2000 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 10 of 15

2000 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 flex fuel from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 flex fuel Automatic
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Faults:

Front brake rotors warp at 45,000.

Check engine light comes on.

When braking steering wheel shakes.

Vibration at speeds near 70 mph.

Hissing sound can be heard on the drivers side compartment near the fire-wall.

General Comments:

This car has potential, but it was built poorly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2005

31st Mar 2009, 18:56

Put on a high end touring tire - likely correct wheel vibrations.

2000 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Cheap to buy, expensive to maintain

Faults:

Wheel alignment bad at 35 000 miles. Still wearing front tires out at too high a rate. Already gone through three sets of front tires. Wheel realignment has failed to correct this phenomenon. Major hassle factor not to mention the $$.

Fuel regulator bad @ 40,000 miles. $350.

Starter bad $300 @ 45,000 miles.

Brakes failed recently @ 97,000 miles. Dealer said it was a master cylinder gone bad. This happened suddenly and without any warning. $600.

I know I have forgotten some other repairs not mentioned above.

General Comments:

This car was made with the lowest quality of parts known to mankind. Truly a legacy of Henry Ford's philosophy to make cars available to the masses and without regard to the car's longevity, beyond of course, the initial 3years, 36,000 mile warranty period. One would get the impression that the car was made in china, not America.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2005

23rd Aug 2006, 06:42

HAHAHA if it was made in china it probably would be BETTER quality!!! That's sick, but unfortunately true. What has happened to our country?

2000 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7700 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Front end steering problems make this car no fun

Faults:

Car has never performed reliable. After one week of ownership, I had to have a ball and caster adjustment to try and fix alignment problem.

Within year heater vents at front windshield would blow fluid type smell and there was white substance in oil cap. Dealer never honestly addressed problem. Funny smell still continues.

Front end always has been a problem. regardless of tires or alignment, there is shaking of front end although new tires will make very slight. Always has had a steering 'pull', typically left.

After 60,000 miles cruise control stopped working.

At 70,000 miles parts of the material n interior on the door started pulling away.

Other minor repairs covered by recall.

General Comments:

The only thing I really like is the 3 liter, 16 valve, V6 DOHC engine has great power. Pulling onto a highway is easy as this ford accelerates quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

2000 Ford Taurus SE FFV 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33425 miles
Most recent distance90715 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Nice car, but becoming unreliable very fast

Faults:

Cracked cylinder head at 89,900.

Faulty fuel injector plug.

Mysterious cracked PVC valve and hose.

Clogged ports & chambers on and off. using regular gas & Ethanol.

General Comments:

Very comfortable ride & handling.

Very good fit and finish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th November, 2004

22nd Jan 2010, 19:23

I own two Ford Tauruses and have no complaints regarding them operating on E85 or ethanol or unleaded fuel. My 2000 Taurus has 198,265 miles on and has had no engine problems except to replace the water pump and timing chain at 163,000 + miles.

I uses no oil at present and never did. I still gets 23 to 29 mpg in local driving and 32 + on the freeway at 65 to 70 mph on trips.

I have learned, however that one is smart to turn on the ignition switch and wait about five seconds before starting the engine in order to allow the tank-mounted fuel put to fully develop maximum fuel presssure, else it might be more sluggish in starting, but nothing to complain about. Otherwise, there is no difference in function and operation with E85 or no-lead with my FFV Taurus.

The 2002 Taurus FFV has no complaints at all.

Forrest Easley

Gainesville, MO.

2000 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L OHV 155 HP from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L OHV 155 HP Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired226000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

A good family car, lacking in performance

Faults:

Nothing really major has gone wrong with this car till now. My father owned it, put a lot of K's on it and nothing really wrong has happened.

-Tires seem to wear more than normal

-Had to replace Brakes, but after 230000K that's expected.

-recently I've been having a lot of tranny problems, brought it in and was told I would probly have to have it re-built, I figure I'll go to a junkers and get one from there.

Other than that no major problems.

General Comments:

I think the interior is great. I'm a big guy and I feel comfortable in it. I have to lower the seat back, but that's just my preference. Controls are easy to use and read. Great back seat for passengers and a huge trunk for my subs. Acceleration could be better, but with the 2000 it's been noted since they first rolled out that the 155HP/185T 3.0L isn't all that great in that area. I would definitely recommend getting the 200HP DOHC, although theres not a huge difference in acceleration, but you can notice it. I like how this car can stick to the ground after I put customs rims and some good rubber on them. The Stereo could be better, but Ford isn't well known for their stereo. So it's expected. Planning on putting in an nice MP3 player and from what I've heard there should be no problem in doing that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 46 reviews