1977 Ford Thunderbird Reviews

1977 Ford Thunderbird SE 302 from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 302 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance40500 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Serious pimp mobile

Faults:

My car is all original. So naturally the rear main seal was leaking.

Rebuilt the power steering gear box.

New exhaust.

Replaced all suspension.

Replaced all gaskets.

General Comments:

The most comfortable car I own.

I only drive an average of 300 miles a year on it. Not fast at all.

A Sunday cruiser. More comfortable than my 08 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara, and smoother than my husbands 07 explorer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2008

1977 Ford Thunderbird 351 Windsor from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 351 Windsor Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired49770 miles
Most recent distance49796 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

This is definitely a good solid fast reliable car

Faults:

When I first purchased the car it had rust all over including underneath the vinyl roof.

I am currently replacing the motor because I am 16 and in the hunt for a faster car.

General Comments:

When I first bought the car I was able to drive it home and being I was only 14 at the time I didn't push my luck, but I hammered on it and this car just flew down the straight stretches and didn't quiver or squeal the tires in the corners.

Interior is a master piece for the year of production it has so many fine touches that its something I could spend hours in at a time with out knowing I'm in a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2004

16th Jun 2004, 14:35

You spend hours in this car without knowing your in a car?

Are you smoking those short cigarettes when this happens?

30th Nov 2006, 19:37

Hello, I'm 20,when I bought my 77 T- Bird I got it for a fix up, and that's whats I been doing for last 6 months now and looking to buy a 460/7.5 crate motor in place of my 351C/5.8. for more hp and speed, and wanting to win that cash pot at the drag strip so if you want to go fast do it on a controlled environment.

1977 Ford Thunderbird 6.6 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6.6 liter V8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Comfortable AND fast!

Faults:

Not much, except one headlight stays open because of a vacuum leak.

The red leather seats are tearing.

Gas tank is starting to rust.

Some minor problems with the starter.

General Comments:

Excellent car. It has got to be the most comfortable car I have ever been in.

It has tons of power, but slow acceleration because of it's weight (4500 lbs).

It handles amazingly good for a high powered rear-wheel drive car.

For such an old car, it has held up unbelievably well and I have had to replace almost nothing.

The car is so huge it could have been used as a tank. The person I bought it from hit a deer going thirty and I literally cannot see anything wrong with the front of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

1977 Ford Thunderbird 5.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.8 liter Automatic
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

This is the most comfortable, powerful, smoothest riding car that Ford has made

Faults:

My timing chain went out at 146,000 miles.

There was rust around the back windows.

There are certain areas that need a little interior touch-up paint.

General Comments:

I have fallen in love with this car. From my college town to my parents house is a 2 and 1/2 hour to 3 hour drive from which it burns a little over a quarter of a tank of gas.

However, gas is not so good in town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2002

1977 Ford Thunderbird V8 400 ci from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 400 ci Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Summary:

The most comfortable car I ever had

Faults:

Not much, but there is some rust gathering and a vacuum leak in the headlights which does nothing except one headlight won't close and an annoying hissing sound. The leather seats have started to tear, but hey, what do you expect for a twenty five year old car?

General Comments:

I LOVE this car! The huge engine puts out an amazing amount of power. Although the speedometer only reads 80, I've practically broke the needle on the tracks. It only gets about ten miles per gallon, but it's worth it. If you really want this car to haul, and you've got the money, replace the frame with plastic composite or fiberglass. This car is HEAVY!! if only I had the time to convert it to manual. This car is, in my opinion, the ultimate luxury car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th May, 2002

6th May 2002, 23:39

I too, own a '77 t-bird and its the greatest. You are obviously a man with great taste in luxury-sport vehicles. Rock on man!!

27th Jul 2002, 23:41

I bought my '77 T-Bird in 1988 for $1300.00. I've rebuilt the 351W, FMX transmission, repainted (polar white), new vinyl top, (chocolate). This car looks showroom new now and I've had offers in the $5k range. The car never sees sunlight or rain and is only driven about 1k miles a year. I love my Bird!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews