2002 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 22 of 27

2002 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0L Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Zetec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance18050 miles

Summary:

Wonderful to drive, but not 100% reliable

Faults:

Brake rotors resurfaced at 6,500 miles at dealership's cost.

Paint chipping/peeling on hood and bumper (under a LeBra cover), rear hatch, and driver's side door. Dealership would not repair, claiming damage was caused by stray rocks, and that even if they were to admit it was a defect, they don't have a paint shop to do the work anyway.

Rotors needed replaced at 17900 (brake pads were okay though???) and the dealer would not repair, even though it is a well known Focus problem, in which there is a class action suit being filed.

General Comments:

The car was wonderful to drive, but the brake and paint issues were ridiculous, and for 12,500$ I expected better. It was my first new car, and I didn't have the money to pour 200$+ per month into a car and 100$+ for insurance, and then pay for unwarranted repairs too.

I figure if the pads were okay, why would the rotors fail?

The paint was peeling badly enough that by the time I had paid it off, the car would have been silver instead of white.

If you buy one of these cars, I'm sure it'll do you well as long as you're ready to replace rotors and pay for paint work.

As for me, I traded it in on a Saturn ION for my wife to drive and I drive her old car (1993 Saturn SL2), which seems to be holding up better than the Focus was.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

2002 Ford Focus Ghia 1.8TDCi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8TDCi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Fast, fun to drive - the perfect car?

Faults:

Switch for rear windscreen wash faulty from new - was replaced at first service.

Otherwise pretty impressive. No premature signs of wear & tear or recalls like some of the Japanese rubbish we've had before.

General Comments:

Overall an excellent car - well specified, comfortable and powerful. Not the most exciting car in the world, but better than most.

Driving position is a little odd - despite all the seat & steering wheel adjustments I find it hard to get comfortable.

You do tend to feel like you're "perched" on top of the seat rather than sitting in it, although this is a very minor point.

It handles almost perfectly & very precisely - with a little less body roll (ie. on sports models) it would be ideal.

The turbo-charged diesel would be quite slow without the turbo (and is before it cuts in) but when it kicks in the car flies.

Having said that the turbo's delivery is a little erratic - if you push it when cold it can cut in and out during acceleration sometimes, which is a bit annoying.

Overall, a fine, nice to drive family car and should last for a long time all being well. Ford have come on light years since the nasty old Mondeo we once had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

27th Dec 2003, 06:55

Comment on thrashing it when cold, if you want engine and turbo to last wait until engine is warm before the thrash!!!

20th Jan 2004, 14:00

ALL diesels are gutless without a turbo.

2002 Ford Focus ZX5 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance9815 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Okay

Faults:

My brake system has failed to stop me and there is a grinding noise when I turn the wheel.

General Comments:

After doing research, I am concerned that this will continue to be an issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2003

2002 Ford Focus Ghia TDCI 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Good working vehicle

Faults:

The car leaks a little water into the cabin, my local ford dealer is going to take a alook.

General Comments:

The car turned out to be better than I expected, it has loads of torque and is great for towing. The car also handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2003

2002 Ford Focus from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Faults:

This car is crap with a lot of problems!!! Horrible condition!!!!

General Comments:

I had Ford Focus 2000, 2003, and then 2002. The dealership and repair lied to me, they kept telling me that there was nothing wrong with the cars. I never believed them because I received many different problems. The brakes ARE VERY BAD!! I almost crashed into the guy because the brake refused to stop on time. The heat and AC are awful!!! I almost passed out while driving because of the heat. I took my car to the shop many times and complained the same problems and the repair didn't even listen or believe me at all. None of my friends felt safe to be in Ford Focus car at all. I got fed up and decided to trade for Nissan Sentra 2002 and I have been happy with it since then. I suggest you not to buy a Ford Focus car ever!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2003

28th Feb 2004, 09:03

Next time you think your car is too hot, try rolling down the window.

1st Mar 2005, 13:55

I'd say your Focus is the least of your problems. I'm surprised your friends weren't scared of the driver.

5th Apr 2005, 10:43

I have a Ford Focus and love it. I've only had one problem with it and it was immediately fixed by the dealership try being a little nicer next time.

19th Jul 2005, 08:52

I was looking for constructive criticism regarding any problems that may have occurred with the ford focus. However, the comment I have just read only alerts me to the bizarre nature of some people on the roads. The comments were not useful in any way, shape or form.

5th Sep 2007, 17:56

We've had a 2002 Ford Focus Wagon for 4 years now. We bought it 1 year old with 29K km. Had problems with worn front brake pads at 65K. Only other problem was broken wires on rear hatch brake light. Ride is very good. Did routine oil changes at Wal-Mart. Now have 168K. Very happy to date. Lots of cargo carrying capacity with seats down. Air conditioning works great. Only neg is windows take a long time to wind down. My 5 foot wife loves this car.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 89 reviews