1997 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 13 of 13

1997 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3L Inline 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L Inline 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired170800 miles
Most recent distance171200 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

This truck is very comfortable, it would be no problems traveling cross country in it

Faults:

I just bought this car about 4 days ago, the only thing that has gone wrong with the truck is the doom light stays on when the engine is off, and when the doors are shut, and my ABS light just came on after I washed it, and my e-brake does not work, it could be a possibility that I need new back brakes.

General Comments:

I think this truck is great, it is really comfortable. Its more comfortable than my cadillac that I have with leather seats.

The only thing I don't like is the lack of speed you can get out of it, it does not have very good pick up till about 35mph, but I guess that's what you get from a 4cyl, I also do not like that gas mileage, I think it should be better for being a small engine like that, but its better than my old cadillac that got 16mpg in the city, and my truck gets about 22.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2002

12th May 2003, 11:00

How did you fix the dome light problem? I have been unable to locate the door switch that operates the dome light and "ajar" indicator on the dash.

Wolfline@yahoo.com.

1997 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3L Inline 4 cylinder gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L Inline 4 cylinder gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance86464 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A good value (base model)

Faults:

15,000 miles - Turn signal and windshield wiper electronics replaced (wipers would come on spontaneously)

30,000 miles - rear shocks leaking oil, worn out. Replaced by dealer as still under warranty.

55,000 miles - front brakes wear indicator making noise. Pads replaced, disks resurfaced. Not bad longevity on the brakes since I am a late and hard braker. Brakes were good after service.

60,000 miles - inside dome lights would stay on after doors closed, engine off.

Not under warranty, all troubleshooting failed, so took out the bulbs.

62,000 miles - battery died; replaced at my cost with new heavy-duty battery and no problems since.

64,000 miles - rear brake service due to wear indicator noise. Rear shoes replaced, and drums resurfaced. noticed braking was a little spongy, but I didn't think anything of it until I was adding window washer fluid 3 weeks later and noticed that the master cylinder cap was off (horrified). I went back to dealer, and they did not argue, flushed the brake system, added clean fluid, and replaced cap. Brakes worked fine after this. (morale of the story - ALWAYS look under the hood after every service to make sure everything is still there.)

65,000 miles - new tires put on due to OEM tires worn out - very good tread life so replaced them with the exact same Firestone tires - (unlike the tires that received all the attention for blowouts, these Firestone tires performed flawlessly)

At 78,000 miles, the check engine light came on. Oil pressure and engine temperature were fine, so I drove to the dealer. they said it was the mass airflow sensor, and/or oxygen sensor. they wanted $340 to replace (out of warranty) so I said I would do it myself. They then offered to cut the price in half, for parts and installation. I let them change the parts (both). Two weeks later, the light came on again. I took it back, and they said they had to do some "adjustments". The light went off for a month then came back on. I have ignored it since, the engine runs smoothly with problems.

80,000 miles - OEM rear shocks worn out again, leaking oil. (lasted well because I carry up to 1/4 ton of concrete in bed fairly frequently).

General Comments:

Overall a good value - I paid $10,500 new off the dealer's lot. So far no major issues. I do change my motor oil religiously every 3,000 miles.

PROS - Handles well, steers and tracks very well, fun to drive. Economical, up to 24 mpg on the highway with a light foot. Manual transmission works well with 4-cylinder engine. low maintenance.

CONS - 4 cylinder engine is underpowered with medium load or with A/C on (learned to live with it). Dealer service support mediocre.

Suspension occasionally misbehaves if you hit a series of large bumps at speed when rear is not loaded down, can be predicted.

Overall, I have learned to love this little truck's reliability especially since it has been worked very hard.

I would not buy another Ford (or American car) because of quality control issues, but I don't regret buying this Ranger, it has been a good truck so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

12th Apr 2006, 11:44

Amazing. I've had most of the same problems (brakes/tires/batteries don't count)

29,800 miles - Turn signal and windshield wiper electronics replaced (wipers would come on spontaneously) - Fixed Under warranty. I got lucky.

60,000 miles - rear shocks leaking oil, worn out. Still have not fixed this.

100,000 miles - inside dome lights would stay on after doors closed, engine off. Only happened for a few weeks, then went away.

At 80,000 miles, the check engine light came on. Still comes on and goes off for weeks at a time. I've tried going to shop 3 times, and it always goes off the Friday or Saturday before I am supposed to go.

1997 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Good truck for your buck

Faults:

I have not had one thing go wrong with my ranger since I have had it.

General Comments:

This is a very tough and dependable little truck that can keep up with the big boys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

1997 Ford Ranger Super Cab 2-door 4.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Very good truck for the buck!!

Faults:

The ignition switch sticks.

General Comments:

A very good truck. I use it as a truck (hauling) and I am very impressed with the 4.0 liter engine. The factory stereo is very poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2001

1997 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

This truck is pretty dependable

Faults:

I had it had driven it less than 300 miles when I first got it and the check engine light came on.

The driver's side door handle is loose.

The sliding back glass window is a pain to close.

There is a bad vibration noise when when I push the clutch in before shifting between first and second gear.

General Comments:

It needs more horsepower.

The truck is very reliable and gets good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

13th Oct 2006, 11:07

I've been driving mine for 8 years. No major issues. Fantastic vehicle.

1997 Ford Ranger Cab XLT 2.6 V6 (largest) from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.6 V6 (largest)
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

The alarm sets off by itself... ie has gone off and I have just walked 30 feet away and by it self... no one touched it.

The power windows stick and act up.... just a little .. not enough yet to run it to the dealer.. until servicing time.

General Comments:

Seat could be a little bit more giving in the width dept...

Great tires they place on this model.. Very wide.. Handles very good.. Great response... Auto 5 speed works great also... wish mileage was just a lttle bit better...

Will buy another one, this is my 2nd.

First Ranger I was able to drive for 250,000 miles it also was a V-6.... 1983 model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 47 reviews