1986 Ford Tempo Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1986 Ford Tempo GL 2.4 litre hsc from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 litre hsc Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired242000 kilometres
Most recent distance247000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

A terrible burdenous money pit

Faults:

When I first bought the car it needed a fuel pump, and a gas tank.

After a month of owning this burdenous machine on the drivers side I replaced the wheel bearing, inner and outer CV joints, tie rod end and strut.

After maybe 3000k both ball joints needed to be replaced, I only replaced the worse one because at this point I started to not care about the car at all.

The car had an unsolved electrical problem that would come and go as it pleased, you would get in the car turn the key and nothing would happen, no lights, radio or anything electrical worked, so I would pop the hood pull on wires and it usually worked.

There was a huge amount of slack in the steering.

The muffler fell off.

The floor pans were badly rusted.

Horn didn't work, cigarette lighter didn't work.

Rear drum brakes had issues.

General Comments:

This was my first car, for a first car this was possibly the biggest headache I could ever ask for. I was fixing something on it every other week and it just kept taking my money away, This car was the epitome of MONEY PIT. And for a teenager with a part time job it was a burdenous hell that enraged me to the point where I thought I would have gray hair. But I kept fixing it thinking everything might be okay.

The only positive things I have to say about my tempo was that it was very quick for a beater, and had great power, and would go forever on 5$ gas.

I got about 5000k out of this car before it eventually got pulled off the road by a cop that pulled me over and noticed how nice my car was.

Please avoid my trouble and if you see a nice little tempo for sale, just think that the person selling that car is selling it for a reason.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2005

26th Aug 2005, 12:33

You don't want problems? Then don't buy old, high mileage crap.

27th Sep 2005, 01:20

I have friends with honda's and even Chrysler k cars that have made it past 250 000k without a regular failure of important components, my other buddy's 85 Toyota tercel has 390 000k and we have taken it on 500k round trips without a thought. I was scared to drive my tempo across town.

1986 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 HSC from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 HSC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Let it be an old man's car, old men are wiser anyways

Faults:

The reason I stated the comfort was so low is because the seat back frame is pushing out of the seat and digging into my back.

Original clutch is finally worn out after teaching two people how to drive a stick.

Center armrest badly cracked.

Power steering hose leaks, which caused the rear motor mount to fail prematurely.

Engine seems a bit loud, hard to tell where it is coming from.

18 years of heat have taken their toll on the paint and weatherstrips.

Air conditioning doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car just refuses to die, even with being a bit aggressive/abusive, it just takes it.

Very cheap to maintain/operate...cost me $45 to replace front pads and rotors, only necessary because prior brake job was done...incorrectly.

Fantastic gas mileage, I myself am seeing approximately 40 mpg, even with a lot of in-town driving, I still average about 32 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

22nd Jun 2004, 16:59

Out of curiosity, what did you do with the Focus?

1986 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles

Summary:

A great little car

Faults:

The car has been through three transmissions, since I've owned it.

Water pump has gone out once.

Armrest is wearing badly.

Seatbelt buckles have needed replacement. I got them from an '85 Tempo.

The liner in the trunk has fallen down.

Continuing problem with front brake pads. Usually they fly off while braking and I need to replace the rotor every time. Usually I replace the front brakes every 6-8 months.

Engine mounts have broken several times.

Muffler has fallen off once.

Was hit on the fender and driver's side door causing a small dent. This totaled the car.

General Comments:

For all these problems I love this car. Even with all the malfunctions in the past she is a very reliable car.

As many others have said: this car will just not die. It will run badly, and it will run worse, but it will not stop.

It lacks power, however, it has good handling, and relatively good speed.

The interior is in great condition, and is quite comfortable.

There were Sony 6x9 speakers in this car when I got it, and I'm pretty sure they are stock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

30th Jul 2004, 23:03

Nope. They had low-watt 6x8 speakers. I had replaced mine with Kenwood 6x9's when my stock ones caught on fire. I had to cut a hole in the package tray and drop them in from above. I sealed it with hot glue so they wouldn't rattle. That was the only damn thing on that whole car that worked the whole time I had it.

10th Feb 2007, 14:44

My 1994 Tempo handles just fine in all weather conditions. It's all in the driver's ability to control their vehicle. Tempos aren't sports cars, therefore, don't drive them like one.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews