1978 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1978 Ford Thunderbird 351 Cleveland from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 351 Cleveland Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

The car is a comfortable ride and big

Faults:

Since I purchased the car, not much has gone wrong with it. The vehicle has very low mileage. The exhaust might need some repair. I haven't done much to it as of yet. The body has no rust and the engine runs rough because of the lack of use.

General Comments:

The vehicle uses a lot of gas. The car has a sloppy steering The engine is quiet and runs a rough. The interior is in good condition with no bad wear and tear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2007

1978 Ford Thunderbird 2 door V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Fun to drive, but not economical

Faults:

The parking break sticks, and also randomly engages, usually when the normal brake is fully depressed.

Rear axle went out of alignment.

Rear seat has worn badly. Landau roof is cracked and peeling. Lots of rust.

General Comments:

This car is the generic batmobile! (its black) It is awesome to drive, the extended hood adds to the sensation that the car will take off any second. The car is wide, so often I feel like I'm going to take out mailboxes along the road, but that adds to the enjoyment.

Overall, It's a cool car to drive, but not very economical. Gas mileage is bad and the engine has problems getting up and going in the cold weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

1978 Ford Thunderbird 351W from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 351W Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance100500 miles
Previous carPontiac Aztek

Summary:

Fantastic Classic Car!

Faults:

Replaced brake system from master cylinder back.

Replaced springs/shocks. Shocks now air adjust.

Replaced voltage Coil/Plugs/Wires.

General Comments:

This fine auto sat for a long time in a garage before I took custody for $1,000. There is no rust. For that reason, moving parts required replacing...wheels/tires/brakes/bearings.

The motor has now been completely cleaned up and beautiful, the interior is perfect without work required, and am just finishing up on the cosmetics before a respray.

My only problem is that she stumbles on acceleration and I just can't figure it out. I'm told it's an easy fix, but no one will tell me what that is! hoonrj@csg10.navy.mil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

29th Oct 2003, 20:52

My 1978 Diamond Jubilee stumbled from the start. It was extremely rough around 55 to 60 mph. I got great gas mileage, with the 2 barrel carb on the 400 CID engine. I played with it for at least 15 years off and on. The cure came in about 10 years ago when the complete carb was replaced. This was a new carb, not a rebuilt. It rubs great now. Nothing else was changed at that time, so I believe that to be have been the cure.

CpAllinger@Fuse.Net.

1978 Ford Thunderbird Town Landau 400 CID from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 400 CID Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired77400 miles
Most recent distance77600 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Thunderbird collector's dream

Faults:

After having all of the belt's and hoses replaced, the car left me stranded. AAA towed it to a repair facility which ran a diagnostic test that detected nothing but a sticking choke.

When trying to to recharge the A/C, I was told the hoses are leaking and in order to replace them along with the drier it would cost $490.00. If I wanted freon added it would be 48oz at almost $5.00 per ounce.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and the interior is spacious. I love roof-line and exterior styling.

The doors are heavy and must be slammed hard to get the "door ajar" light to go out. The trunk lid, also has to be slammed shut.

Everything is original on this car and the only thing not working is the power door locks. The quartz clock with day and date is still keeping perfect time after 25 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2003

11th May 2003, 13:37

I also have a 1978 thunderbird and the clock is still going strong also.

6th Nov 2005, 11:39

So is mine, a 79 classic silver T-bird, it keeps perfect time!

1978 Ford Thunderbird Diamond Jubilee 351 Modified from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 351 Modified Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord LTD Country Squire

Summary:

An affordable classic

Faults:

The front brakes needed replaced.

It needed a power steering hose.

It badly needed a comprehensive tune-up.

It needed a carburetor rebuild.

It needed a vacuum advance on the distributor.

It needs a paint job.

General Comments:

This car was bought from the original owners in Nevada after being stored for 10 years.

All it needed before I drove it the 1200 miles home was a power steering hose, front brakes, and a serious tune up. The paint is very oxidized from years in the Nevada desert, but the interior is perfect. Still has the original center caps on the wheels and the blue-jeweled hood ornament.

The trip home was uneventful. The car cruised at 75 nearly the whole way and delivered me 15.6 miles per gallon.

Not many of these still around. It gets many looks and comments and I doubt that I will ever have another car. Even if the gas mileage is somewhat poor, it beats a car payment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2002

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews