1987 Ford Tempo GL 1.5L Gas from North America


I really like this car. It ROCKS!


My rear axle broke twice in the 18 year period that I had this car.

General Comments:

When you drive this car it feels like you are in a luxrey car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2006

15th Apr 2006, 21:05

Stands to reason that anyone who thinks the Tempo is a luxury car wouldn't know how to spell it.

And no Tempo ever came with a 1.5L engine.

28th Sep 2006, 17:46

I see you got over 2 million kilometers on it as well, that will set a record for an engine that doesn't exist.

1987 Ford Tempo L 2.3 from North America


Owned an 87 and 88, no major problems with either


Basically just regular mantenance was all my car ever needed. Like almost every other car, if you abuse it, it will abuse you. Treat it right and it will never let you down.

General Comments:

Very cheap to maintain, not exactly the most powerful 4cyl engine, however with the mileage it was acceptable.

I drove this car from Niagara Region to Winnipeg Manitoba (23 hours driving time) with only making stops for fuel and food. With the exception of struggling a bit on the very steep hills and mountains on highway 17, my Tempo never broke a sweat.

Unfortunately I wrote the car off on the way back when I smoked a deer doing 120km/hr or else I would probably still have it today.

Had just over 348,00 on the motor when I totalled it, and still purred like a kitten,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

1987 Ford Tempo L from North America


Fairly reliable, and inexpensive!


EGR valve never worked, so I drove it without one.

Starter went when I was driving on the highway and the car just died, $80 repair.

Stalled when making sharp turns.

Alternator squealed when it was a really hot or really cold day.

Leaked brake fluid slowly.

A/C never worked for me.

The lights didn't work properly, sometimes the running lights would stay on when I shut the car off, and the lights would just dim for no reason.

General Comments:

I got this car for free from my father when I was in high school. It definitely wasn't a chick magnet, and I found I was often stressed out when it would squeal (draw attention). I just didn't want to put the money into the car to fix the things that were wrong, most of them were tolerable.

The fuel efficiency wasn't top notch, I got about 400km/tank, which was about $40 CDN to fill.

It was definitely cheap driving though. I would recommend it as a cheap first car or a beater to get you to and from work. In the 3 years I owned it I was only left stranded once.

The reason I got rid of the car was that the brake fluid ran dry and I blew the lines. It was a repair I didn't want to make, and the car was likely doomed to fail my upcoming emissions test anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2004

1987 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America


Reliable and cheap to own.


Serpentine belt broke: Replaced for $37.50 by mechanic.

Fuel line broke: cost $80.00 to have replaced had to cut and replace three other hoses to get to this one.

Transmission leaks.

Radiator leaks.

Exhaust fell off just past catalytic converter.

General Comments:

I have tried to kill this car, but it just keeps on going.

It gets good mileage and is pretty reliable.

The car is a nightmare to work on and most of the work must be done by a mechanic.

The car is very slow.

The car has it's problems, but I love it. It just keeps on going and takes all of the beatings I have given it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

13th Jan 2004, 21:27

The 3 spd slushbox in the Tempo's weren't much for performance, get one with a 5 spd instead. I had an 88 with a 5 spd, it moved quite well for it's age.

26th Feb 2004, 20:22

I own an ’87 and disagree with the assertion that the car is difficult to work on. Compared to an ’88 Escort, some things are easier, some harder. There is minimal electronics, so most of it is just basic nuts and bolts.

The most important factor is having a comprehensive set of tools. I recommend socket sets for all permutations of six and twelve point, ½, 3/8, and ¼ drive, standard and deep well, in both English and metric. I suggest one of the Craftsman sets. It’s a large up front cost, but you will have them for life. And they are guaranteed for life. This vehicle is fond of 18MM nuts and bolts, which is not a size included in most sets, so you will have to buy them separate. Also, this is the first vehicle that makes me wish I had a set of crow’s feet. It’s on my list.

The second most important factor is a good manual. I recommend Hayes, available at most parts stores. Hayes manuals are full of truly helpful illustrations and suggestions that highlight the finer points that make the job easier. Points that might not be obvious to those who don't fix cars for a living. (Myself included). These reviews don’t allow negative comments, so all I can say about Chilton’s is that they burn real well. Walk into any Dealer and ask a mechanic for a recommendation.

The third most important factor is *patience*.

5th Sep 2005, 20:44

I have a 1993 Tempo GL with 275k miles. It has required $400 in work to it and is just now starting to rust. I live in New Hampshire and it's a commuter, I beat on this car a lot. It can take all I dish to it and keeps on going. This engine is still running strong.

1st May 2007, 15:48

I had an 87 Ford Tempo GL with the AT. It was an OK car. The driver's area was definitely on the small side. But I bought it because it was all I could afford at the time. It drove OK, but the 3 speed automatic was just awful at anything over 60 mph. You had to rev the engine big time to get speeds of 70+.

My transmission needed complete replacement at about 60k miles. That was one expensive repair! It totally ruined a great day, the day after the GOP swept Congress in 94. Here I was lapping up the good news on the radio while driving to work, and clunk, the car wouldn't move any more. Furthermore I threw my knew out pushing the car to the side of the road. Also had to replace the electric radiator fan motor. That was an easy one.

What can I say, other than the transmission, it go me where I needed to go with a minimum of fuss. I gave it to my girlfriend to drive, and I don't know what the heck she did, but the interior was thrashed 2 years later. Sold it to the junkyard after that.

5th May 2007, 06:16

Tempo's are Democrats. It was not pleased with your joy over the GOP's win... bet you aren't smiling now.