1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 Vulcan V6 from North America


A good car with a quirky transmission


The transmission shifts abruptly during low-speed maneuvers, such as driving around a parking lot at 15mph. A "clunk" emanates from the transmission at this time. I had the transmission inspected, but was told that it was "quirky" transmission.

While driving around a parking lot, the transmission can shift to second gear suddenly and the car will accelerate without any input from the accelerator.

The Anti-Lock Brake system light comes on after about 15 miles on the freeway. The system still works correctly before that time.

Front brake rotors became severely warped and needed grinding at 50,000 miles. No re-warping, yet.

General Comments:

The car has good power and handling performance for it's price range.

Freeway ride is good, but bumps can become monotonous on long trips.

Can handle a full load of passengers with relative ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

1999 Ford Taurus LX V6 from North America


Trade it in before the warranty runs out


Cloth upholstery loose, exposed sharp edge that ripped my thumb open while lowering the back seat.

Two seat belts no longer work. One is stuck in the down position. Middle passenger belt assembly fell apart on a hot summer day.

Major internal transmission failure costing $3000 and the car was used for passenger transport only.

General Comments:

The warranty ran out just in time for me to have to foot the bill.

Never again Mr. Ford. The commercials that say "Ford Tough" and "they've been kicked around... and keep on going" make me laugh so hard I almost black out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2002

3rd Sep 2002, 01:47

I agree. Ford is a joke, period!

6th Sep 2002, 22:19

I totally agree that the 1999 Ford Taurus is the worst car I have ever owned. I have had my car for 2 years now and I have already replaced the coil pack, speed sensor and the rack and pinion. This car has cost me thousands of dollars over the sale price and I still have 3 years to go. After my car gets out of the shop this weekend, I'm seriously considering trading it in, no matter the negative equity it will give me. I will never buy another Ford in my life and I would not recommend that anyone buy a 1999 Ford Taurus SE.

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America


Awesome driving with sleek good looks and superb safety rating


The only thing that has gone wrong with the car is that the driver seat belt doesn't snap back as quickly as it used to when the car was new.

General Comments:

This car has been the best vehicle I've owned for the following reasons: (including Mustangs, Chevy Nova, Plymouth wagon, Ford Aerostar, Ford Econoline)

Handles like a dream.

Feels solid, from door closure to transmission to non-existent road noise.

Great in snow. Well-balanced for minimal sliding on icy roads.

Parks small, but roomy inside.

Beautiful styling. Sweet curves.

No wind drag. Virtually free of high wind effects.

Plenty of power for quick passes, although there's a slight delay, but that's because of the government restrictions for exhaust. Can't fault Ford for that.

Durable finish. I've dinged up a couple of spots, and I've sideswiped another car in the driveway, and you couldn't even tell on the finish.

I LOVE this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

1999 Ford Taurus SE 24 valve duratec from North America


Not one thing.

General Comments:

I have always had a Ford, including my entire family we own four Ford Tauruses and not one has a problem. I have 82,134 problem free miles and just recently replaced my brakes.

This particular Ford Taurus is very fun and powerful. I tend to drive fast, usually about 80 to 100 miles an hour and it drives and handles great. I have driven European luxury cars and not one would change my mind about my Taurus.

Oh by the way, I still have my original tires, I am replacing them in two weeks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2001

1999 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 liter 24 valve V6 from North America


Great and reasonably inexpensive


Nothing so far on the road (and it's great for 40000 miles).

Got the front brakes serviced due to some strange noise at 29000 miles.

General Comments:

Great car and a pleasure to drive.

Drinks petrol: only 19 miles per gallon (but what would you expect from a 3-liter engine?)

Good acceleration and handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2001

27th Aug 2003, 09:08

Hey, I just bought one myself... sold a 91 caprice with 124k on it that I was having problems. I am kind of disappointed in the mpg. I was hoping for upper 20s. The caprice was getting 20 consistently. My brother has a 89 cutlass supreme that gets upper 20s even towing a boat. Oh well. lyon1977@yahoo.com.

13th Dec 2006, 11:07

I just bought (in December 2006) a "looks like new" 1999 Taurus with 30,000 miles. I was disappointed at my first fillup to see 20.5 MPG for mostly highway driving at 75 mph.

But the increased gas costs over my previous car (a Dodge Neon) are way cheaper than the maintenance costs. My previous Taurus went 150k with no problems and is still running as a backup car. If I can get 120,000 more miles out of this for the $3,900 I paid, I'll be a happy guy even at 20mpg.