1999 Ford KA 1 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap and a good laugh to drive

Faults:

Nought so far (other than a puncture).

General Comments:

Previous cars were a Vauxhall Corsa followed by an Astra. The Corsa had a few minor problems which were easily and cheaply fixed. The Astra was over 7 years old when I bought it, and other than a bit of cash spent on initial repairs, never cost me a bean in the rest of the time I had it (1 year). Was over 8 years old when I sold it, and only sold it because I felt it was getting to the age when problems might start arising.

Bought a Ka because I like British cars, and needed something reliable and SLOW (clocked up a few penalty points in the Astra). Had driven hire Ka's before, and was impressed at how something that looked so crap was actually such fun.

Performance is not earth shattering, but what do you expect from a 1.3. The car is a pleasure to drive - performance is OK, handles nicely, and the driving position is excellent for someone like me (6'3") who cannot get comfortable in most small cars. It feels like you are driving something bigger than it is.

Only gripe is that the power steering is too light, so I am contemplating disconnecting it (have driven both power and non-powered cars before) if I can't get used to it.

Nothing has gone wrong with it so far. Being a Ford, I expect the odd minor niggle will arise from time to time, but it should be easy and cheap to fix.

Why waste money on Ka 2's or 3's? At this end of the market, do you really need 'leccy windows and central locking?

It'll take a good car to match the cheapness and reliability of my Astra, but so far, I've got no complaints. The car's cheap to buy, cheap to run, comfortable, and does everything I need.

Watch what you buy though, as there are a few ex-rentals, or ex-learners masquerading on the dealer's forecourts as tidy one-owners. Mine is an ex-rental, but was in the right condition with no accident damage (other than a scratched bonnet that was sorted when I bought it).

Buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

1999 Ford KA 3 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A car that is as great round town as it is on the motorway

Faults:

No faults with the car in the 20 months that I have owned it.

General Comments:

I got my Ka3 because I was taken by the shape of it and the fact that it was more comfortable than the Fiesta that I recently had. I have covered nearly 16,000 trouble free miles and can honestly say that I'd have another Ka tomorrow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2000

1999 Ford KA 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great reliable city car

Faults:

Small problem with air conditioning pipe, fixed by the dealer fairly quickly.

General Comments:

A good looking funky car that is reliable, economical and fun to drive especially around town.

If you don't need a car that is a huge power machine and don't mind the fairly small boot, you should consider the Ford Ka.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

6th Jan 2001, 06:09

My sister has a Ford Ka Collection in Citrus Gold. Looks great (except for that weird 'granny knot' back end design), but is spoilt by the fragile plastic wheel covers and the CD player that won't play CD-R discs.

(Why the hell does she call it 'Suzy'? I'll never, ever know).

1999 Ford KA 2 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

If you're under 21 this should be your first car

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

If you're after your first car then get a Ka. They are cheap and very easy to drive. The best small car I have driven, tears the Corsa, Clio, 106 and Saxo apart.

The only bad thing is that people think it's a birds car, well hey it's not OK!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2000

1999 Ford KA Collection 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A perfect little runaround

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this baby, the best car I have ever had by a long shot.

General Comments:

Great little city car. It is very comfortable and spacious which is surprising for a car of its size. It's very economical on petrol and I don't think I will be changing my car for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

1999 Ford KA 3 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A surprisingly fun and attractive little car

Faults:

Apart from a three month wait for one painted "Panther Black", nothing so far.

General Comments:

My wife chose this car after the MG failed its MOT. I wasn't too keen to begin with but have been pleasantly surprised by its performance and comfort and now she doesn't often get a chance to drive it herself. The MPG is not as good as expected although still reasonable and, when on, the aircon makes a significant difference to the performance. Don't try to get a suitcase in the boot.

A great little car overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2000

1999 Ford KA 1 1.3 SEFi from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Nothing yet!

General Comments:

I've had the car 3 months, and it is great. Petrol consumption around town is a bit crap, but that is due to short trips. Performance is a bit naff after 70mph on the motorway. Other than that, excellent, would buy another straight away. Hey Ford, how about a nice Ka ST120.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2000

1999 Ford KA 1 1.3i petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

A fun, nippy little car. Good acceleration and reasonable top speed (100-105 so far).

Quite spacious despite looking compact.

Petrol consumption is working out at about 45 mpg.

The only downer is that the Ka 1 has a naff stereo so I had to upgrade to a better model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 1999

1999 Ford KA 1 with dealer body kit 1.3i petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

The car is a babe magnet, as the body kit lowers it, adds spoilers, adds alloys and makes it look so sexy. The best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 1999