1999 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 12 of 15

1999 Ford Focus Zetec 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane Coupe

Summary:

A high profile, low standard piece of junk

Faults:

Persistent rattling of the tailgate also under the car at the rear.

Knocking on the driver's side front wheel when cornering at low speed.

General Comments:

This a poor car! It is noisy with poor build quality and appalling fuel consumption. I'll buy German next time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

14th Feb 2001, 09:25

You have a german car!!!

The Ford Focus is german!!!

27th Jun 2001, 04:20

I'm sure when you said you will buy a German car you meant a VW or BMW, Focus is far from German quality.

1999 Ford Focus Zetec 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carVolvo 850 GLE

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

Tailgate remote release operated by itself while driving, motors replaced.

Car recalled by the manufacturer twice.

General Comments:

Car corners and brakes well.

The engine is gutless, needs to be in 3rd gear to overtake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

14th Feb 2001, 07:46

I agree, I have purchased an 18 month old Focus 1.8 Zetec and wish I had bought a Volkswagen! The focus is noisy - rattles everywhere, the engine is underpowered and the fuel economy (25mpg) is appaling for a car manufactured at the end of the millenium.

18th Feb 2001, 08:16

I also own a 2.0 Zetec. It handles well but the engine sounds rough and needs to be in 3rd to make it move. You also have to use the high end of the rev range in true 16 valve character.

The gearbox is horrible and the car has rattles and creaks.

The lights are poor, not putting enough light out, finishing at a point in the road where you still need to see.

1999 Ford Focus Zetec 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance16583 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta Ghia

Summary:

Great fun, yet still practical

Faults:

When I picked the car up from the dealership it had a steering fault - the steering servo had gone and it was leaking steering fluid.

It had three sets of brakes in the first three months to prevent the steering wheel shaking violently when breaking at around 60mph.

The driver's side front window dropped inside the door and smashed when I put it down.

It has had four leaks in the passenger side footwell which effected the electrics.

General Comments:

Although I've had a whole catalogue of problems with the car, I still love it. Driving it is great fun, it's fast and handles superbly for a fairly big car.

The biggest complaint I have is with the dealership, they are awful.

That said, I'll be buying another Ford in March, probably the Fiesta Zetec-S. I'm dying to see how the 1.6 Focus engine fairs in a smaller car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

1999 Ford Focus Zetec 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance15500 miles
Previous carMazda MX5

Summary:

Fab car, terrible dealers

Faults:

The engine is pinking when pulling away at low speed. Also, accelerating after lifting-off for a while is always jerky - never smooth. This is particularly bad in low gears and town driving is frustrating.

Two dealers approached, neither found a fault.

Various clunks and rattles from the suspension and tailgate.

General Comments:

I love the car despite these problems. But I doubt I'll ever buy another Ford because of their very, very poor dealers who do not appear to care about their customers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st November, 2000

15th Dec 2000, 16:16

Have to aggree with you there. My Focus Zetec had EXACTLY the same problems as yours, and the dealers were just as bad. If you want a decent car, buy Japanese, like I did with my Toyota Celica which I bought after ditching the Focus.

2nd Oct 2001, 18:49

It's not about the people that sell the car, it's more to do with the service you get after the sale.

It is not just a Ford thing, ask most Audi owners here in the USA.

6th Aug 2009, 15:18

This issue for anyone interested can be a faulty coil pack, resulting in the engine misfiring.

1999 Ford Focus Estate 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired41 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carLandrover County

Summary:

A good value for money buy

Faults:

Driver's seat belt frayed.

General Comments:

An excellent all round car so far. I've had it for 6 months.

Fairly comfortable, although it did give a me a bit of a stiff back after 14 hours to the South of France (possibly to be expected!).

One of the things I don't like about it is the size of the rear screen wiper - it wipes such a small proportion of the rear screen, and on the motorway etc, the back of the estate gets a lot of water on it.

The estate is very versatile from 5 people to all the equipment required for a bouncy boxing ring and castle (including blower units etc).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 56 reviews