1992 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1992 Ford Probe GL 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

Bad brake pads right after we bought it. Were replaced for free.

Brake pads went bad again about a year later. Had a lot of metal-to-metal grinding a few times, also. No big deal, didn't cost much to replace.

Needed new muffler system at about 60,000 miles. Cost me around $400.

Needed new battery at 82,000 miles.

General Comments:

This was actually my very first car, I drove my parents' Buick before it. Huge difference in all aspects. I didn't like the Buick because it was as big as a boat, while the Probe is a lot smaller.

I've had a lot of fun driving it. It's a very fun car to drive, very "zippy". For a 4-cylinder, it's got a lot of "get up and go".

All in all, I haven't had very many problems with this car. It's a very reliable car, despite what some people may think. The only downfall is how small it is. I'm almost six feet tall, so it wasn't very comfortable for long drives. Other than that, it's an awesome car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

1992 Ford Probe GL 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Great Car!

Faults:

This car works just fine.

I had problems with the electrical system, but it was easy and inexpensive to repair.

General Comments:

I think that a Ford Probe is a great car, specially if you like to have "fun" while driving. ;)

You can go from 50mi/h to 80mi/h as fast as you can go from 10mi/h to 40mi/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2002

1992 Ford Probe GT 2.2L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance151101 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I love my Probe GT!

Faults:

When I first got the car I had to replace the radiator.

I had to replace the slave cylinder for the clutch, and CV Joints. Struts also need to be replaced, but Ford no longer carries them.

General Comments:

The car is really quick for being a 4 cylinder, and also handles really well as long as the ride adjustment works.

Although, it doesn't get around in the snow very well. It seemed like I was the only person getting stuck, because the car doesn't have much clearance.

The Probe is very expensive to fix. Most the time Ford doesn't even carry the parts so the car doesn't get fixed the way it should be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2002

1992 Ford Probe GT 2.2 liter turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carMazda GLC

Summary:

A high performance nightmare

Faults:

Engine blew.

Turbo blew.

New radiator.

Radio.

All kinds of electrical work.

A/C.

Engine fan.

General Comments:

This is a quick car and is fun to drive when it's running. Requires a whole lot of money to keep running because most of the parts are made by Mazda and the fact that they don't make Probes anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

1992 Ford Probe GL 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A real trooper

Faults:

It needed a:

New alternator.

New battery.

New front axles.

Transmission will need work.

Master cylinder needed replacing.

General Comments:

All and all it's a good car, whoever owned it before me treated it like crap and did not do regular servicing on it, after all the repairs I've had done it's almost a new car. None of the repaired systems have cause me problems after being repaired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

1992 Ford Probe GT 2.2L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Excellent car if it's taken care of

Faults:

Transmission fork bent/broke at 56,500 miles. I had to get a new fork put in, which was a lot of money. Anything you do with just about any transmission costs a lot though.

General Comments:

It is a great car that is really fun to drive.

I've had the car for over 9 months, and haven't had to touch it other than oil changes and the transmission.

If you keep the car in good condition, it will last you a long period.

I bought this car because it had good power for a 4 cylinder and yet had good gas mileage. I am very glad I did. Through the summer I got about 27-30 MPG, and during the winter 24-28 because of warming up the car.

It drives great in snow as long as you have good tires, because of it's front wheel drive. There were many mornings that I passed several people spinning their tires. Although, with it's low clearance due to the grounds effects, high amounts of snow are hard to drive in.

It doesn't have the best take off, but once you get going, it's great. The turbo kicks in and you are flying. It has a PSI gauge for the turbo to show how much of it you are using.

It's soooo much fun.

I haven't had it all that long, but so far it has been really reliable. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who can get their hands on a good conditioned Probe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

26th Jun 2001, 20:33

I love this car. It has done just fine for me and is sweet.

14th Mar 2003, 13:55

I acquired my '92 Probe GT after an Internet search as a replacement for my '90 Probe GT that had over 190,000 miles on it. I have loved this car for over a decade now, and I hope this one will last me at least another 100,000 miles. As of yet, I have needed no major repairs, and hopefully it will stay that way! I shipped my first Probe to Germany, and let me tell you, that car could FLY! I'm not sure what the top speed is for that model, but the speedometer went all the way back around to the "M" in the "MPH" (DO NOT try this unless you're on the Autobahn!!). If you are lucky enough to find a first version model of the awesome Ford Probe GT in good condition like I did, grab it!!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews