2003 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2003 Ford Mustang Base Coupe 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance2500 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Nice bang for the buck

Faults:

Vibration, clanking type noise from the engine at higher speeds and RPM.

General Comments:

I've only had this car for about three months, but I love it. It's just the base model, but has some add-ons like the pony package and the handling package. Performance is pretty good, though I wish the engine was a bit more efficient. It's a 3.8L, but only pumps out about 190hp which is middle of the road.

The car looks great though and definitely will turn heads. It's great value if you are budget conscious yet still want a sporty looking car that has enough power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

8th Sep 2004, 15:19

Nice review, you're right about the performance/looks for the money. You mentioned that the V6 only puts out 190 hp. While this is true, it also pulls 220 ft-lbs. of torque at a very low rpm. This makes it the most powerful engine by far for entry-level sport coupes.

17th May 2005, 13:13

The 1995-2002 3.8L V6 Camaros and Firebirds Put out 200 HP, 225 lb-ft of torque, had a better transmission, better rear-end, was more aerodynamic and was not prone to head gasket problems like the Ford 3.8L V6, so you tell me who had a better entry level sports car?

17th May 2005, 14:56

I agree with the above review. I'm not a Chevy guy by any means, but the Ford 3.8L V6 is junk! It has way too many problems. You'd be much better off getting the 4.6L V8. More reliable and way more fun!

2003 Ford Mustang GT Convertible 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

Lots of fun to drive!

Faults:

The passenger side windows were misaligned when I first got the car, which allowed for a tiny gap (about 1/4 of an inch) between the window and the seals. I took it back to the dealer and they fixed it immediately!

General Comments:

Coming from my 1989 MX-6, this is a huge difference in power. I love being able to pass cars easily and the ride is so much smoother, even with the harder suspension!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

2003 Ford Mustang GT Convertible 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance750 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

A Thoroughbred

Faults:

I just moved to Canada from the UK, the deal over here is the insurance is for any driver. I have two daughters one is 19 and drives, the other is 17 and learning to drive. The problem is I let the 19 year old have one go, BIG mistake, now she hounds me and wants to go in it again. Do I let her or not?

That is the only thing wrong with the car, everyone likes it and wants to drive it!

General Comments:

This is a beast, if you grew up in the UK this was the car you had dreams about, all I can say is my dreams are coming true!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

26th Oct 2003, 19:53

You grew up in the UK and had dreams about a Mustang GT??? Strange...

I think I'D dream about a nice Ferrari Enzo, or maybe a Lamborghini VTTT... or in the very least a Mustang COBRA.. cmon now...

14th Feb 2007, 23:56

I also grew in the UK for part of my life, I was seven when I moved. And yes we do dream of Mustangs, GT Cobra or whatever. You just don't see them out there, sure an Enzo is really cool, but a Mustang, now that's a show stopper!

2003 Ford Mustang Pony 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

A kick in the pants and then some

Faults:

Headliner replaced, huge gap in back, some wonderboy decided you needed to loosen the dash to unplug the dome light (battery anybody?) so now my dash squeeks and rattled so bad I have to stuff a credit card in it to make it bearable. Ford, could not reproduce this (ergo...customer idiot) The trim on the rear quarter window on the drivers side was crooked, supposedly replaced, but honestly it looks like they pushed it into place... (it will go back) The wonderboy also put the rubber strips in side out, all this was pointed out to the service manager, who fixed it while we spoke. I asked him about the issues of poor craftsmanship on interior pieces, and that's when I got 'oh its just a mustang". I have had to return to the service department twice on each thing fixed, each I feel were minor items. I pray to God I don't have major issues. I hear an occasional clunk when I first back up after shifting (auto) into reverse, and whoever designed the doors so that the rain came in right onthe seat... should be fired.

General Comments:

Don't get me wrong... I really love this car, its the service I'm fed up with. Its zippy, looks faster than it will ever go and makes heads turn. Its also easily customizable.

I'm over 6'2 and I fit, however the driver / dash/ tilt wheel positions lack a comfortable and visual position combined in one.

Pretty decent CD Mach SOundsystem, but needs an EQ.

Now if they would just stop pulling me over for my windows being too dark (grin)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2003

1st Apr 2003, 08:15

I have a 2002 Mustang and I have a lot of the same problems... I have to take my car into the dealership all the time. I am getting to the point where I just want to take my car back and get a different make and model. I love Mustangs that's why it is so hard for me to do that. I just do not like the way my windows squeak and make a really loud nasty sound, and in my trunk the rubber part is not put on right and it leeks, just recently My window started leaking also.

7th Oct 2008, 13:21

I own a 2002 Mustang V-6. I have 80,000 miles on mine and had no problems. Guess cause I don't drive it hard like most Mustang owners do. Don't drive so hard, be gentle, even though it's a Mustang.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 16 reviews