1963 Ford Galaxie Reviews

1963 Ford Galaxie 500 352 from North America

Year of manufacture1963
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 352 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles

Summary:

Awesome, can't wait to get it running better

Faults:

Leaky transmission. Not sure where it is leaking from, but it leaks a lot.

The generator won't keep a charge. Thinking of switching it out for an alternator.

Seats and headliner are in bad shape, but the interior door panels and dash are in good shape.

Wheel bearings need tightening or replacing.

There is a lot of play in the steering. I assume the gear box needs adjusting or replacing.

The brake booster is bad. When I hook it up, it kills the idle, probably due to a vacuum leak.

It backfires out of the carburetor once in a while. Again, I assume due to some timing or vacuum issues.

General Comments:

This car has no factory seat belts. Planning on putting some lap belts in. Can these just be bolted to the floor boards?

The body on this car is in great shape; it was garaged for most of its life.

The suspension seems tight, but seems to be a bit low in the back.

The 352 runs strong, but I would like to increase the horsepower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2013

31st May 2013, 23:38

"Leaky transmission. Not sure where it is leaking from, but it leaks a lot."

Probably needs a new pan gasket or fluid line.

1963 Ford Galaxie 500 352 from North America

Year of manufacture1963
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 352 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired86235 miles
Most recent distance88324 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Fun and reliable car

Faults:

The generator quit, replaced with an alternator (and home made conversion kit)

Exhaust replaced with dual exhaust / glass-packs.

Starter went out, had it rebuilt.

Recarpeted and re-upholstered.

Electrical system - very if'y. Works if it wants to. IE. Guages, dash lights.

Stock AM Radio replaced with Chrome AM/FM radio, still looks good. (kept old radio just in case!)

Replaced front shocks, need to figure out the rear leaf springs. Car sags a little in the rear.

Chrome reversed baby moons, on car when I bought it.

The whole car costs me $2000.00! (before the above mentioned repairs / additions)

General Comments:

Great car overall. Rides like a Cadillac!

Floats a bit because of rear suspension.

Overall fun car to drive. Gets looks every time I take it out.

Great paint and great sound from the dual exhaust.

Slow to handle, must think ahead with this car. Turning takes about a full turn of the steering wheel!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

8th Dec 2003, 19:52

I also have a 63. Try flipping the leaf springs. This may give you the inch or two you need. If that doesn't work try coil over shocks. Expensive, but worth it! Stay away from air shocks! Poor ride/handling.

10th Apr 2004, 00:16

I've also got a '63 (the boxtop, hardtop model with no B-pillar... hard to find), and I love it. I completely agree with all that you say... it rides just like a Caddy! It's got some problems (very very questionable electrical system... a lot of the systems get just + from the generator, and then ground out through the dashboard), the turn signals don't work when it's cold, the shifter squeaks... but she's been sitting around for a LONG time. It's got 10,300 miles on the original motor (a 390... great for scaring people with 4-bangers, but not too easy on the wallet at the gas pump) and has been allowed to deteriorate a bit. The bumpers are rusty, the suspension on the left side sags, I had to rewire everything, but it's all worth it. She's got some pretty big chips in the paint and rust on the bumpers, and I still get stares when I'm driving around town... I think I'm rambling now, it just gets me so excited to talk about my '63 :P.

10th Jul 2005, 11:05

"I don't know where I would be able to find any more of these clips."

Try www.dearbornclassics.com

3rd Oct 2006, 14:25

Regarding the sag in the back (no--the car shouldn't normally look like that) --one of the folks above got it right: have the rear leaf springs re-arched. It's really not that expensive. Just reversing them, or using coil-over shocks, or even worse: big-long shackles is pretty trashy. You'll also get a much better ride doing it right. Springs done right and decent shocks help against the floaty feeling. Also--most parts are available from vendors for these big cars--Dearborn Classics, Greg Donahue, etc...

I've had my 63 1/2 for 19 years--still a great car!

20th Apr 2009, 13:51

I found a great site that has mono leaf springs for all models.

www.monoleafsprings.com

6th Aug 2009, 14:01

I own a powder blue, 63 1/2, 2 door, hardtop Galaxy that just got a new 352 block in it. I've had it for about 5 years and I don't much about it, but I've always wanted to repair it. I continuously have overheating problems with it and it often doesn't turn over when I start it. Power steering is leaking and the gear is a bit loose. Are there any books, or ways I can help and are easy on the pocket? Somebody drop me some knowledge please. Thanks.

1963 Ford Galaxie 390 from North America

Year of manufacture1963
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 390 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

A very good car for what I paid for it

Faults:

Exhaust leak.

Radiator leak.

Master cylinder.

Brake lines.

Heater core.

General Comments:

A very good car for what I paid for it.

It rides like a BMW.

I do not think there would be much hope for me in crash because of the hard dash, no shoulder belts, and no air bags.

The car likes to eat gas (10 MPG).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2001

22nd Apr 2001, 07:27

You will be safe, 'cause of the weight. I don't want to drive a new muhatsubizuki with eight airbags into it...

/Matt.

22nd Aug 2001, 14:50

You might get banged up a little in a crash, but you'll still have a car afterwards. My brother totaled a new Taurus with my 64 Galaxy and all he had to replace was the bumper, two headlights and a little fender and hood work.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews