4th Sep 2008, 20:24

Original reviewer here. At 132K, I needed new spark plugs, new rear struts, and an alignment. I was short on money, so I neglected to do the last two at 120K. I also needed something else done, but I can't remember. The MyFord Owner site is not working right, so when I find out I will let you know. I just thought I would mention this.

13th Sep 2008, 18:52

Original Reviewer Here:

Hi. I just checked the MyFord Owner Site and it is working again.

My Taurus has 131117 miles on it, runs like a top.

If it died tomorrow, I would be extremely happy with the service it has given me.

If it didn't die tomorrow, I would be extremely happy with the service it has given me.

25th Sep 2008, 14:58

Original Reviewer here.

Two days ago, my Taurus started vibrating like crazy at idle (133801 miles (my last comment should have said 133117 miles instead of 131117 miles) ). I started the car, and it took two times to turn over (normally it only takes one). I took it in to the dealer and they replaced the vacuum hose and the DPCE sensor (I didn't ask what it was and the mechanic didn't tell me).

The car runs fine again. If you just get maintenance done and replace parts, your car will last a lifetime. I challenge anyone to try it with their next car purchase.

15th Oct 2008, 20:18


At exactly 134992 miles, I started the car. It was hard to start and it would not turn over. After about 14 tries, it did. I drove it to my Ford dealership. It drove fine.

By the time I had gotten to the dealer, I had to turn it off (blame the kids who like looking at cars on the lot). My service writer came out, and he tried it. It took him even more tries to start it then I took. By this time, the car had exactly 134999 miles. He pulled it in, and said he would let me know with a diagnostic. I had to get on the road, so I left.

About three minutes after I had left the dealer, the mechanic called me and told me it was the fuel pump. I asked if this was common on Tauruses, and he told me that he had not serviced any on the Taurus before, because he used to work on the F-Series trucks came in, and had now switched over to cars.

For anyone who would like to know, it took two business days (I took it in late on a Friday and they had it over the weekend), and cost almost USD $700 (not counting what I paid for the rental car).

Now my Taurus is running perfectly again.

24th Oct 2008, 14:45


My Taurus hit 136,000 miles today. Everything is running smoothly. It is becoming more and more apparent to me with each coming day that I will hit 200,000 miles without too many issues.

19th Nov 2008, 20:18


My Taurus is sitting at 137700 miles. When the car is started from a cold start, it chugs like no tomorrow. For example, if I am at a red light sitting in Drive or Overdrive, and my foot is off the brake pedal, the car will chug forward.

I will be taking it to the dealer tomorrow for the second time. In addition, I will be getting my 138,000 mile oil change.

20th Nov 2008, 17:36


I took my Taurus to the dealer today. It turned out that it was a coil having to do with the spark plugs. It was causing the engine to misfire. It runs fine again for now. I hope to make it to 200,000 miles (another 3 years at 23,000 miles per year). Either way, this has been the best car I have ever owned.

One thing that I forgot to mention- the area on the steering wheel next to the horn has cracked. I do not know the exact date or mileage that it cracked, but I would say it was sometime in the last year. (purchased in November 2000 and this comment written in November 2008).

27th Nov 2008, 18:44


Exactly one week after my dealer 'fixed' my car, it starts chugging again.

When at idle, the tachometer will go from zero to 2500 RPM to 750 RPM to 1350 RPM back up to 3000 RPM back down to 750 RPM. My guess is that the timing is off.

This is the second time the dealer tried fixing it. I am taking it back tomorrow.

The mileage reads 138,269.

28th Nov 2008, 17:23

It sounds like the idle speed control has gone bad. Not untypical for the mileage and a very easy repair. It would be the first place I would check out if it were my car. Good luck...

29th Nov 2008, 18:22


Hello. Thanks for trying to help me. I could not make it to the dealer yesterday or today.

I have not heard of the idle speed control. Could you please tell me what it does?

My first guess was that the mechanics at my dealer bumped the timing belt (chain?) when they replaced the vacuum hose and DPCE valve (see comment #4).

I will look into it and thank you again for your time.

30th Nov 2008, 19:22

The idle speed control maintains the proper idle under various loads. It is on top of the air intake hose that runs from the air filter box to the engine. Very easy to replace should it have gone bad. The timing chain is an internal part of the engine and would not have been disturbed by your mechanic.

1st Dec 2008, 14:58


Thanks again for your help. I am going to do more research on it. In case one couldn't already tell, I am not mechanically inclined.

14th Dec 2008, 11:42

$9000 for maintenance and repairs? You need to buy a Honda!

19th Jan 2009, 19:29


Just an update. I know I got rid of my Taurus last month, but I do not enjoy my Camry like I did my Taurus. If you want the details, read the next three paragraphs. If not, skip them.

In five weeks, I have had two problems (a door fuse and something with the evaporation). In eight years with my Taurus, I have had only five problems. This is depressing.

This is how it happened: I bought the Camry with the broken door fuse. It turned out that it was a clip. I always had my Taurus serviced at a Ford dealer, and that is where I got rid of the Taurus and bought the Camry. They ordered the clip from Toyota. It came in today (after four weeks). The technicians put it on at Ford and they broke (lesson learned: go to Toyota). I went to Ford only because the car was still under warranty.

Why did I go today of all days? Yesterday (on 01/18/09), I left work to find that after I had been driving for a few minutes, the check engine light came on. The Ford computer couldn't read it (I thought all codes were universal), but the technician said it was something with the 'evaporation system' (!?). I have no clue what that is, but I have never heard of it. As far as I am concerned, neither of these items is regular maintenance. The kicker: I bought the car with its yearly inspection just done a few days before.

I went to Toyota, and I made an appointment for Thursday.

Remember, I don't expect perfection, but now my Toyota has had 40% of the problems my Taurus EVER gave me. I can count on ONE HAND all the times my FOUR FORDS ever needed anything out of regular maintenance- eight! My Fords- not a lick of trouble. This one was no exception!