1997 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 24 of 24

1997 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 Duratec from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 3.0 Duratec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance76000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good performance, not reliable

Faults:

Transmission replaced twice, once at 40,000 km, again at 60,000 km.

Suspension creaking now.

Intermittent wipers aren't.

General Comments:

Quick car, comfortable to drive. Reasonably quiet inside.

However, reliability is poor as is dealer service. When transmission went first time, they did a partial repair. When it went the second time (2 weeks past original warranty) the first mechanic told me the piston cracked and ruined the rest of the transmission. When the service manager realized that was the part they replaced 6 months earlier, suddenly their story changed and it had nothing to do with the piston. I called the next day and spoke to another mechanic and he confirmed it was the piston. Fortunately I recorded that phone call.

The service manager decided that he would pick up the cost of a new transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2001

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Buyer beware!

Faults:

The automatic transmission casing cracked and leaked transmission fluid without warning.

To replace the transmission you need to be rich and have plenty of patience to listen to the excuses the dealership will give you.

The brakes on our Taurus have been grinding for two years even after 3 repairs.

You need a hearing aid to listen to music on the cassette player.

General Comments:

This car, in the beginning, was a charm to own.

However, once the car is over its extended warranty it is nothing but trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2001

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

May be colored like a lime, but sure was a lemon!

Faults:

I had to have the transaxle replaced five times. Only owned the car six months!

Had to have the braking control module replaced.

The seatbelts were very sticky.

I found it near impossible to get the boasted 28 mpg! Towards the end of my owning the car it was only getting about 7 miles to the gallon.

I grew tired of my dealer having my car more than I did. I considered asking them to chip in on the payments.

The motor had a burnt valve two days after I bought it.

General Comments:

Was very safe in a collision!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2001

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired51300 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

I love my Taurus and trust it to get me anywhere I want or need to go

Faults:

I had to have the brakes replaced at 65,000 miles.

I also had to put a new battery in at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car handles real well even at high speeds (80-100 MPH).

The interior provides plenty of head room.

The console it very unique and very accessible to both the driver and passenger.

I wish I had more power in the engine than 145 horsepower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 Vulcan from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Vulcan Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64200 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Comfort, style, and good mileage

Faults:

"Service Engine Soon" light came one. cam position sensor replaced, ended problem.... Light came back on, took it to get tested, same problem... haven't fixed it the second time yet hehe.

For the reputation this generation of Tauruses has for body rigidity/integrity, I sure have noticed lot of rattles in the dash and doors.

General Comments:

Reasonably comfortable, economical, and stylish. I just wish I would have bought one with fewer miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

15th Jan 2001, 17:25

I have a 1997 Ford Taurus and there have been two problems with it. The check engine soon light came on recently and the car has started to hesitate while I'm driving. It almost cut off on me at the light.

Other than that the car is a very comfortable and roomy ride.

30th Sep 2003, 13:15

I just bought my 97 Taurus G L, last week. What happened, check engine light came on and the cam sensor went out of course; furthermore, the cooling fans were not operational. I bought the car as is, but the dealership agreed to replace the cooling fans free of charge. Other than those few problems I really like my car.

1997 Ford Taurus SHO 3.4 V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 3.4 V-8
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Door rattles.

General Comments:

I really love this car! It has been great the entire time I've owned it. Would buy it all over again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 1999

4th Dec 2000, 22:43

I am thinking of buying an SHO and all your comments have made up my mind in buying the car, thanks!

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0L 12V from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 3.0L 12V
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is my third Ford product and my second Taurus/Sable, replacing a 1990 Sable that I ran for 120,000 miles before an accident destroyed it. The Taurus is comfortable, efficient, and enjoyable to drive, but the 12V 3.0L engine is a bit sluggish. I much prefer the acceleration and pickup of the 24V engine and would select that engine if I were to purchase another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 1999

1997 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 DOHC Duratec from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC Duratec
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Ford has made the best cars ever. We have owned over 5 Fords and have not had a single problem with any of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 1999

1997 Ford Taurus GL 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 3.0L
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Recently recalled for discolored coolant.

General Comments:

Comfortable, sluggish with this engine, should go up to next one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

23rd Jan 2001, 07:43

I own a 1996 Taurus GL that has been in the shop for a pull on the steering wheel that cannot be fixed. I have had it in for every front end solution possible, along with all new tires. This car did not pull before I took it to the dealer for a check up. My warranty was running out so I wanted to have everything checked. I got it back and the speakers now crack, the steering has an unrepairable pull to the right, and the service engine soon light is now on. I have not had the service engine soon problem fixed as I am at a loss as to where to go with the car. I don't trust anyone anymore.

26th Sep 2006, 20:51

Trash car!

Rides very comfy and has a good engine, but the transmission will go out!

I had mine re-done and it went out agian!

No more Taurus's.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 87 reviews