Black paint work.

However someone so kindly left me a calling card at the local superstore, it was in the form of a dent right in the middle of the top line on the driver's door, and no details would you believe.

On the way home I noticed the leveling switch for the headlights wasn't working at all.

This was fixed in two separate days, one to diagnose the problem, and a second to replace the switch.

I noticed a noise from the engine at around five thousand miles, but it came, and went a few times.

The annual service was due, and the water pump was replaced, with a mileage of seven thousand.

The rubber cover for the passenger door mirror remote has fallen off.

Apart from this small list, my wife, (who's the main driver),loves the car.

I'm happy with the car, but still think, being a new car, i should have at leased a couple of years free from defects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

3rd Jun 2005, 18:56

The water pump went on my Fiesta too. Looks like it's a common fault! Oh dear Ford, it looks like your poor build quality is surfacing.

14th Jun 2006, 13:54

The water pump also went on my 2003 Fiesta Zetec TDCi, one month after if was out of warranty (only two years because it was an import). I was told by Ford it was a common fault, a lot of them were faulty on the early ones, it has now been replaced. Eventually I managed to convince them to pay half the cost. Needless to say, I don't have it anymore...

2003 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Great handling, but some small problems

Faults:

At about 5000miles the water pump went, it first started not very often at first and only when the engine got warm. It sounded like pigeon in the engine. This was then replace by the dealer only to find at 7000miles it broke again. Now reached 13000 and it has gone again. This gets very annoy.

General Comments:

The car handles lovely, especially round corners and in the ice. The brakes are brilliant and the interior is wonderful. Comes with a great standard cd player.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th May, 2004

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews