2013 Ford Focus Reviews

2013 Ford Focus SE 2.0 from North America

Model year2013
Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 kilometres
Most recent distance53500 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caliber

Summary:

Horrible decision

Faults:

The engine lacks power; will often attempt to stall out and runs very rough.

The transmission shifts very poorly, and sometimes will bang and jerk or not go into the proper gear.

Wheel bearings and strut mounts had to be replaced at 50000.

Door panel had to be replaced at 21000.

Rust is starting to develop under the the driver's door.

The infotainment system is oftentimes infuriating, especially the voice command portion.

General Comments:

The car is good on gas and it looks decent.

I regret the decision I made to purchase this car daily. I do not feel safe driving it, and it's embarrassing to have to explain to passengers that the shaking from a new car is deemed normal, as is the jerking from the transmission in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2014

8th Jul 2014, 16:32

Please read your annual Consumer Reports Annual Auto Issue, every year. It will give you the good and bad cars out there. In it you would see that Ford has had some issues with the newer Ford Focus hatchback and coupe, the Ford Focus ST, and also had issues with the Ford Focus sedans... especially the last two years. And their new car prediction of the Focus is not good... but they do recommend the earlier Ford Focus sedans... years 05/06, 08/09 and 10/11. So there are a lot of great used Ford Focuses out there.

Too many people are buying cars based on past experiences with the make and model. Those days are gone; you have to research, research, and research some more before you spend your hard earned money on any vehicle out there.

9th Jul 2014, 09:42

Next time you should test drive a car before you buy it.

9th Jul 2014, 19:05

I would never use the word 'great' to describe any Ford Focus; decent is more appropriate (yet still very kind) IMO.

11th Jul 2014, 20:13

Never pay any attention to publications such as Consumer Reports. I have found their ratings totally meaningless.

First off, they are horribly biased against all American manufacturers.

Secondly their "problems" often aren't problems at all. I have no qualms at all about buying cars they rate "Much worse than average" in reliability. Our current twelve year old American car has over 130,000 miles on it with a total of $77 in repairs. CR lists it as "Much worse than average". A previous car of ours was also rated "Much worse than average". It only lasted a measly 325,000 miles before starting to have problems. Ratings services are incredibly unreliable.

18th Jul 2014, 14:44

Actually I did drive it, these problems showed up down the road. Do you actually think I would buy a vehicle without driving it first?

22nd Jul 2014, 01:45

Amazingly a lot of people DO buy cars without a test drive. One of my good friends just goes into a dealership, and negotiates a price and buys the car without even seeing it first. I can't imagine doing that, but a lot of younger techno-geek types know or care absolutely nothing about cars, and if they know the car has a lot of electronic gadgets, they could care less about any other aspect of the car. My friend didn't even know if his last car was front or rear drive, or if it had a 4 or 6.

2013 Ford Focus Titanium 2.0L Ti-VCT from North America

Model year2013
Year of manufacture2013
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 2.0L Ti-VCT Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance2700 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Excellent car for the price

Faults:

MyFord Touch froze once

Someone hit me at 2500 miles; that was about $1,900 to fix.

General Comments:

This is my second Focus, my first being a 2003 Focus SE Comfort sedan. All in all, going from a mk1 Focus to the latest generation, I'm not disappointed. Ford has really come a long way from the inexpensive compact that was the Focus to what we have today.

I particularly enjoy the heated leather seats and steering wheel, as well as the backup camera. I also enjoy the premium audio system by Sony that Ford has packed on board as part of the Titanium trim level.

The car gets very good MPG and has plenty of space for what I need. It seems Ford has found every need someone would typically have in a car and they nailed it. Very pleased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2014

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews