14th May 2006, 08:46

Mazda 3 has the same chassis of c-max. and volvo s40/v50... but is of course much better... please...

22nd Jun 2006, 01:05

I have the 1600cc diesel C-Max 54 reg. I purchased he vehicle 12 months ago from Ford Direct. It had 11,500 miles then. It's now on 20,000. I have driven it all over the country on all types road. I have been getting 46-47 mpg. I have found the car very reliable, road holding good. Clock does loose one minute per month. Seats do stain with the smallest drop of water?

This car can be driven hard safely when the correct driving technique is applied. I can only assume that the owners who have given the vehicle bad reviews have unfortunately purchased a vehicle that was constructed in a different factory from the 1600cc diesel model? What do you say Mr. FORD? G.J. Heighway.

18th Jul 2006, 12:47

Did the reviewer know that his Mazda is actually made/owned by Ford.

28th Nov 2006, 08:02

I had a 1.6D C-Max for a weekend test from Ford in mid 2005.

It handled like a blancmange, absolutely terrible.

I didn't buy one.

What did I expect?

I expected it to be an updated Renault Scenic (a fantastic car I owned for 4 years), it was not.

A big thank you for this lengthy and honest review.

28th Nov 2006, 13:43

"95% of the poster's complaints should have been obvious on a test drive at the dealer's and he should NOT have bought the car in the first place.

It's obvious he hated most things about the car before any quality issues popped up, so there is really no way he would have ever liked this car even if it was perfect"

I tend to agree strongly with this statement.

11th Jan 2007, 16:17

I wanted to be fair and let others have their say before I added anything else, but just to finally lay a few things to rest about the C-Max I owned, I did indeed know that the chassis, or at least the floorpan and one or two components were the same as the Mazda I went on to buy (please see separate review.) The latter car has some of the same inherent faults, but nowhere near as bad. Also, the C-Max I had on a test drive, was not the one I eventually purchased. My own car had numerous faults not present on the test vehicle, so with the best will in the world, I was not going to discover it's many dangerous idiosyncrasies via that route, only with a protracted period of ownership would I find what a dog it was.

It seems from reading comments elsewhere, that other C-Max owners haven't exactly been enamoured with their purchases either, so I am not alone. I hated the thing, but fortunately, I now have a car that I enjoy driving. I just hope Ford doesn't ruin Mazda as they did with many of the other companies they've bought. Take Jaguar for example with the trouble they had with cylinder bore wear on their engines thanks to Ford's cost-cutting and the use of inferior materials and design. They've been at it now for a 100 years, and still don't know how to build a car!

19th Mar 2007, 15:08

Has anybody had the same problem with their C Max as I have. It started with a horrible groaning/grinding noise when the brakes were apllied when reversing. Eventually after reporting the fault twice I was informed that there was a "recall" on my car for this fault under TSB No 5 2005.The "modification" was carried out over a period of 3 days, the Ford repair center claiming that the wrong parts was supplied to them 3 times! The work entailed replacement of "many parts on the rear braking system"

When I collected the car I found that the handbrake did not hold on a slight gradient. I was assured by the Service Manager that this was quite normal as the pads needed to "bed in".

Now 1500 miles later the car has developed a loud metallic rattle from the area of the rear wheels. Another visit to the same Ford dealer. They now tell me that the rear pads are loose and there is also something wrong with the pads retaining springs. Both items were part of the original modification. The garage tells me that Ford will not pay for the repair. So I instructed the garage to carry out any necessary work and I would pay. Later the same day they phoned me to collect the car. When I did I was told the repair had not been done because the wrong parts had been supllied. They would not book the car back in to complete the repair! Any comments on Fords customer relations policies?

28th Mar 2007, 06:58

I read with interest the original review and the other comments. I think you need to rent a car for a weekend before deciding. I did rent a 1.8 Ford C-Max in the UK last year, and found it very unsteady in even slight cross winds on the M4. I was constantly adjusting the steering, unlike my 1994 945 Volvo. But the most annoying thing I found on the C Max was the handbrake. It was designed for a LHD car and is too far from the driver in a RHD car. The same fault applies to an 05 on Focus and the new Volvo S40/V50. I also rented an Automatic 1.8 Mondeo last year and that car you could really describe as underpowered.


15th Jan 2008, 05:31

I was OK with the review even though I thought it very unbalanced in respect that the driver was obviously driving the wrong car for his needs something that will make every little thing appear a major problem.

However once I read this

"I was thoroughly ashamed one day when I was beaten away from the lights by one of those rubbishy old Zafira’s I had so readily dismissed"

It became totally apparent that the writers review was not in the least appropriate, it actually sounded like a 17 year old complaining about his dad's car.

20th Jan 2008, 16:46

First of all I want to salute my 2004 c-max. The 2.0 litre TDCi engine does manage to get to 60mph in 9.5 seconds and consistently produces 40mpg. Long haul has always been great!

It does however stall occasionally on short trips - especially having stopped the engine then restarted. This is followed by 3-5 minute of getting revs past 1000. This is hopefully my car only, but if anyone has experienced anything similar I would be interested to here of your experiences.

In general the c-max fails in the small mpv category. Space is won and lost. The boot is too narrow and so is the back seat. And I agree that water marks shouldn't be that bad. The passenger seat looks likes it home to incontinents anonymous!

13th Feb 2008, 06:49

I have a 53 plate 1.6 TDCI Zetec C-max and have been very pleased with it after owning it from 8 months old. It did have a brake problem in reverse which was sorted out by the recall to Ford and I have had no mechanical problems ever since. I find it comfortable to drive and has the versatility I need in removing or folding the rear seats as required. A great family car and I am considering changing it for a new one. I also drive my partners focus 02 plate, but much prefer the c-max.