1991 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1991 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 High Output V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 High Output V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

An Intreguing Incentive

Faults:

The Spark Plugs and Wires needed to be replaced, only due too bad installation though.

I needed a new battery after only 2 weeks, but that is also a reluctant fault.

Minor rust showed though very soon after my first winter, but it wasn't horrible for a 10 year old car.

General Comments:

This is for anyone reading up on their sports cars. Believe me, I've been there---done that with every aspect of an automobile. This is a great prize of American Muscle for any car enthusiast. Performance is second to none, acceleration (with minor upgrades) is worthy to play with the big boys. If you like cars just for a past-time, or you're sending it straight to the track, this car is ideal. I threw 15,000 dollars into my Mustang, and would do it again in 1/10 of a second. I never regretted racing a Ford, so don't be fooled. A Fox Body Mustang is and always will be King of the Road. If you want a real car, go with my advice, get a 'Stang. If you want problems and tugboat like acceleration, get an import or a Chevy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

3rd Sep 2009, 14:00

First of all the post is dated 2002. Second in NO WAY will a stock Chevy truck with a 305 "destroy" any 5.0 Mustang. Please... you have LESS POWER with MORE WEIGHT. Simple physics would tell you this is not a probable competitor for the Mustang. Your bro is just trying to make you feel good about driving around a slow truck or he just doesn't have any clue how to drive a stick. I'd love to race you for pink slips so I can have a nice winter beater truck to drive while the Mustang stays warm and dry!

0-60 is 6.2 seconds stock on the Mustang. From researching it the Chevy looks to be in the mid 8 seconds to low 9 seconds range stock with the 220 hp 305. Yeah, you're "destroying" Mustangs!!

If I put $15K into my 302, you wouldn't beat it with a Vette, never mind a truck with a 305 in it. Give me a break. This post is almost as hilarious as the Cavalier Z-24 guys that claim to beat 5.0 Mustangs!

1991 Ford Mustang GT 302 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 302 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Lot's of fun, and looks awesome

Faults:

The water pump was bad when I bought it.

The radiator leaks some (the car was in a minor accident before I got it, so this is understandable).

General Comments:

Definitely fast, good looking, and easy to build up.

If you want a car that's cheap, yet still fast and mostly reliable, then a Mustang is the way to go. The thing to remember is that if you buy one of these now, it's still old, probably traded hands several times, and will probably need to be fixed up depending on how well it was cared for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2001

1991 Ford Mustang LX 2.3 L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

A great loveable car

Faults:

The alternator caught fire on my car, had to replace that.

When I got the car someone rubbed up against something with the car, the driver's side is messed up a little.

General Comments:

This car is the bomb.

It gets great mileage - 24 miles to the gallon.

I love this car to death.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2001

1991 Ford Mustang LX Hatchback 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Fun, but requires maintenance

Faults:

Replaced transmission @ 110,000 miles.

Eeplaced starter @ 75,000 miles

Timing belt broke & damaged a couple of sensors that had to be replaced.

The outside door handles have broken multiple times! I have to replace at least one handle about once a year.

Miscellaneous repairs & replacements for brakes, battery, tires, etc.

General Comments:

Fun to drive car, but the maintenance record is not very good. Most major repair was to replace the transmission at a cost of about $1300.

Also has a bad design of the outside door handles (plastic) that causes them to break regularly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

1991 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 High Output V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 High Output V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Great overall package, price, performance and driveability

Faults:

Thermostat.

Alternator (twice).

EGR sending unit.

All cheap repairs for a car with 100K.

General Comments:

The 5.0 liter is a great motor with excellent power (225 horsepower and 300 foot pounds of torque) in a car that weighs less than 3000 pounds.

Very few repairs were needed and it is very comfortable for the driver and front passenger.

The seat goes back far enough for tall drivers, (I'm 6 foot 2) and close enough for short drivers.

The only problem with the car is it's lack of traction and it goes through a set of tires every 30,000 miles. The handling is very good, it is easy to drive right on the edge and feels great through long curves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2000

1991 Ford Mustang LX Hatchback 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired113300 miles
Most recent distance113900 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

High performance at a great price

Faults:

When purchased it needed a new intake manifold gasket, recently it needed a new fuel pump.

General Comments:

It's my fun car and has only been driven a few hundred miles in the 2 years I've owned it. Even with the repairs it still hasn't stranded me and is far better built than any import I've had the misfortune to deal with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

1991 Ford Mustang LX Coupe 5.0L HO from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0L HO Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carFord F-150

Summary:

Amazing looks and performance all wrapped up into one awesome car

Faults:

Nothing major. Power door lock cylinders needed replacing and spring fell off ash tray door. Goes through tires rather quickly due to the fun you can have with 225 horsepower and 300 ft. lbs. of torque.

General Comments:

Car looks awesome. The performance of a 5.0L Mustang is incredible. The after market support is huge for these cars, pretty much anything you want for it you can get. I am very impressed overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 19 reviews