Ford Freestyle Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2005 Ford Freestyle Limited from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance19325 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Great, good looking car!

Faults:

I have experienced two episodes of leaking from the windshield seal to the right of the rear view mirror. The leak is nothing more than "drips" that occurred when I stopped at the bottom of my sloped driveway. These "drips" occurred after a hard rain. The dealership was unable to duplicate the leak after keeping it for two days. No problems since that time. No leaks with snow and ice.

Could use a little better organization around the air/heater controls.

No other problems.

General Comments:

I find the car roomy and comfortable. It has great cargo space and comfortably holds adults in the 2nd and 3rd row seats. Interior controls related to the sound system are organized well and easily accessible from the dash or steering wheel.

The car handles well in various weather conditions. Feels like you are driving a car as compared to an SUV. I also own an Explorer and there is a vast difference in the ride and handling. The Freestyle is much better. Has good acceleration in City as well as Interstate driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2006

6th Aug 2006, 23:58

There is nothing wrong with the look of the Freestyle. I have seen many more Domestics that look worse and still sell.

1st May 2007, 18:42

I agree, look at the Pontiac Aztek. That was ugly, and it sold a lot.

17th Jan 2008, 11:46

Just bought one a 2006 Limited and love it, but I had a question about the CD/MP3 function. I can't play my mp3 player without an mp3 plug in, but it says MP3. I don't see anywhere you could plug in on the player. What exactly does that mean? I looked in the owners manual and they kept talking about an MP3 Disc. Is that different then a CD-R disc that you can transfer music to or what? If so, where do you get them? Any help appreciated.

25th Jan 2008, 08:35

You probably have to use an CD with MP3 files on it. MP3 files take up less memory therefore you can fit many more onto a CD.

2005 Ford Freestyle from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Good car worried about the Volvo cousin's preformance

Faults:

Some mystery noise, brake chatter when wet, engine noise in cabin a little high on heavy acceleration.

General Comments:

After reading a review of the Ford Freestyle, I find that this vehicle is based on the Volvo S80. This was a selling point of the dealership. They are trading on the Volvo name and reputation for good well built cars. However, a query finds the Volvo S80 to be by most accounts a poor performer with a reputation of unreliability with every thing from major transmission failures to phantom electrical problems. Which brings us to the Ford cousin; so far we have had no problems except for mystery noise at first take off when cold, after that no problems. Oh yeah, wet brakes chatter some. That's it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th January, 2006

2005 Ford Freestyle SEL 3.0 Duratec from Iceland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Duratec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired119 kilometres
Most recent distance5500 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Santa Fe

Summary:

Best Vehicle I've Ever Gotten my Hand On

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This has got to be the roomiest car I've ever had the pleasure of driving. Beats my earlier Hyundai Santa Fe easily.

Fuel consumption is also far better, even though the Santa Fe both weighs less and is not as quick. The handling is superior and the CVT transmission is a dream!

The Freestyle is a big car, seats seven people (all of the comfortably) and can be difficult in tight situations downtown.

Whether this car is a station car or an SUV doesn't really hold any relevance. If you have a big family, lots of stuff or need a smooth car for long rides (even through snow or mud), I recommend this superior vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2006

2006 Ford Freestyle Limited AWD V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance108 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Overall satsifaction is good

Faults:

I have experienced abnormal windshield dashboard reflection. correction possibly an anti glare application is needed or deeper windshield tint on the vehicle.. Otherwise, the vehicle appears to work as expected.

General Comments:

Overall satisfaction is good. Other than windshield reflection.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2005

2005 Ford Freestyle SES Ztech from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Ztech Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22235 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

A car or an SUV, that is the question

Faults:

Not big problems, just little problems.

Trunk light burned out.

Little stuff.

General Comments:

I love this car and I would recommend it to anyone.

This car has a good engine (fuel economy).

I just can't decide whether a Freestyle is a car or an SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

14th Mar 2005, 10:17

You have put quite a bit of miles on this car. Please keep me posted as you put more miles on the car. My wife is looking at a freestyle and I would like to know how reliable it is before we buy one. Thanks in advance.

24th Mar 2005, 08:28

Well, I went to a Ford dealer with the same question. I would have to say that if it's not a crossover, which is considered an SUV, I would have to say SUV. It's Ground clearance, vehicle size, body, shape, and style. scream SUV. Keep in mind The Subaru Forester. Because of 7.5 inches of ground clearance and all wheel drive, it's an SUV. So all in all I would have to claim SUV or SAV. Thanks.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews