1999 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 42 of 42

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 24v Duratech from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v Duratech Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro Type LT

Summary:

A quick sedan but needs a higher top speed

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The Car is very quick, we have about 215 hp with a Flowmaster muffler and a K&N air filter. The only thing thing I don't like about this car is that it is limited to 112 MPH. We could have gone with a Pontiac GTP supercharged on the freeway BUT we could only do 112 MPH so he left us. If only this car had a higher top speed, it would would be one of the quickest sedans out there. I wish this car had a higher top speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2001

17th Jan 2002, 00:25

The car is capable of much higher speeds. The governor kicks in to save the average motoring butt! If anyone knows how to bypass this restriction or where I can buy a performance chip for my 3.0 duratec 96 wagon, my email is sergei@stones.com.

1999 Ford Taurus SE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance26880 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Safe family car

Faults:

I'm hoping maybe someone else has had this problem as the dealer can't seem to fix it.

When I get out of the car and lock the doors, 9 times out of 10 the key will not open them back up. I have had to have the car towed three times so far as the doors won't unlock.

If you have had the same problems please email me at WestVilNut@yahoo.com

General Comments:

Other than the above problems the car is great! I loved the first one I had and would love to keep this one but ca'nt get to the bottom of this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th December, 2000

1999 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 24V from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 24V Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance23225 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

A great car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It's a good car, the motor is really powerful. You can waste almost any sedan on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

27th Nov 2000, 16:32

I feel in love with the 99 Taurus from the first test drive to the first snow storm. It handled very well in the ice and snow of a Nebraska winter.

However, the love for my car has gone away. The Taurus has a new home for the holidays, the dealership's repair shop. It seems Tauruses have a mysterious transmission problem. Mine has been in the shop for a total of three weeks. It is still not fixed.

Ford has been generous enough to foot the bill and provide me with a rental car.

1999 Ford Taurus SHO 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus LX

Summary:

A well kept secret

Faults:

- One power window didn't work.

- Subframe bushings make a popping sound which the dealer is having a hard time fixing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2000

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 3.0L DOHC V6
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10

General Comments:

My fiancee and I had the above mentioned car for a full week. purchased new in 8/99. Was involved in a head on crash with another car on a rain slick road in a construction zone. I was the driver and escaped with just a sore neck. My fiancee suffered a broken right foot in 6 places. We are very happy with how the car performed. We will always consider the crash test rating.

Car was totalled out at my request with insurance company. Last report on damage figures were around $11,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 1999

27th Jun 2001, 18:38

98 Ford Taurus SE: all four rotors warped twice, so far looking at $500.00 to fix with non Ford el crapo stock parts. Ford should issue a recall on its Taurus brakes.

5th Jun 2002, 00:46

My 1998 Ford Taurus SE has averaged a complete brake job every 8000 miles due to warped rotors. At $500.00 a pop this is a very annoying problem. Ford engineers/ executives don't care.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 149 reviews