1988 Ford Sierra D L 2.3 diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap, throw -away and anonymous

Faults:

Very little. just usual wear and tear items commensurate with age and mileage. it did appreciate new glow plugs in the cold weather though.

General Comments:

This was used as a taxi from new, so it got old FAST. minicabs wear out in ways you wouldn't believe.

This motor just took it all in its stride and came back for more.

However, it was a comfortable car, no back problems with the seat, always did more than 40 mpg and plenty of room. you notice the weight of that big diesel engine up front though.

Performance was pretty sluggish, at least it was up until the engine went bang. after that the 2.3 was replaced with a 2.5 version of the same peugeot engine from a van, and it flew after that..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2006

1988 Ford Sierra Ghia 4X4 estate 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An excellent luxury load carrier

Faults:

Front window motors both failed at 11,000 miles.

Brake pads needed replacing at 15,000 miles and again at 33,000 miles.

Sunroof motor failed at 24,000 miles.

General Comments:

Aside two electric faults, the Sierra was faultlessly reliable over a three year run covering 42,000 miles.

The 2.0 injection engine gave superb performance and the four wheel drive chassis gave exceptional road holding.

The Sierra's interior was spacious, comfortable and equipped to a high standard.

Was a bargain buy at £11,500 for a well equipped large estate car.

Had strong residuals and retailed at £6,000 three years later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

1988 Ford Sierra GL 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good quality car

Faults:

Starter motor failed.

Exhaust manifold gaskets blew.

General Comments:

Reliable car, took a lot of abuse.

Very smooth and comfortable.

Went well for an old carbed estate, indicated 135mph, 116mph shown on road angel though!

Fun handling, goes very sideways.

Fit a cvh engined cars prop if you get the pinto one, its got whats called a vibration damper, makes the car smoother to drive and fits straight on.

Very well built, the F plate cars don't seem to rust very much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

1988 Ford Sierra GLS 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Better than a XR4X4!

Faults:

Viscous fan seized.

Thermostat housing bung split.

General Comments:

This car was very quick and had good handling. It would hit the rev limiter in 5th gear at an indicated 149mph, probably 130 ish true mph.

The car was very reliable, never leaving me stranded.

It was quite thirsty at 24mpg.

Very comfortable car, good on the motorway, long journeys.

Best car you can get for the money if you find a non rusty one, better than an xr4x4 and cheaper, make sure you get a pinto engined one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

5th Sep 2005, 18:18

Good fun car, and cheaper than the XR4x4. but better? Why?

29th Oct 2007, 12:22

Apparently the GLSi is cheaper to insure than the XR4x4 even though it is basically the same car with trim differences.

I must admit I didn't think they made a pinto engined 4x4 sierra, early ones were 2.8 cologne, then later 2.9 with the option of the 2.0 twin cam.

1988 Ford Sierra XRi 4X4 2.9 V6 from Sweden

Summary:

It's a lot of car for less than £1000

Faults:

Clutch wire broken

Exhaust replaced

Front outer rubber grommet replaced.

General Comments:

Its absolutely the best winter car I have ever owned. Goes anywhere, heated windshield, heated mirrors. And driving it on the ice track on a lake is just about as fun as it gets. It has good performance and handles very well. I bought a second one that will be restored. Would like to have a bit more power, my Volvo had a Chevy 350 V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

1988 Ford Sierra CL 2.0 Injection from Sweden

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

Broken Radiator, leak.

Broken Camshaft, well used, first time changed.

General Comments:

This car is a great first car, got the feeling of going fast.

The car got good performance at a lo cost.

Cheap spare parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2004

1988 Ford Sierra GL 1.8 CVH petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A Under rated fast classic

Faults:

I had engine problems when I received the car.

In the end I needed :

New Pistons.

Camshaft.

Cam Belt.

Valves.

Exhaust.

General Comments:

One word.. Fast!

The Interior is a little dull, but when covered in silver duck tape it actually looks rather attractive.

The handling was not the best, I found a lot of under steer under cornering, and occasionally easy to face the other way while traveling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2004

18th Apr 2005, 23:56

Hello I have 2000cc 1988 sierra, I just overhauled the carburater and engine, but I lost my manual could anyone post the firing order and ignition timing please.