1987 Ford Orion Reviews

1987 Ford Orion Ghia 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Council estate limo - a sophisticated hooligan's car

Faults:

Core plug went and the car dumped all its coolant.

As it aged, the central locking proved unreliable - ended up playing central locking roulette, having to check what lock hadn't worked each time you secured the car - what is the point of central locking if you have to go round the car checking all the doors (and the boot) every time you lock up!!??

Rust - awful spearing rust in the door bottoms, floor pan and inner wings

Impossibly heavy unassisted steering.

General Comments:

Went well enough - roomy, but not really the BMW basher Ford fans would have you believe. My Dad had one a similar age at around the same time and kept it for longer than I did, and his just dissolved. And just for the doubters, Manchester is NOT by the sea - nor does it rain as often as people would have you believe - the rust protection was just awful. My wife's Fiesta of a similar age did the same.

The interior was quite nice, though the grey, hard and easily scratched plastics were VERY 80's.

On the whole, even for the time it was pricey, only reasonably economical, and performed fairly well, but just not good enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2013

1987 Ford Orion Ghia Turbo Technics 1.6i petrol turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Summary:

Utterly fantastic retro rocket!

Faults:

Piston rings blew at high speed.

Rear arches rusty.

Sunroof jammed.

Central locking failed.

General Comments:

This car easily kept up with and quite often beat RS turbo's and the like. Very fast and fun to drive. Saw 140 on quite a few occasions without much hassle. 60 coming up around the 7 second mark. Easy to hit the speed limit on most roads, and sounds awesome when the turbo spins up. Don't make cars quite like this anymore unfortunately.

No power steering or fancy computers making decisions for you, just man and machine! The way it should be.

Great old skool styling. Comfy inside too with plenty of space and toys. Massive boot.

Built well, but prone to rust and gremlins, but what car isn't?

Quite rare nowadays, and wish I never sold it on.

Was very low compared to standard, so the ride was pretty harsh, but made the already great handling even tighter.

If you see one of these beasts for sale in good condition, just buy it! You'll never regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2011

1987 Ford Orion Ghia 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

A reliable, bulletproof, iconic car

Faults:

The only complaint I would have with my particular Orion, is the amount of rust on the bodywork, particularly the rear wheel arches.

General Comments:

Overall I thought the Orion was a great car.

It never let me down and was completely reliable, even in the winter months.

The car was quick and handled well, and for me was a pleasure to drive.

For me the Ghia detailing and accessories were spot on, with rear head rests, electrics pack, on-board fuel computer and alloy wheels.

All this for a car I bought at auction in 1998 for £365.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2009

1987 Ford Orion Ghia 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Quality family saloon

Faults:

Front window motors failed at 48,000 miles.

Tyres needed replacing at 50,000 miles.

Heater failed at 55,000 miles.

General Comments:

Aside two electrical faults, the Orion was a very reliable car.

The Orion was also good value at £3,600 as a four year old private buy.

Sold it on a year later for £3,000.

Comfortable to drive and also gave excellent handling and performance.

Big boot proved very useful for carrying loads.

Saw it on the road as recently as 2004, by when it was 17 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th May, 2006

1987 Ford Orion Biscayne (Limited) 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carHyundai Pony

Summary:

Fix Or Repair Daily, FORD otherwise good performance

Faults:

So far, I have had an exhaust Drop off on me, The bonnet cable has snapped, and The usual rust in the arches, I'm having problems with the carb/fuel/vacuum system which is currently being sorted.

The usual tappets rattling away (not as bad as a 1.3)

The seat trims have ripped.

The valve guide seals have perished so I get a smoke screen every morning.

General Comments:

The car performs excellent when she works, cruises at 70mph without a problem and can accelerate to 80, 90 up to 110 quite easily. Have put a K+N induction filter on and replaced the exhaust which fell off with a Big bore 4, Sounds BEAUTIFUL now, fitted 14" XR3 alloy wheels, I recommend Dunlop SP sport 200 and she handles like a dream, before on 13"s she used to slide dangerously.

For a home mechanic I recommend getting a head gasket kit (£25) which includes valve seals and all the seals necessary to overhaul the head.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

4th Apr 2004, 14:10

As the Writer of this review adding more. Recently had a replacement carburettor put in and now running sweet-as-a-nut. Have taken her up to Kings Lynn (from South Wales to the end of England) 80 all the way there and not a splutter or a phut. We are talking on excess of 400 miles. And thats good for a Ford! And no we were not followed by an AA breakdown truck.

Coming up to the dreaded MOT time, and the arches have got bad rust rot and there is some welding needed underneath. So lets see whats going to happen...

1987 Ford Orion Ghia 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova 1.2

Summary:

A high performance bargain definitely!!

Faults:

Battery needed changing, understandable after 5 months doing nothing.

Passenger window slower than drivers. Not the end of the world....

Very "chuggy" accelerating hard through the rev range when cold, very annoying.

Has cut out once or twice when cold at junctions, took ages to ignite again.

Discovered a leak in the radiator 2 days ago....

General Comments:

I have just bought the car, very nice when test drove, acceleration very quick, but things have begun to go wrong so haven't had the chance to really "test" the performance qualities! Very smooth runner, although the car is bouncy over 80, can be scary on twisty roads!

Great car for potential performance increases, I intend to add bits to the engine in the near future.

Fuel economy is pants when thrashed, but is OK when driven sensibly, also expensive insurance at 1400 quid, but hey, I'm only 18.....

Overall great car, quick, fast, very comfy, wouldn't swap it for anything, however, did get blown away by a Fiesta RS Turbo......

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

30th Jan 2002, 03:34

Why does the passenger window operate a lot slower than the drivers, mine does exactly the same?

As its fuel injection you shouldn't have problems with it stalling at junctions etc sounds like you have bought a duff motor.

1987 Ford Orion GL 1.6 CVH from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 CVH Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

A good all round saloon

Faults:

Oil leaks from most places imaginable.

Lot's of engine smoke.

Leaking seals.

Hot starting problems.

General Comments:

A surprisingly quick and well equipped car that only really slipped over with it's sludged up engine. If looking for CVH equipped engines then always go for well serviced examples and you will see the benefit in your wallet.

The interior was nice but if you can find a decent Ghia model, go for that instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews