1999 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 5 of 15

1999 Ford Focus LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Fantastic Ford Focus

General Comments:

This is probably the best car I have ever had. It handles really well, looks cool and reliability is not a problem. After previously owning a Mazda 323fastback, which looks fantastic and had all the extras, but was the most expensive and unreliable car I have ever had, to now having a car which puts the fun back into my driving. I cannot recommend this car highly enough. It had been a ex-rental car, and with 96k on the clock I expected some problems, but it is a fine piece of engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2005

1999 Ford Focus LX 1.8 TDDI from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 TDDI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I would recommend this car to anyone

Faults:

The diesel glow plugs were on the way out.

The boot release function had a major fault. I could only open it with the key in the end.

General Comments:

I loved this car, even though it was a diesel.

The acceleration was excellent, and the ride was fantastic when cornering or on country lanes, considering how I was driving!

The only problem I had with this car is that it didn't have Air Conditioning, otherwise I would have kept it for a lot longer.

I put a lot of mileage on it (25000) in 5 months, and it has stood up very well.

This has changed my mind about diesels - fantastic fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2005

1999 Ford Focus Ghia 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good looking with performance

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car yet, but I haven't had it long so I don't want to speak to soon!

General Comments:

Very impressed with the handling and performance. It can corner particularly well at speed and doesn't complain too much!

I like the look of the car and find the cabin very spacious compared to my Escort, but can someone tell me why I have grey wood trim instead of the standard wood trim please?

The brakes are magnificent also, very smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

1999 Ford Focus CL 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carSeat Leon

Summary:

Don't believe the reviews, it is not the UK's best handling car by far

Faults:

The central locking is continually playing up.

Every time you press number four on the radio, it turns itself off.

The idol speed adjusts itself, regularly it will sit at 2000rpm at traffic lights & other times it will struggle to make 600rpm.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and the radio easy to use (until it turns off).

The handling I was amazed to find is awful, wet roundabouts are especially bad, but it has no grip at any time.

Performance is almost reasonable for a 1400cc, but cannot be described as fast. However to get it moving it requires a lot of effort which makes fuel economy about high 20s mpg. Ouch!!

The car's saving grace is that it is free as it's my company car & I'm glad to say it's temporary until a more permanent vehicle arrives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st October, 2004

2nd Mar 2005, 02:56

If it has no grip and poor handling, then it's either on cheap/worn tyres or there's something wrong with it.

1st Apr 2005, 07:34

I have had Ford Focus for the last six months and I am very happy with the performance. It is not as economic as a car of 1.4 engine size should be, but does if driven locally.

Haven't had any problems whatsoever even though I bought it second hand. Drives excellent and handling is very impressive. Real value for money.

Just like any other car it requires to be looked after properly. Keep the car happy and she will love you back.

1999 Ford Focus Ghia 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A great car to drive, but with questionable build quality

Faults:

Body work has been of poor quality.

It is going in to the dealers for the second time to have rust treated.

After 50,000 miles various rattles are starting to appear.

Interior trim is coming loose.

Clutch pedal "creeks" a bit.

General Comments:

The car is great to drive and performs well on all counts when driven.

Poor build quality has resulted in rust on the tailgate, although Ford have a procedure for remedying, this is also flawed.

The respray lasted less that one year before the rust came back.

It's the chrome strip that damages the paint and lets the water in - beware of the Ghia for this reason.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

23rd May 2005, 12:42

I have the same problem. Where, adjacent to a corner of the chrome detail on the tailgate a small area of rust has appeared. Apart from that, the car, and the body work is fine. I was not aware that it was a prevalent problem!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 56 reviews