1987 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1987 Ford Mustang GT Convertible 5.0 SOHO from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 SOHO Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carNone None

Summary:

Fast, that's about it

Faults:

Timing belt failure.

Transmission died.

Oxygen sensor failure.

General Comments:

I will not buy this car again. Sure it has speed, that's about it. This car is for someone who wants pure speed at a low price. This car allows the average Joe, to own a fast car, and feel powerful.

All bragging rights, nothing more. No space, all lightweight, it might be able to outrun some of the more expensive cars out there, however keep in mind those expensive cars have much better designs, and can balance the car out properly.

I won't buy a Ford again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2001

22nd Jan 2002, 11:01

What do you expect from a car that is 10 years old and has 123,000 miles, which now has 167,000 miles. This is a real testament to Ford engineers and production.

6th Sep 2004, 14:07

Just curious... You mentioned that the timing belt failed. Unless I'm missing something here, this car should have had the 5.0 V-8 which would not have had a timing belt. (Only the 2.3 4 cylinders had a timing belt...) Was the car a true GT?

1987 Ford Mustang LX 5.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

FAST! but that's about it

Faults:

Regular failures, as expected with age.. Timing belt, sensor, etc...

The paint is getting bad.

General Comments:

This car is very fast, and it will give you bragging rights. However it is not the most comfortable car out there with virtually no trunkspace, and not much leg room. I am selling the car, I now believe some things are more important than speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

12th Jun 2001, 23:09

You must have gotten married, huh?

29th Aug 2001, 14:24

Haha.

I've owned this car, I'm not the original poster, but that's a pretty dumb comment. "Must have gotten married huh?"

He only stated the truth, this car was made for speed, and extremely cut corners so it would be affordable for the average Joe. If you want the best of both worlds go buy an Acura NSX, Mercedes, BMW, Viper, or Corvette.

Those cars cost more but that's because they have not cut corners, they have good designs.

20th Jan 2010, 16:26

This is the second guy that says they have a 5.0 and a timing belt. There is only a timing belt in a 2.3 4 cyl., a 5.0 302 has a timing chain. Two completely different worlds. Everyone knows there is no better engine than a 5.0 302 Ford ;-)

1987 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 kilometres
Most recent distance121000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Go get one, you won't be disappointed

Faults:

The throttle position sensor went on it, which caused hesitation and poor performance. But that is it.

General Comments:

I love Mustangs, and I love my car. I have done lots of work to it, it looks great, handles great, performs great, and sounds freakin awesome. Turns a lot of heads, usually because people hear it first, and they wanna know what's making all that noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 19 reviews