1995 Ford Scorpio Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1995 Ford Scorpio Ultima 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Faults:

The heater matrix had to be replaced.

The gearbox became very jumpy due to the fact a leak had occurred in a pipe from the pump. This was repaired and I've had no further problems with this.

General Comments:

All round this vehicle is great especially with the high mileage.

But I do wish I had gone for a 2.9 or diesel model as it is quite expensive to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

16th Jun 2001, 12:53

Well if you had a 2.0 - 2.9 would be better in fuel? :-)

I am thinking of getting a 2.5TD since I think they sound brill - it will be a massive jump from the Fiat Punto I have at the moment.

17th Oct 2003, 16:08

I have a 2ltr 16 valve Scorpio Ultima, N reg, but I am having great trouble in getting any kind of servicing manual for the car, apparently only Fords have the information and it is on a CD-Rom, surely there must be somewhere that does self servicing books, which I can get hold off, do you have any suggestions please.

1995 Ford Scorpio Ultima 2.0 16V petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16V petrol Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Granada Scorpio

Summary:

A heap of ****

Faults:

Firstly the air conditioning started leaking from the passenger side, then the fuel computer stopped working correctly going up instead of down! After half a year of no more trouble the battery went and Ford wanted £15 to tell us the keycode for the cd player/radio!

After another half year we finally lost our patience with the bloody car as the automatic box gave up and broke, the problem is excessive slipping of the gears.

There have been many other small niggles.

General Comments:

The Car is also poorly equipped considering it's an Ultima, as it doesn't have passenger electric seats or rear seats like the previous edition and other accessories which I took for granted on my previous old shape model.

We also noticed that the power of this car is pathetic, needing kickdown and full revs to get out of junctions at a snails pace, we previously had the 2.9 V6, the 2.0 is rubbish! We were expecting it to be slower, but this isn't even adequate.

Overall it's a nice car on the inside, not much good on the outside, and pathetic under the bonnet.

We certainly won't have another one, buy a Honda Legend instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2000

23rd Jun 2001, 05:55

How can you expect a 2ltr engine to perform like the 2.9 V6? It does seem surprising that there is no passenger electric seat though!

10th Oct 2001, 15:15

I owned a '96 ultima without electric passenger seat. I now have a '97 ultima estate and this does have electric passenger seat.

24th Nov 2001, 08:13

I own a November 96 2.3 16v Ultima estate. Whilst I have no real complaints about the car on the inside apart from obvious things such as no electric passenger seat, I feel that bulbs and LED lights which cannot be replaced without a great deal of hassle should last longer than 3 years!

The engine I feel is very responsive at low revs, but like the 2.0 16v lacks any real go even under hard acceleration.

19th Dec 2001, 14:59

Interesting comments - perhaps you can contribute to www.fordscorpio.co.uk?

9th Feb 2002, 15:53

I was gonna look at one to replace my `92 Scorpio (old shape) which has been a very good and fabulously equipped car (electric leather seats including passenger and rear seat), but may not bother. My car is a 2.0 DOGC manual and although it is no fast lane mile eater, it returns 31mpg urban as fuel economy is more important to me.

28th Sep 2002, 10:53

I own a April 96 Scorpio Estate, nice spec and useful extras, but I too was surprised at no electric passenger seat. The car constantly loses its overdrive on the open road, and the O/D off light on the instrument cluster flashes on and off. This is the most annoying problem, which the Ford main dealer says is a wiring loom problem, and will cost more than the car is worth to replace. I looked underneath yesterday, rust is well under way. I think this is a bad car considering its original cost.

16th Oct 2006, 09:36

Most family cars of this age weigh about 1200kg, the Scorpio weighs about 1600kg, so don't be surprised if it doesn't fly on a 2 litre engine, especially with auto box. I have a 2.9 12v, which is sufficient, but still not a fast car.

1995 Ford Scorpio Ultima 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carVolvo V40

Summary:

A bargain luxury car

Faults:

Automatic transmission / rear axle makes a very bad rumble at higher speeds (very serious but no dealer knows what it is). Cruise control has stopped working. Trip computer fascia is very cheap and breaks.

General Comments:

A very comfortable car but build quality is quite poor and transmission is terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2000

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews