2004 Ford Ka Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Ford Ka Sport 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance4600 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Want my beetle back

General Comments:

Imperial Blue Sport KA - must be a bad colour. 5 months old been back to the garage 3 times with engine warning light on.

Final straw today when I went through a car wash and the spoiler was ripped off damaging the paintwork at the same time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2005

14th Mar 2005, 16:14

Is it the Ka's fault that its roof spoiler ripped off???

NO.

Its the Car washes fault. aerials spoilers etc get ripped off all the time in car washes.

And anyways, every1 know's you shouldn't put yer car in a car wash cos it sratches the paintwork. I certainly wouldn't do it, if I had a shiny new Ka with metallic paint.

19th Apr 2005, 05:42

Agree with the comment above. There are disclaimers all over car washes saying that body kits, spoilers and such like are liable to damage. Did you not read them?

Besides which, the best way to destroy a nice paint finish is to use these horrible things. They retain all the grit and crap from the previous car (s) in the brushes which then puts tiny scratches in the lacquer, ruining the shine of the paintwork.

I hope you didn't pay for this car yourself.

2004 Ford Ka 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Rover Metro Sport

Summary:

A right fast little machine

Faults:

Nothing major:

Abit of paint is coming off where the CD player is, but that can be fixed with a little paint from Halfords.

A bit of a mark on the handbrake when I got it.

General Comments:

This car is fanatic, yes it's an improvement from having a Rover Metro, but I'm interested in getting the SportKA.

Starts no problems, heats up inside very quick, very fast off the line.

Not too keen on the seats though, luckily I only drive to work, but the seats are bad on my back.

Fuel consumption is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

12th Jan 2005, 08:40

Interesting comment about the seats being bad on your back. My father has a KA which I drive from time to time and may be taking over. It is great fun to drive and although basic, I think it is a great all round car apart from the seats which I find very uncomfortable.

If I take over the car I will replace the drivers seat with a Recaro.

18th Apr 2005, 09:53

I have a ford ka 3 door hatchback, the colour is blue metallic it is a smart little car I use it to go to college. Up to now there is nothing wrong with it, I am so made up with it.

It has great power steering, alloy wheels and is fitted with a CD player. It also has not long had a alarm fitted in it. I like my ford ka and would not swap it for anything.

24th Oct 2005, 00:20

I can't drive a vauxhall for all the money in the world.. kills my back..After ten minutes.. but I have driven the KA down to Malta and slept and sat in the drivers seat for two days and got out as if I just got in... Fantastic seats and my girlfriend thinks so too, while being sat in the passengers seat.. I am 190lbs (90Kgs) and I am a man.. The seats are about shape and size nothing more and nothing less and apply to all cars.. If they don't fit you (like clothes) then you won't like them.. For me they are the best I ever had.

2004 Ford Ka 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1800 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Great town car, but could be better built

Faults:

The car sctatches very quickly and had some statchs to the interior paint when new.

The gear box is noisy.

The clutch thrust bearing is very noisy.

General Comments:

The car drives well and was cheap to buy new, but the quality is not great and there is far to much painted area in side the car, The car covers miles with out problems.

The exterior is red, but the interior is blue.

It is hard to keep the large plastic bumpers looking fresh.

For the money it is not a bad car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2004

2004 Ford Ka Collection 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A Superb small car

Faults:

Two leaking rear windows.

Faulty CD Player, likes to take in Cd's, but doesn't give them back.

Bad condensation in the headlights.

Being rectified under warranty.

General Comments:

Excellent cabin build quality.

Spacious cabin, legroom is not a problem.

Cabin seats are supportive and comfortable.

The car is excellent on the motorway, 70 mph is not a problem for the car.

Boot is relatively small, but can hold a full load of shopping.

Car grips the road and the handling is excellent.

Air Conditioning is a must as the windows steam up quickly.

The dashboard is much more attractive than the Fiesta range.

Overall a superb small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 10 reviews