1988 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1988 Ford Sierra GLS 2.0 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles

Summary:

A cheap compromise of power and practicality

Faults:

It has been a very reliable car.

There have been problems with the clutch - the cable has snapped several times, but this is because of the age of the mechanism, which is due to be replaced.

However, it suffers quite badly from rust, but very litle of this is structural, only cosmetic.

General Comments:

I love this car! Although beginning to appear dated, I think it looks good and is well designed.

It handles well, accelerates quite quickly and is fast for its age.

The cabin is well laid out and the only criticism I would make is that it has no cup-holders, which is very annoying. It is comfortable and is reasonably luxurious - this specification is one step down from the Ghia and is kitted-out well.

It's cheap to run and there are plenty of spare parts about - plus it's very easy to work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2002

1988 Ford Sierra 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Those Pom's got it right this time

Faults:

Alternator, brand new universal replacement, $300. But mysterious because I drove for 2,000k's with warning light on, and with no problem. Mechanic said it was a possible fire risk though.

Fuel supply problem intermittent, could be a bad batch of fuel because only it occured twice in two years.

General Comments:

Real tough wagon. "Accidentally" drove it into a solid brick wall and received a tiny split on the front bumper, and a whole lot of useless bricks. Imagine a Japanese car doing the same!!

Good performance if it's allowed to rev high, keeps up with 2.0 fuel injected double overhead cam cars.

17" mags with low profile 225 tyres, makes good cornering at 130km/h.

Next step, find a Cosworth engine and drop it in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

1988 Ford Sierra GLSi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra Sapphire

Summary:

Excellent overall performance and spec for an old one!

Faults:

New clutch at 75,000.

New cam shaft at 122,000.

General Comments:

The car is pretty quick and handles well.

Looks good.

Spec is top class for the year with ABS, heated front screen & mirrors, power steering, electric mirrors etc.

Crap in the snow!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

28th Oct 2001, 16:53

Have bought a 2.0GLSi Sierra myself for 200 pounds with only 80 000 on the clock as a first car. Not only is it cheap to maintain and comfortable it leaves the other students at college miles behind in the average xr3.

1988 Ford Sierra L Estate 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carFord 1982 Sierra

Summary:

Probaby the cheapest workhorse in the world

Faults:

Clutch cable at 200,000 miles.

Track rod ends at 190,000 miles.

Sunroof leaked 6 months after purchase.

General Comments:

This car just shows how well the old Ford Pinto engine can do if its oil is changed regularly. It was a company car from new until I got hold of it with FSH. Tyres, exhaust and battery were newish when I got the car, only front tyres needed since then - seriously!

The car was in excellent condition mechanically and body-wise when it was written off yesterday by a tractor. I paid £600 for it 4 years ago and got £425 from the insurance! Pity, since the car had a good few years left in it.

The faults listed above are honestly the only faults it ever had.

Moved up a stage now to a '94 Mondeo LX TD Estate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

1988 Ford Sierra Sapphire GLSi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

If you get the chance buy one and don't let go

Faults:

When I first got the car it absolutely purred.... nice golden oil with new plugs etc.

However as I live by the coast the metal plague soon set into the exhaust which has recently had to be replaced.

Also had to replace the radiator fan as the car started to sound like a jet engine...... sounds great but doesn't do much for performance.

Rear arches on both the off side and near side are really showing their age as is the bottom of the doors, but nothing that can't be fixed with a little love and care.

Recently replaced the clutch myself which was a scarey job until I started, all it cost to do was £16 and took 4 hours.

General Comments:

This is the BEST car I have ever owned, in fact I can remember that it was a car that I always wanted but could never afford when I passed my test a long time ago.

The interior is very tidy and doesn't seem dated at all though it may be a little angular compared to the curved organic lines of most modern cars.

I would DEFINITELY have another Sapphire without any doubt, but would quite like a 4x4 or a 2.0 Ghia in midnight blue.

With the Sierra you can easily do the speed limit and beyond if you aren't careful and when you need it, you can just put your foot down and GO, but it can be a bit lathargic under 3000 revs, very short 1st and 2nd gear.

If possible, go for a model which is fully loaded, but spares can be expensive if bought though a dealer but as with most Fords.... breakers have plenty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

15th Mar 2005, 01:17

I just want to know this person's email addy as I need an Exhaust for my Saphire and he bought one.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 31 reviews