1992 Ford Probe Reviews

1992 Ford Probe LX from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles

Summary:

Loved it!

Faults:

A belt broke.

General Comments:

I miss my Probe. It was an excellent car. I got it when I was about 17 years old. It ran well. The only thing that needed to be replaced was a belt.

I loved it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th February, 2009

1992 Ford Probe LX from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 miles
Most recent distance196000 miles

Summary:

I wish I still had mine

Faults:

When I bought the car it had some rust above the back tires.

I also noticed when I was changing a tire that there was A LOT of rust on the undercarriage, just painted over. This made it difficult to change the tire.

Also the headlights wouldn't go down.

At about 190K my radiator got a big leak and I had to fill with anti-freeze every morning until I got it fixed.

Other than that, I loved it.

General Comments:

I would buy another one in a heartbeat.

It ran smooth and was decently reliable.

It didn't get very good gas mileage but it was worth the cost.

The interior was very comfortable in front, but cramped in back.

It was the perfect first car and it was affordable, yet good-looking.

I loved it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2008

1992 Ford Probe LX 3.0 Vulcan V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Vulcan V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired152000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Ford should build another

Faults:

My only problem with the car is the system scanner. it keeps telling me that I have stop/tail lamps out. I have checked them, and they are not burned out. The owner's manual says nothing about resetting that scanner in my configuration.

General Comments:

The 3.0 v6 has plenty of power and some to spare. Getting onto the freeway is no big deal at all. I received the car from my cousin who lives in Seattle WA, and I drove it back home to Spokane WA. The alignment was perfect, the acceleration was quick and responsive. The digital dash made it really easy to know just how illegally fast I was going. I just wish there wasn't that stupid speed alarm on it once you hit 85. I haven't had any trouble with it except for that dumb system scanner that on my car seems to malfunction.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2007

28th Sep 2011, 08:09

That stop light warning could be the dim taillights that come on when the headlights are on. That is what it was on mine.

1992 Ford Probe LX 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired234000 kilometres
Most recent distance240500 kilometres

Summary:

This is an amazing car for its year

Faults:

I had to replace the brakes at 236000 KM.

I had to replace the windshield at 234000 KM.

Had to change the ball joints and wheel bearings.

At 239000 KM.

After 14 years the floor is starting to show the.

Effect of winter by rust outs.

General Comments:

These are pretty quick cars because of the 3.0L V6.

This car is great because because you sports coupe.

With the space of a minivan in the hatch.

I love this car and I would buy another one, but I.

Would get a 2 Gen probe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2006

1992 Ford Probe LX 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Well made sporty car that didn't get the attention it deserved

Faults:

Paint turned to a pastel in most places and clear coat is peeling in others.

Horn doesn't work, I'ld fix it if I could figure out where they stuck it.

Speakers dry rot.

General Comments:

The pick up on this car is awesome unfortunately it doesn't have the top speed to match kinda needs one more gear. Which would also increase the good gas mileage, I currently get around 28 - 30 mpg

I'ld like to see more after market parts, but probably won't.

And even with all that mileage on the car it still sounds solid, ie. no extra noises every time you hit a bump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2005

13th Mar 2007, 21:44

Yeah I have that paint problem to seems pretty common. but it is a fun car to drive hopfully it don't fall abart like other cars you guys have had. were is the fuel relay?

31st Mar 2007, 16:35

I recently rebuilt my motor at a machine shop, but now I'm not getting the RPMs that I was before. Does anyone have any helpful hints?

1992 Ford Probe GL from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

It's peppy and handles well, too much fun to drive

Faults:

The only problem I have ever had with this car was the transmission, at about 132,000 miles one of the teeth on the gears broke of and shot right through the housing leaving me with a hole in the transmission large enough to put my fist in. I was a little rough on the transmission, but I don't know if it was enough to do that much damage.

General Comments:

From my research it appears that the transmissions in these cars don't typically last much longer than 125,000-140,000 miles on average, but I have no complaints on the performance of these vehicles. I own one other Probe also, a 1990 GT and I love both of them and I don't think if I could ever part with them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews