1987 Ford Tempo GL 2.3 from North America


Best car ever!


I had to get new mud tires, change the oil, and get a belt.

And I will have to get it done again soon.

I also got a new paint job.

General Comments:

This car is fast and agile.

It has a lot of power.

And will go 125 mph and still handle good.

With 4WD I can really lose the cops in the swamp behind my house.

Does great donuts.

This is the best car I have ever owned and I recommend this car for anybody who wants to have fun.

Chevys suck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2002

28th Jan 2002, 11:19

500,000 miles on a TEMPO with a 2.3? Where's the forgotten decimal point? How many engines/transmissions has it been through?

4th Nov 2002, 22:34

These cars have a 6-digit odometer, and you're not supposed to read the last digit. Mine says 605321, which means 160,532.1.

9th Oct 2003, 20:56

Well, now I know how the 125mph top speed was calculated.

The car does have four wheels, but I doubt 4WD.

9th Oct 2003, 21:37

I agree, 125 mph=HAHAHAHAHA!!!

However, Ford DID make an AWD version for a couple of years, So THAT part is true.


25th Mar 2008, 13:04

My Tempo Does Go 125+

Also the 4WD is amazing.

1987 Ford Tempo 2.3L I-4 from North America


An excellent vehicle


The brakes warped, so whenever I slowed down or stopped the car shook badly.

Screws/bolts on transmission pan became loose and leaked transmission fluid.

Car sometimes idles badly when first being started after sitting for several hours.

Steering wheel is slightly loose.

General Comments:


Good gas milage.

Been through 2 wrecks and driving with low transmission fluid for several days and is still doing fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2001

1987 Ford Tempo GLX 2.3liter I4 from North America


An affordable car


The oxygen sensor, Radiator, and various electrical components have failed on my car within the 10,000 k's that I have owned the car.

General Comments:

After I bought this car, I lost all faith in it. Everything I listed above failed all at once and nearly caused an accident. However, after I repaired the car everything seems to be running fine, but I still lost trust in the car. I find myself second guessing the car on every turn and stop.

I won't buy another car from Ford because I've had nothing but terrible service. After a while of frustration with the dealership I decided to find another shop that would help with my problems. Saturn was by far the best dealership; they gave outstanding service to my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2001

7th Feb 2005, 14:00

I have an 87 Ford Tempo as well. I hate the car more than I've ever hated any other vehicle. I went through half a dozen alternator belts within a month or two of owning it, then replaced the whole alternator. It ran well for about a week. Then, it wouldn't start in cold weather. Just this past week it was actually functioning for once, until it went crazy. The RPM gauge read 4500 in PARK, the brakes wouldn't work, and I found myself going 35 mph on flat roads without touching the gas. Today, it seems that it won't start AGAIN and I'm running out of things to fix. I'd advise anyone who reads a review stating that this car is great for a new driver to disregard and keep looking! It's unreliable, unsafe, and a general pain to keep around.

1987 Ford Tempo from North America


A mechanic's friend (they have made a lot of money on this bomb)





Sending unit.

Electronic control unit (three times).

Holes in the floor-boards.


Exhaust manifold.

Intake manifold.

Fuel pump.

Emergency brake.

Air conditioner.

Radiator fan.

Probably more that I don't remember.

General Comments:

When I bought this car I knew it would not be the greatest car I ever had owned, but I am very disappointed with the constant maintenance needs of this car. The gas mileage has not been good and the general performance has been somewhat good with periods of very, very bad.

In total I would buy another Ford, but I doubt that I would ever buy another Tempo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

25th Jul 2001, 20:28

I don't know if you do your own mechanic work or not, but if you don't, I think you were ripped off by your mechanic. Unless the intake got warped somehow there isn't anything that can go wrong with it. And holes in the floor board means only one thing, poor care.

1st Jan 2004, 22:25

Wow... your 87 was a rarity. I had the same car as my first car, and it was beat pretty bad when I got it (apparent flood damage, oil which probably hadn't been changed in a few years...). Even so, I only had one problem with the car in the two years I had it - the gas tank needed to be replaced. And being an 87 in the late 90s, I think that can be forgiven.

In other words, it was one great economy car!