2010 Ford Mondeo LX from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

Major repairs:

171,500 km - Power steering fail, water pump - $730.

193,000 km - Fuel pump, battery - $1470.

210,000 km - Coolant leak - $550

General Comments:

Probably my fault for trusting a dealer - purchased for $8k because it was a great deal; now I know why it was a great deal.

The car ran well until about 160,000 km, then every 2 months it was in the shop, getting serviced or some other repairs; to be fair a few times were for cosmetic repairs and cracked windscreens.

Once it got to about 190,000 km, it was the most unreliable junk heap ever and spent just as much time at the mechanics as it did at home. I had to quit my job because of its unreliability, and all the money I saved in the past 2 years has gone into it for some expense.

Owned for 2.5 years, and it went from $8k value, to me selling it to a scrap yard for $1k. Spent about $6k on repairs and maintenance in that time.

Would recommend not buying above 100,000 km and selling before 175,000 km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th July, 2017

4th Jul 2017, 21:44

Sounds like you paid a bit too much for repairs. You should consider a cheaper garage.

Also to be fair, the problems you mentioned I would say come under wear and tear at the mileage stated.

Had a few Mondeos myself, mostly 1990s and early 2000s models; generally they were reliable cars for me with no major issues.

5th Jul 2017, 06:18

For starters, $8K for a car of that age with less than 100,000 km IS a bargain. You've driven 59,000 km/year for two years, and wonder why the car - which already had 100,000 km (near on 60K miles) has needed those repairs?

23rd Oct 2017, 04:17

I find it difficult to believe that you do not understand mechanical things wear out. At 190000 km, what do you expect? It was a well used vehicle when you first bought it. If you want maintenance free transport, go and buy a bicycle.

23rd Oct 2017, 08:11

Even if he had a bicycle, he'd still have to change the brake cables, get new tyres, oil the chain, etc :D

2010 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 TDCi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

If you're looking at getting one, then go for it

Faults:

When I first acquired it at 56000 miles, within 1000 miles the engine management unit failed, but as it was still within the 60k warranty, Ford changed it (3K).

General Comments:

Up to now I have done another 56000 miles in 4 years and it has been completely trouble free. I have replaced the brakes with aftermarket uprated discs and pads which last longer.

It has just gone through its 3rd MOT without any issues. Even the emissions were low. I think the service intervals are 12.5k, but I have been doing them at 10k since 100k. I have been alternating the minor and major services since then. I don't thrash it, but I do a lot of mixed mileage.

Interior is still looking good for being 6 years old now...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2016

2010 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 TDCi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Big improvement on the mk3

Faults:

The DPF filter triggered the engine light, as it needs to do a regen every 3-400 miles, and the car is mainly used round town, so it needs a thrash every now and then.

General Comments:

Having owned an 05 plate TDCi 130 for 2 years, I have to say this new model is much nicer to drive, and the seats are more comfortable.

It is better on fuel, and they are supposed to have less reliability issues with injectors and turbos, which seem to plague the old shape. The brakes are also a big improvement, as they were terrible on the old one.

The official fuel figures of 44 urban and 61 extra urban are not going to happen; more like 38 and 50.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2011

14th Aug 2011, 06:51

Having just covered 562 miles, half motorway, half urban, it's averaged 41.5 mpg. That's OK, but 12 mpg shy of Ford's combined figure of 53.3 mpg. There doesn't seem to be much difference between urban and motorway driving, something I experienced with a Galaxy I had with this particular engine.

4th Oct 2011, 11:08

The car's fuel economy continues to be the downfall; the latest tankful has returned a mere 36mpg, though this is all urban.

11th Mar 2013, 05:24

I have recently taken delivery of one of these cars, and after owning a VW Passat 1.9 TDI 130 for close on 5 years, I am very impressed with the vehicle.

Fuel economy is a big improvement on the VW, averaging 53 MPG, and it is much nicer to drive.

The VW cost me a fortune in repairs, and I am hoping for a better time with my new purchase.