2012 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2012 Ford Focus S 2.0L 4-cylinder W/ DI and Ti-VCT from North America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4-cylinder W/ DI and Ti-VCT Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95 miles
Most recent distance1435 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Sedan

Summary:

A nice car that was rushed into production too quickly without having the bugs worked out of it

Faults:

I leased this new 2012 Focus 5-Speed with 95 miles on it.

At 135 miles, the A/C compressor seized up due to no PAG oil being added at the factory and had to be replaced. Covered under warranty.

At 935 miles, I had to get a PCM (computer) software update to get rid of a rough idle on a cold start... which is still there and has not been resolved. Covered under warranty.

And most recently at 1,435 miles, I developed a clunk/knock in the front end when braking and going over bumps. Turns out that Ford issued a TSB stating that redesigned front struts, mounting plates, coil springs, and hardware is available to resolve this issue. So I need a complete front end rebuild at under 1,500 miles. Also, the car is in the shop for a recall notice, another software update for the PCM, and the rough idle on a cold start.

General Comments:

The new Focus is a very nice looking car. I bought the Sedan instead of the Hatchback.

The interior is very nice, all controls are laid out well and are within reach very easily.

It handles very, very, well for a compact car.

Fuel mileage is excellent. About 28-30 MPG city and 36-38 MPG highway.

The 5-speed manual transmission shifts effortlessly with one finger, and the clutch feels great (not too soft or too hard).

The new 4-Cylinder is a 2.0L with Dual Over Head Cams, 16-Valves with Direct Injection and Variable Valve Timing that puts out 160 horsepower and 150 Ft. Lbs. of torque. The engine is more than adequate for around town driving, but get up on the highway and the engine becomes lively above 4,000 RPM's. It seems you kind of have to wind it out a little bit to get the best usable power out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th November, 2011

30th Nov 2011, 00:04

"It seems you kind of have to wind it out a little bit to get the best usable power out of it."

What do you expect from a 4-cylinder engine?

6th Dec 2011, 13:48

1/10 for running costs? You do realize that is a rating for mileage right? So you are getting 8 mpg with your Focus then? Seriously, you must be in the mid 30's right? That is more like a 9/10 to me.

14th Dec 2011, 09:55

If "running costs" are considered fuel mileage, than yes. It is pretty good on fuel. I'm pulling around 28 MPG in the city and about 32 MPG on the highway. Window sticker claims 28/36, but the car is still breaking in also. I am sure in another couple thousand miles, the fuel mileage will increase a bit...

16th Jan 2012, 13:55

I have a '12 Focus SE, I get 44 on the highway average in winter. In the summer I average 49-51. I have a 25 mile commute to work, so it is very accurate.

17th Jan 2012, 12:40

What is very accurate? Are you using the computer to tell you the mileage? If so, it probably isn't very accurate. You need to fill up, drive for a tankful, take down the miles you drove since the fill up, fill up again, and then divide miles by actual gallons used. This is the only way for a truly accurate measure of mileage.

17th Jan 2012, 18:12

44-50mpg on the highway sounds about right for the Focus. My I-4 Fusion, which is much heavier, gets 38mpg on the highway.

As for the jerky transmission, that is NORMAL for the dual dry-clutch transmissions. It is WHY they get 44 mpg.

6th Feb 2012, 15:21

The vehicles computer will give you a lower fuel economy rating than the window sticker and the TV commercials. This is because the factory uses a computer that gives them the instant fuel mileage that it is running at that second. Whereas the on board system shows your average mileage updated irregularly.

2012 Ford Focus SE 2.0 from North America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired22 kilometres
Most recent distance1800 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Great

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I have the sedan. It looks good, handles great, and gets great gas mileage. I had a Focus wagon before, but didn't need that much room anymore, so went for the sport sedan.

The only dislikes so far are the quirky transmission (which has trouble finding shift points), and the lack of little storage nooks! There is no place to put anything; there's a cup holder, but the bottle holder in the door is gone!

I love the stereo, bluetooth and Sirius radio!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2011

29th Jun 2011, 22:20

I test drove a 2012 Focus; the automatic transmission was herky jerky in the parking lot and on the road when first starting off. It ruined an otherwise nice car. I do not want to be a guinea pig for Ford on the dual clutch transmission.

It is a looker though! I actually like it better than the new Elantra and Civic. I drove the new 2012 Civic automatic too. It has comfortable seats, but I felt like I was in a hole looking over the dash. The stereo and HVAC controls are horribly complicated to use... even when sitting still... much less when driving! It handled well, rode well, and was quiet. I felt it was very slow and underpowered. The Hyundai Elantra seemed way faster than the Civic. It did not ride as well though.

Overall, I think if I went out and got a new car, the Hyundai would be my pick.. but not if the Focus had a better transmission.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews