1993 Ford Mondeo GLX 1.8 TD from UK and Ireland


Reliable, economical and comfortable


Bottom brace on the radiator snapped causing the radiator to drop in the middle by about 4", to my amazement it still didn't leak. A new radiator cost £120 and the skin off 3 knuckles when I tried to fit it!

Speedo cable snapped and cost about £40 to replace. An awkward job and I would recommend the main dealers to replace it for you.

Diesel pump seal perished causing slight leak £164 inclusive of new cam and power steering belts.

Front and rear suspension bushes are worn and causing the odd rattle, I've been quoted around £450 to replace! (i thought he was my friend)

The clutch is getting slightly heavy, but then again its done almost 90000miles.

General Comments:

I was going to say this was a cheap car to own,then I started writing this review!!

In all honesty I have been very impressed with this car and I'm considering buying a newer version.

Over the years this car has been slagged off by the motoring press, but I've yet to understand how you can test drive a Ferrari or Merc today and then give an honest review of the humble Mondeo TD tommorow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2002

13th Dec 2007, 12:48

The motoring press are completely out of touch with ordinary people and what they want from a car. Most people aren't interested in speed and glamour; they see a vehicle as simply a mode of transport to get from A to B as cheaply and reliably as possible.

1993 Ford Mondeo Ghia 2.0 Gas from Germany


Great used car -- don't buy new!


All of my problems started happening around 145,000 KM.

Exhaust rusted at 135,000 KM and needed replacing.

Leather seats cracking (since I have had the car).

Stereo died (155,000 KM).

Windows are VERY slow rolling up (135,000 KM).

Brakes and tires wear out extremely quickly (of course, that may partially be my fault :) ).

General Comments:

The car was lowered by the previous owner. For a heavy car, it handles very well -- superb on the autobahn.

On the autobahn, I cruise at around 180 KPH (108 MPH) without a problem.

Passing ability is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

1993 Ford Mondeo Si 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Good performing family car


Faulty starter motor lead.

General Comments:

This car has good performance and handles very well. I have made various modifications to this car and it just gets better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

1993 Ford Mondeo GLX 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Good all round family car


When I bought the car the dealer had to reluctantly replace a rattly catalyst and the temperature gauge was not working.

After that, all I have had to replace was a broken speedo cable and 4 tyres.

General Comments:

A very solid car, a strong willing engine that seems almost bulletproof but needs to be stirred a little to get the maximum out of it.

Handle's the road pretty well.

Ample leg room in the front and back, only complaint about the cabin is, the passenger seat adjustment lever is set too high, it gets quite uncomfortable under your right leg.

A few rattles are now appearing from the rear parcel shelf area and from the rev counter. I have also got an annoying rattle from the clutch/gearbox area when the car is labouring, my suspicions are the clutch release bearing, if anyone can comment on this please do.

This is the most reliable car I have ever bought, starts first time every time no matter what the weather, I just hope it pleases me at the MOT next month!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

1993 Ford Mondeo GLX 1.8 16v turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


A very poor example of a reputable fleet car by Ford


The car has been a bad runner, excessive exhaust smoke, low performance and high fuel consumption.

Parts replaced to try and rectify the problems.

Cold start valve replaced.

Pump overhauled.

Airflow meter.

Filters changed.

Injectors changed.

All these were replaced with no success ending with the car not being able to start, when eventually started the max speed was 10 mph.

General Comments:

The car in general, was comfortable and well shod, no visible rust and the brakes were very good, but a friend of mine commented "that he has seen less smoke coming off a PECKETT 0-6-0 TANK LOCOMOTIVE".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2000

30th Dec 2000, 21:51

I don't believe your view is representative of the GLX or gives a fair assessment. I had one that did 132K miles and is still going strong.


26th Aug 2004, 15:52

That car sounds really cool I wish I had a car that smoked like a train. you could probably do some mod to the exhaust to light up the smoke with blue LED's or something, then you could take it to shows.