2005 Ford Mondeo ST220 3.0 V6 Duratec from United Arab Emirates

Summary:

Great family car, but loads of fun when you're on your own

Faults:

New clutch fitted at 45000km.

New front brake pads fitted and discs skimmed at 60000km.

New rear brake pads fitted and discs skimmed at 70000km.

General Comments:

I always wanted an ST220 in the UK, but couldn't afford it, but then I moved to Dubai and found they cost nearly half the price, and bought one straight away, and with the price of petrol being so cheap, I don't mind planting my right foot down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2008

22nd Sep 2008, 13:16

If this one is Blue, then I know you're selling it =P And I'll come see it sometime this week. Great car.

2005 Ford Mondeo Zetec S 2.0 TDCI turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Sporty looks with diesel power

Faults:

It blew a hole in a turbo boost hose 6 days after purchase. This is due to oil in the pipework which eventually rots the rubber and makes it weak. Common on Mondeos and Transits with this engine. 10 minutes to fix.

Nothing else to report.

General Comments:

After owning a Mazda 6, the Mondeo does not feel as good to drive or as well built; the handling on the Mazda was first class.

However the Mazda was petrol and the Mondeo is diesel, so is obviously much better on fuel, but not as good as some of the other claims on here ie 34 round town. I must admit I do drive my cars hard though.

The Mondeo does look good with the 18 inch wheels and body kit. Its company owner has looked after it well and it would pass for 50000 when clean; the interior is like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2008

8th Jul 2008, 08:37

Just passed its first mot at 110000 with no faults, is now averaging 36-39 round town, now winter is over. This is with a plug and play chip turned up to maximum.

4th Mar 2009, 16:59

Now on 117500 miles, still drives the same as when I got it, no money spent apart from a service at 115000.

2nd Dec 2009, 16:53

Car now on 125000, still refuses to give any problems, although I've put a fanbelt and tensioner on and another turbo hose. None of these items stopped it from being used.

5th Aug 2010, 18:07

The car was sold in April 2010 with 128000 on the clock. Though the dual mass flywheel was rattling and the handbrake cables were beginning to seize, the engine was still running like new.

2005 Ford Mondeo TDI 2.00 disel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

OK

Faults:

Both sets of rubber grommets in rear susepension had to be replaced at 100,000 which is common.

Between the windscreen and roof on most cars is a rubber seal, this seals windsreen and provides some protection. In my case stones have chipped the paint and caused bubbling. Ford know about this, but have not changed the design.

General Comments:

Compared to previous VW.

Service from garage is not as a good and the car is no where near as good on MPG.

It also only comes with one key to get another is very expensive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th January, 2008

2005 Ford Mondeo Titanium X 2.2 TDCi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Very practical with a nice bit of performance

Faults:

Had to replace the glove box lock.

Fuel problem at 1500rpm.

Started pulling to the left, and wearing the tyres unevenly.

General Comments:

I bought this car for space, and space is what I got, with a few things thrown in for good measure.

The interior of the car is great; not the most modern now, but better than most with its titanium inserts on the dashboard and doors.

The exterior is nice also, with chrome front top and bottom grills, and nice ST fog lights.

The best part about the car for me (second to the space) is the performance of the 2.2 TDCi engine.

The car has a six speed gearbox that goes with the engine nicely. In sixth gear the torque is huge. The torque is limited in the lower gears till you get to 4th and the full whack is available.

The only thing is that the turbo kicks in at 1800rpm, and then the power fades at 3500-3800rpm, but as long as you shift around the gearbox, you will be fine.

Safety wise it's got all the airbags, front, passenger, sides and curtain, pretensioning seat belts, ABS.

Great car, but loses value quick, so buy nearly new and enjoy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2007