1974 Ford Pinto Runabout 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Great

Faults:

No major problems. I did have a flat on the right back tire during the first year from picking up a nail on my way to work one morning, and got stranded til my boyfriend came to change my flat tire.

The 3rd year I had my Pinto, I got another flat on the right back tire and had to run on that flat tire to get to a phone to call for help to change my flat. I am one of those women that does not change a flat tire, and will run on a flat if I have to. My tires were getting worn by then, and after that flat that I ran on, I got a new set of tires.

General Comments:

Great little car for going to work, and around town for shopping and several trips on the road. My Pinto gave me good service and was a great economy car to drive. It was easy drive and park. Really enjoyed it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2015

26th Dec 2015, 15:14

Really, 10 years and 80,000 miles and all you had was two flat tires?

And people claim Pintos were lousy cars...

27th Dec 2015, 15:50

As long as you didn't get rear ended in one, they really weren't bad cars at all. Ford's decision not to make a recall is what tarnished the car.

1974 Ford Pinto Station Wagon 2.3 liter four from North America

Faults:

In 75,000 miles the only problem was flaking paint.

Because of the shoddy reputation Pintos had, I wanted to comment on mine. I was very happy with it and it never let us down.

The motor with a 4-speed had excellent "grunt" from down low and ran well on the highway. Passing power was fine.

The transmission never gave us any trouble and always shifted smoothly.

We sold it and bought a Dodge Omni when they came out, but that is another report completely!

The refusal to buy another Ford stems not from this car, but a later '93 Taurus I reported on here in another section.

General Comments:

A great buy as a new car for the youngsters we were in 1974.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

1974 Ford Pinto Hatchback 2.3 from North America

Summary:

I love the notoriety I get from driving the famous "explodeable" pinto.

Faults:

I have had nothing go wrong with this car. It runs with or with out gas or oil.

The only thing that I have done to this car is get it reupholstered.

General Comments:

It is the most reliable car I have ever had. I drive it a minimum of 100 miles a day, five days a week. It hasn't let me down yet.

I get lots of compliments and offers on my Pinto.

Best $800 I ever spent. This car runs so well that if I run across another one for sale I will most definitely buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

10th Feb 2004, 12:36

This review is too funny. "Runs without gas" even. It's got to be one of the last Pintos left running! Do you also collect Vegas and Yugos?

23rd Feb 2004, 08:19

AAhhh... The Pinto.. I grew up on one of those. My dad would drop me off at school (2 hours before it even started)... I didn't want my friends laughing at ME! He sold the poor thing, and now I wish we had it.. what a great little car. You're right.. it ran on nothing, but love!

1974 Ford Pinto Wagon 2.3 from North America

Summary:

Well made little car

Faults:

Timing belt broke at 60,000 miles (replaced every 50,000 miles after that).

The water pump started leaking at 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

The little car was very easy to keep up and easy to to fix. Would carry anything and everything I could stuff, tie on or pull.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

2nd Jan 2003, 12:59

Didn't these used to explode???

2nd Jan 2003, 22:58

I don't know why these cars have such a bad reputation. They're actually built really solid. Too bad Ford doesn't make cars the way they used to.

18th Jan 2003, 11:04

If you see a pinto for sale and are freaking out just about the gas tank, why don't you get a fuel cell from a racing company for like $200 bucks, and then you have no reason to complain whatsoever. These cars are great, they just received a REALLY bad reputation due to some Engineer/Businessman clashing back into the 70's.