1987 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 10 of 13

1987 Ford Thunderbird Turbo Coupe 2.3 turbo from Germany

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carAudi 100

Summary:

With an airbag this would be the ultimate Autobahn car

Faults:

Four alternators, one even caught fire, until I got a Bosch that has lasted 5 years.

Six power-steering pumps, all under warranty because the dealer did not use ATF in them.

Burnt valve at 160K.

Three fuel pumps.

General Comments:

Great on the German Autobahn. The cruise control stops at 115 MPH. I have run the car at 130-150 MPH for over an hour at a time.

Very, very comfortable. Between adjusting the seat, 8 way power, and the steering column anyone can find the right driving position.

The steering is quick and you have to get used to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

24th Feb 2004, 14:45

Gee I must have a lot of happy miles to go as I only have 33000 miles on my bird.

29th Mar 2005, 16:13

Sold this car with 325,000 miles, still going strong. Some rust was developing in the left fender.

Sure would have liked to bring it back to the US with me from Germany, but that was just too expensive.

1987 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 V6 from Germany

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

An affordable luxury car

Faults:

Air pump makes a rattling noise, but works.

Rear window defroster works only temporarily.

Transmission oil pan gasket leaked at 145,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

The car is the most reliable American vehicle I've ever owned.

It's comparatively cheap to operate, gets great gas mileage (25 mpg).

The engine is not very responsive to gas pedal input, 120 horsepower is adequate, but no more.

Handling is typically American with low cornering power due to marked understeer.

Steering is quick for an American car and the brakes work quite well.

It's not a sporty car by any stretch of the imagination, but a very nice, comfortable cruiser and a very attractive car to boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2001

1987 Ford Thunderbird Turbo Coupe 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1987
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord 1989 Mustang LX 2.3L

Summary:

A great car

Faults:

Nothing really worth talking about. Just changed the oil regularly, tune-ups regularly and ran strong.

General Comments:

It's a great car and I enjoy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

1987 Ford Thunderbird Coupe 3.8L v6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L v6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Overall the car is nice, but has its problems

Faults:

The oil sending unit leaked.

The fuel pump went out.

The heater core busted.

The gasket between the water pump and the timing chain cover popped out.

Either the torque converter or the valve body in the aod transmission is messing up.

General Comments:

The car is pretty comfortable for a car made in 1987.

I have gotten my money back out of it, I paid $1100 for it and have put tags on it 3 times.

The down side is the car lacks power, and the paint is faded and is getting worse by the month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2001

24th Feb 2004, 14:42

I cannot believe the previous comment on the turbo coupe. My turbo is very fast. I would put it up against any car its age.

I have had mine since new and still have the original paint though a little faded the car is still handsome.

1987 Ford Thunderbird LX 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carmercury couger

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

The car had bad transmission when I purchased, but I knew that.

Motor is 100% original, at 210K I put in new timing chain and gear because a leaky water pump gasket forced me to tear open the front of the engine.

Uses no oil even with this many miles. Because I've owned other Fords I'm aware of the valve cover gasket problems, just go in every few months and snug down bolts.

Excellent car, but the miles would have scared me away except I knew the previous owner.

General Comments:

I've owned 2 Thunderbirds and 2 Mercury Cougars, have had good luck with all, but the V6 required more attention, but still ran one up to 198k with no major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2001

1987 Ford Thunderbird Turbo 2.3L cylinder turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3L cylinder turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

One of Ford's best and a future classic

Faults:

Dash cracking now.

Installed three rebuilt alternators in the last four years. But I blame the rebuilders, not Ford.

General Comments:

My turbo still works.

My original clutch, ABS brakes and air conditioning lasted into the 90,000 mile range. I think that speaks volumes about the quality of this car.

For years all I did was change the oil at 2,500 mile intervals.

This is one great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 48 reviews