1974 Ford Maverick Review

1974 Ford Maverick Grabber 302 from North America

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 302 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Fast, reliable and fun

Faults:

Alternator- hey, it's 26 years old.

Emissions stuff (now gone).

Suspension squeaks.

General Comments:

Great car, a blast to drive, I have a 351w on the way for it, should prove interesting.

Larger back tires help the car more than you would believe. 275-60-15 will fit (barely).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2000

3rd Nov 2001, 01:28

Mavericks rock! I've got a 1977 2 door Maverick.

13th Mar 2003, 18:57

I have 2 mavericks a 77&74 77 has a 60 over 302 the 74 is waiting on a 347 stroker I'm going to have me some fun.

2nd Apr 2006, 18:17

My first car was a 1974 Maverick 4-door sedan with a 250 ci six and an automatic. It ran great for me until its timing chain went, and at the time, I couldn't afford to repair it. It was still a very well-made car that was great on gas.

20th Dec 2006, 15:12

I'm not a big fan of Mavericks, but I am a big fan of sleepers. It seems to me that a '74 Maverick Grabber would make a very good sleeper car that could be unleashed on unsuspecting rivals.

1st Feb 2009, 12:57

I had a 1970 Grabber that came stock with a 6cid 250 when I was 16. It was O.K., but it needed something. My first shot was to overhaul it and modify bore .60 over, 3/4 racing cam and dome pistons reinforced valve spring... Oh I almost forgot I planed the intake and put a Tri-power system with 3 2barrel carburetors manual linkage and put a stall speed in the Trans 2000rpm. As you could guess, if you have ever had a car with a 6cid, they are torque under 40mph but top out because of valve problem drove it and race it (Bremerton, WA Speedway) for about 3 years.

Got tired of the valve problem so replaced the 250 with a 351w with twin turbos (not turbo mufflers). Didn't have to modify the engine compartment, but changing spark plugs was an all day event...

My next is a fuel injected 460 bored to a 514 and c-6 auto 2000 stall speed, I have to modify the engine compartment to make it fit and trans cowling inside the maverick. Shock tower cut and shortened and reinforced frame. It is cheaper than doing a 67 fastback Mustang. Mavericks are making a come back and are easier to find than others.

Lloyd.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 1 review