1992 Ford Laser Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Ford Laser GL 1.6 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired233102 kilometres
Most recent distance243505 kilometres

Summary:

Could be better

Faults:

Well some dogs have their day, and some don't... but this car's life is one long happy day :)

I haven't seen any major faults with this car of mine. The only problem I ever had, was the drive belt needing tightening.

General Comments:

One reason for these lack of problems, other than the good design of a great standard petrol sipper of a car, is it had a new engine/new clutch about 70,000 k's ago.

This car is awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2006

1992 Ford Laser GL 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance159000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Best car ever made

Faults:

The fan won't work, but that is getting looked at, but other than that this is the best car I have owned.

General Comments:

Buy one the r a cheap buzz box!!! sooo many modifacations you can do to it!!! cheap as on fuel too!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2005

22nd Oct 2007, 23:28

What mods can you do.

1992 Ford Laser GTX 1.8 DOHC turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Fords version of the Mazda 323 GTX

Faults:

Rear windscreen wiper does not work. CV joints need work. Thermostat jammed.

General Comments:

Great performance car that goes even better with a few easy modifications. Air filter and a large exhaust take the boost up to around 13-14 PSI. Any more than 15 PSI and it will cut out. Great handling car with All Wheel Drive. Tops out at 180 Kph as it is a Japanese import. Hard to Launch properly without blowing clutches and gearbox's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th December, 2002

17th Jul 2005, 09:28

Great read!

I currently drive a stock 86 KC Laser TX3, and wondering if someone knows where I can get the Mazda 4wd version??? Please let me know!!

Derick

derickmeiring@yahoo.com.au.

Cheers!

1992 Ford Laser GL 1.6 injected, petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 injected, petrol Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 kilometres
Most recent distance153000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Nice to look at, and that's about all

Faults:

Smell of petrol whenever the vehicle is started.

General Comments:

I have only owned this car for two weeks and I can't wait to sell it on. It's expensive to run and has poor performance being a 3sp Automatic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

27th Aug 2002, 19:59

Hi,

I have owned a 1992 Ford Laser, 5 speed manual hatchback for over three years now.

It has done about 220,000 kilometers and I have never had any problems with it.

31st Oct 2008, 13:10

Look to the right of your engine, you'll see a black filter thingy, dunno what it is, right at the back of it. You have to look hard, you'll see a black fuel line with 1 white stripe running down it for about 15cm, before coming to a 3 way pipe thing. Hook that back up, I'll guarantee that, I previously worked at Ford. It was a.. common though not so common, if you know what I'm saying.

1992 Ford Laser KE 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 kilometres
Most recent distance132000 kilometres

Summary:

A good sized first car

Faults:

No major faults so far, it's performed really well. Only regular things like belts, and fluids.

General Comments:

It's pretty gutless, but it does the job of getting around!

I'm in the process of getting a nice sound system, just put it on lay by for $2300.

It's a little cramped, but a nice sized first car, oh it's a station wagon by the way!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

21st Sep 2005, 22:10

Hi.

I also own a laser, 1992 hatch to be exact, OK it's my first car and I love it, but am now wanting to place a TX3 engine in the donk cause after a year I feel that the car needs a bit of a power upgrade.

If you have any suggestions about anything else I could do to my lovely little car your welcome to call me on

0404 549 664.

7th Jul 2009, 04:21

I have had mine up around the 250 kmph (stock) comfortably at about 3000 revs. Not sure if it's been tested in a wind tunnel, but it handles like a F18 Hornet, and stops on a penny. Engine temperature was very consistent, which was unexpected for such a powerhouse of the exotic racing sub class.

With more torque and European styling than Demir Dokic, I would recommend this wagon for anyone with a thirst for unbridled performance. Fat wallet required.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 9 reviews