1992 Ford Granada Reviews

1992 Ford Granada scorpio 2.9i V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9i V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

A high performance, ultimately luxury cruiser

Faults:

Gearbox plays up when cold, I don't know why it possibly needs reconditioned.

Steering wheel leather has separated from wheel probably because of the mileage although I think it a bit early.

Sunroof motor doesn't open sunroof either way, but I can here the motor working.

Boot lock sticks.

General Comments:

Theres only one word for this car FANTASTIC Ford went all out when they made this one.

An astonishing luxury cruiser that has all the power to make little boy racer wet himself.

Very little less power then a 2wd cosworth, but twice as luxurious and in my opinion better looking.

Mine has a set of 17s and twin chrome exhausts which makes it look the part and keeps the racing offers coming (but I'm always sensible and refuse)

One of the most comfortable cars I've ever sat in and has more toys than Bill Gates back shed.

Completely amazing and I would recommend this car to anyone even the queen.

A big pity Ford took cold feet in the large car market (just because some tasteless people didn't like the beautiful mk4 Scorpio)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2003

2nd Dec 2003, 04:24

Well I'm one of those tasteless people then because I think that the mk4 Scorpio was ugly. and it only has 140/190hp that 2.9i engine.

3rd Dec 2003, 07:35

The 24V Cosworth in the mark 3 is 195BHP in the newer mark 4 it is over 200. This is a big increase on the 2.9 12v Cologne engine which can only manage 145-150BHP depending on the ECU version.

11th Feb 2004, 15:07

My buddy has a heavily modded 24v Cosworth Granada-J reg I think-with, and I kid you not,515 BHP at the crank!!!

29th Apr 2004, 08:10

I agree that the 2.9 Cosworth (24v) engine was somewhat detuned, but without VERY serious mods, (usually air intake, engine management, twin turbos, cams, conrods, crank, etc) you won't get more than 400BHP, even at the crank.

I have seen a couple with around 330BHP, but these were twin turbo mods with Emerald engine management.

I would like more info on the mods, as I have an option on a 24v engine at present.

22nd Apr 2012, 09:31

What did he do to modify it? Mine's a 1992, and with standard tuning and stainless exhaust system, I'm pushing 240 bhp, with a top end of 140.

1992 Ford Granada Ghia 2.9 Injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 Injection Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A luxurious under-rated bargain

Faults:

Brake Disks (140000) - Just worn!

Near Side front Wheel bearing 140000.

Front Brake caliper at 176000.

Half Exhaust 198000.

The dashboard lights have a mind of their own no matter how many times I change them they just seem to light up when they feel like it!!

My only criticism of this car is the appearance of the dashboard - too much plastic. Otherwise, build quality is excellent.

General Comments:

Excellent value for money. I paid £1500 and have done over 100000 miles.

Body work is excellent without much attention.

Apart from heavy fuel usage, the car was extremely cheap on parts.

It NEVER let me down. The most reliable car I have ever owned. It's a pity Ford still don't make a car with this build quality. A much maligned car, I am currently looking for a newer model.

With 204000 the engine is still oil and water tight. I have never had to top up the cooling system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

1992 Ford Granada Scorpio 2.9 24valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 24valve Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

A much under rated car which I would certainly buy again

Faults:

The sunroof rack has failed, so the sunroof currently does not open.

The driver's door window track has come loose at the bottom causing the window to not quite shut correctly.

General Comments:

This is the third Granada I have owned since 1984 and the quickest.

It covers the miles quickly and comfortably either as the driver or the passenger.

Also it is a very competent tow car with my medium sized, but old caravan and never knows about the occasional sailing dinghy it tows.

Compared against the 1985 Granada Scorpio 2.8 I also own (229000 miles on the clock) it is a far more powerful car, but the petrol economy is about the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2003

23rd Apr 2003, 03:15

Agree with everything you say. Granada's are simply amazing cars. I've just got myself a 24v Cosworth!! My previous one was a 2.0 DOHC with 210,000 miles on the clock and was still going strong when I had to sell to make way way for this super-barge!!

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews